We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Thon Hotel Harstad(Harstad)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strand Hotel(Sortland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
40
85
79
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
85
79
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewnice roombuffet breakfastwalking distancenice hotelfloorminibaroslo
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel is mid range, clean and nice rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast has not the biggest selection and could definitely have been presented better.
Personnel in the reception is very polite, when I checked I met the nicest and most smiling receptionists I have ever seen.
She brighten my stay.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Steriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Manager at Scandic Harstad, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind feedback! It makes us feel really good that our receptionist brightened your stay. Than we have done our job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

Wouldn't let us eat "fast food" in the reception. Judgmental about our choice of food (like we had any choice in this city). Absurd to force us to eat in our rooms when they don't serve food themselves.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bipolarbearz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Manager at Scandic Harstad, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you for you feedback. We are currently working on getting a shop where our guests can buy food 24/7 in the reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Large room, clean and decent breakfast. It´s a good hotel, but there are betters in that town.
A bit 90´s feel and it shows that it´s not new, but well-kept so if the price is right you should go for it. Parking was no issue what so ever right outside on the street.
So why am I not impressed? Because it´s like any other hotel in Scandinavia that has not found its own specialty yet.
But the staff was great. There were some issues with our bookings but the girl in the reception would not take defeat and sorted it in the best service minded manner possible.

Would I recommend it? I would not advice against it.
Will I go back? Sure, why not. The staff´s worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bjorn_J73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stayed here one night in July. Probably because we had a dog, we stayed in a basic standard room, which was a little bit old fashioned and shabby but good enough for one night. And a very good rate for night in the middle of summer. Room had a bad view into the back of hotel but so it was quiet. There are also better superior rooms which have been reclaimed.

The hotel is located in the middle of town. The breakfast was good as always in Scandic hotels. I did´t see if they had a parking place but there are many parking spots on the streets nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mika7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

At Scandic you know what to expect: Clean efficient rooms. Efficient staff, nice people. Sleeping comfort. The breakfast is perfect and opened at 06.00 so we could a bite before taking the boat to Finnsnes (departing at 07.00). Maybe I could do without the "IKEA feeling": No atmosphere, really, but more than good enough for one night. And a very good rate this night in August.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Limpydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews