We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
28
28
15
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
28
15
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel du verden small room the ground floor one night great view stuff selection harbour breakfast receptionist
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Good value for money for a single occupant, maybe small for a couple. This is a fairly new and modern hotel, cheap rates, located along the quay side of Hammerfest.
The breakfast had good and fairly wide selections of fruit, bread cold cut and spreads. The restaurant had good food to reasonable prices.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Odd_Bergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Smart is only how you feel once you book this hotel because you think you made a great deal... instead you just made a mistake! Rooms are so small that a twin bed fits without any extra space. This is so true that you cannot even open you luggage when alone, immagine in two! The bathroom is so compressed that the sink is 20 cm long making it difficult to even wash you face.
Apart from the room, we could not have coffe because the coffe macchine was out of order.
Most important, this hotel does not come for free but for €101/night not including breakfast and parking....

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fsax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smartvert S, General Manager at Smarthotel Hammerfest, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Hi,

I'm sorry that you feel that you mad a mistake booking a room with us.
I can see that we didn't meet your expectations, from what i can understod you booket online? We have clear information about our rooms with photos, breakfast and parking situation on all the booking sites online.

We have 3 different type rooms.
Single/doublerooms 10,5 m2 (you booked this)
Superior rooms 19,0 m2
Studio Apartments 25-30 m2

Norway in general is a high cost country so 101€ is not a high rate, most city hotels in norway don't have there own parking due to city regulations (in Hammerfest the county is in charge of all public parking).

I apologize for the coffee machine that was out of order, unfortunately up here above the polar circle issues like this is not fixed in a few hours like in major cities. Due to parts take 3-7 working days to arrive.

What could we have done differently?

I'm all for fair and justified feedback, but you feedback isn't fair and justified.
I hope that you in the future use just 1 minute to read what you book, this could clear up all of the above confusion.

Regards
Lars Erik Engstrøm
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Very positive feedback on our stay. Small but nice room, scandinavian design forniture, very clean and functional bathroom. Good position a nice walk on the seaside.
We parked our car in front of the hotel in the public parking along the street

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RossellaC754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

The Hotel is in the center, the staff is kind and professional, the rooms are quite clean and tidy, even if they are quite small. The Du Verdan Restaurant offers a good quality service and the breakfast is really good

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fabiomatricardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

We had the top room at the ninth floor with best view to the Harbor, very comfortable bed, small kitchen, very friendly stuff, breakfast with good selection, kids friendly - for the baby bed we would wish a real mattress instead the thin standard inlay

as usual the price at the restaurant quite expensive but OK, Reindeer Filet was great also the menu with shellfish, The restaurant have kids seats

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SabLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews