We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
324
320
99
43
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
320
99
43
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern hotel sky bar top floor great view tour group war museum open the window public parking the air conditioning impressive building floor room breakfast was excellent midnight sun comfortable bed train tracks food for breakfast best hotel in town
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

This hotel is the newest and largest in the city, so our expectations were high. Perhaps too high. We were on a single night stay, travelling as part of a small group. We’d been told that we had a group buffet dinner booked for the night we checked in, so felt pretty comfortable that all would be well.

Check in was very smooth, the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and we all found our rooms easily. The Swedish heatwave that we had arrived into a week earlier meant the ability to open a window in our room was most welcome. The rooms themselves were good. So, all was well and our expectations looked like being met.

After an afternoon of sightseeing, including the fabulous War Museum, we returned to the hotel for a pre-dinner drink in the Sky Lounge followed by our pre-booked dinner, scheduled for 6.30pm. And that’s where this stay went downhill. First of all, there was absolutely no activity at all in the restaurant at 6.00pm, which made us slightly nervous, given we had a booking there.

The Sky Lounge is a great spot but being floor to ceiling glass with no air conditioning in the heatwave meant the double doors to the smoking balcony were locked open, making it very uncomfortable for those inside. The bar staff were grumpy (most unusual in Norway but could have been due to the excessive heat) and the drink prices even more exorbitant than usual – about 25% more expensive than we experienced in other Norwegian hotels.

We then went down to the restaurant for our dinner. It was empty and no buffet was set. It was obviously closed. Our enquiry at reception confirmed the restaurant is closed Sunday nights but that a meal had been prepared for us. So, there we were, 11 people in the middle of a dead restaurant, being served what was clearly defrosted salted cod, with our fish allergy passenger being given some slices of odd-coloured chicken loaf. No bar service so people had to ascend back up to the Sky Lounge to get a glass of wine. Not an enjoyable evening at all.

The breakfast next morning was good, albeit a bit of a bun fight because of a couple of large tour groups that had arrived the night before.

Note to Scandic - if your restaurant is closed, please let people know that at the time of booking and do not allow them to think there is a full buffet thing going on. We would have been happy to have had something casual up in the Sky Bar as a group or had the choice to go out somewhere else. As it is, our memory of Narvik is the awful meal we had at the Scandic Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terje T, General Manager at Scandic Narvik, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your nice review, we appreciate it a lot.
We take it with us in our work to become better every day!
We who live here up north, appreciate these warm days a lot. We are sorry that the hotel rooms getting to hot in so warm and nice weather.
Hope to see you here again soon.

Best Regards,

Terje Theodorsen.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terje T, General Manager at Scandic Narvik, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed here for 1 night as a group of 24 adults. Good hotel, decent sized room with opening windows. Buffet dinner excellent and we all had a very early buffet breakfast which was very good for 0615! The drinks in the bar on floor 16 are extremely expensive, which is consistent for Norway but a shock for those of us not used to their prices.

Room Tip: Room 409 was good with fridge and coffee-making facilities
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terje T, General Manager at Scandic Narvik, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Linda,

Thank you for your very nice review, we appreciate it a lot.
Thank you for mentioned our breakfast buffet!
Hope to see you here again soon.

Best Regards,

Terje Theodorsen.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Pretty nice and enjoying visit in top floors. Clean and good quality hotel. Very good beds and quiet room. Great view to the harbour and fjord. Parking a bit expensive, but just below the hotel and easy to find.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank fisupeksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terje T, General Manager at Scandic Narvik, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your very nice review, we appreciate it a lot.
It was very nice that like our hotel that much!
We agree with you that the view from our hotel is marvelous.
Hope to see you here again soon.

Best Regards,

Terje Theodorsen.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We stayed at the Scandic in Narvik on the way from the Lofoten to Kiruna. Situated at Narviks main street and next to the War Museum its easy to find. If you don't want to eat at the hotel, all of Narvik's restaurants are just next door. The hotel has clean and roomy rooms with great view. We had a room facing the harbour. The breakfast is as good. In a hot summer like this year, an air conditioner would be welcome, as the windows cannot be opened that much and with the activities in the harbour going on all night, it can be rather noisy at times. I wourld however come back.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank geoseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terje T, General Manager at Scandic Narvik, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your very nice review, we appreciate it a lot..
Thank you for mentioned our breakfast buffet!
We who live here up north, appreciate these warm days a lot. We are sorry that the hotel rooms getting to hot in so warm and nice weather.
We agree with you that the view from our hotel is marvelous.
Hope to see you here again soon.

Best Regards,

Terje Theodorsen.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews