We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located close to the centre”
Review of Scandic Harstad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Harstad
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Harstad
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed one nights as a part of a big Danish group traveling from Oslo to North Cape. Conveniently located close to the centre and everything in walking distance. The breakfast buffet offered a broad selection of foods and was very good! An excellent and very friendly staff. Before arrival we had e-mail with the hotel asking for a room with two single beds, sea view and on a higher level - AND we did get it. Stayed in room 635 and had a balcony too. The view from our room were very nice, mountain, harbor as well as the fjord. A spacious room, clean, beds super comfortable, a nice spacious bathroom with an effective shower and a heated floor.
No coffee or tee facility in the room. Comfortable and nice spacious lounge. Free reliable WiFi and fast and with a good bandwidth too. The food, dinner, was alright but the buffee could have a wider selection (only pork and fish). The salad consist of only "green salad".

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank springbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Manager at Scandic Harstad, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel is mid range, clean and nice rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast has not the biggest selection and could definitely have been presented better.
Personnel in the reception is very polite, when I checked I met the nicest and most smiling receptionists I have ever seen.
She brighten my stay.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Steriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Manager at Scandic Harstad, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind feedback! It makes us feel really good that our receptionist brightened your stay. Than we have done our job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

Wouldn't let us eat "fast food" in the reception. Judgmental about our choice of food (like we had any choice in this city). Absurd to force us to eat in our rooms when they don't serve food themselves.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bipolarbearz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Manager at Scandic Harstad, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you for you feedback. We are currently working on getting a shop where our guests can buy food 24/7 in the reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Large room, clean and decent breakfast. It´s a good hotel, but there are betters in that town.
A bit 90´s feel and it shows that it´s not new, but well-kept so if the price is right you should go for it. Parking was no issue what so ever right outside on the street.
So why am I not impressed? Because it´s like any other hotel in Scandinavia that has not found its own specialty yet.
But the staff was great. There were some issues with our bookings but the girl in the reception would not take defeat and sorted it in the best service minded manner possible.

Would I recommend it? I would not advice against it.
Will I go back? Sure, why not. The staff´s worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bjorn_J73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stayed here one night in July. Probably because we had a dog, we stayed in a basic standard room, which was a little bit old fashioned and shabby but good enough for one night. And a very good rate for night in the middle of summer. Room had a bad view into the back of hotel but so it was quiet. There are also better superior rooms which have been reclaimed.

The hotel is located in the middle of town. The breakfast was good as always in Scandic hotels. I did´t see if they had a parking place but there are many parking spots on the streets nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mika7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harstad hotels
0.5 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
0.1 km away
Thon Hotel Harstad
Thon Hotel Harstad
#2 of 4 in Harstad
323 reviews
25.9 km away
Sandtorgholmen Hotel
Sandtorgholmen Hotel
#1 of 2 in Harstad
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Harstad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Harstad

Address: Strandgata 9, Harstad 9405, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Harstad)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Harstad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Harstad
Price Range: €97 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Harstad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Harstad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing