We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, tiny bathroom”
Review of Scandic Hammerfest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Hammerfest
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hammerfest
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Never ever seen toalet done so that then you sit on toalet seat, you have the sink just under you chin. Can't recommend for big persons. Very tiny. View was nice, beds average, could be wider. Cleaning was not proper, found whole glittering fake nail under bed.. Breakfast was very good

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Päivi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjetil F, Daglig leder at Scandic Hammerfest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We appreate that you enjoyed our breakfast :-)
It seems that you were accommodated in our smallest rooms. We have only a few of them, but I agree that they are small. Regarding the cleaning we will follow this up, it's not according to the standards we are aiming at.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017

- clean big room (we had a room for three people)
- lovely view to the see (3th floor)
- good but basic hotel breakfast, guite crowded
- good location in town center
- common parking place close to the see

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tiina12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjetil F, Manager at Scandic Hammerfest, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Tina. Thank you for your good review and stay with us. We do our best to give all our guest a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again. Best regards Scandic Hammerfest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend in july. A below-average hotel experience. Reception staff seemed unexperienced. No parking. Booked my room through the Scandic website several months in advance but got a room at the ground floor by the entrance. Very noisy.

The next time i visit Hammerfest i will stay somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Håkon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjetil F, General Manager at Scandic Hammerfest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your comments on your stay! We focuse on quality and service every day. I would like to apologise that we did not manage to deliver the expected quality and service level on this weekend. There are a lot of parking places around the hotel, both inside and outside, but since we are situated in the middle of the town all parking places are public. All our rooms are also renovated, except ten rooms on fourth floor. If you are planning to visit Hammerfest again, I hope you will let me know so that we get the chance to show you what a stay with us should be like. If we have available superior extra rooms, we will offer you a free upgrade away from the entrance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night, rooms were small but was ideal for me , good wifi which is always important, food was nice and the service was quick, breakfast was nice.. I would definitely stay again. Also lovely views..

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjetil F, General Manager at Scandic Hammerfest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for your comments on your stay at Scandic Hammerfest. We appreciate the positive feedback on the food, service and views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We came up from Kiruna, via Abisko National Park, Narvik and the Norwegian Coast Line to Hammerfest. A very nice dirve, indeed. Found the hotel without problems.
Nice and efficient check-in procedure. Good food in the restaurant.
The rooms a bit tiny, and very Scandic-like. The hotel i expensive and the parking nearby is not good. But the location and the food/breakfast was worldclass.

Room Tip: Get a room with view over the harbor. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjetil F, Daglig leder at Scandic Hammerfest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thank you for the comments on your stay at Scandic Hammerfest! We really appreciate that you like our breakfast and restaurant. We focus a lot on delivering good service and quality. We have many different parking options next to the hotel. All are public parking, but you can park on the street next to the hotel or in the parking house also next to the hotel. There is also a public parking area just 50 meters on the seaside of the hotel. Hope seeing you back again at Scandic Hammerfest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammerfest
0.5 km away
Smarthotel Hammerfest
Smarthotel Hammerfest
#2 of 5 in Hammerfest
64 reviews
0.3 km away
Thon Hotel Hammerfest
Thon Hotel Hammerfest
#1 of 5 in Hammerfest
146 reviews
1 km away
Hotell Skytterhuset
Hotell Skytterhuset
#5 of 5 in Hammerfest
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 km away
Skaidi Hotel
Skaidi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kvalsund
88 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hammerfest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hammerfest

Address: Soeroeygata 15, Hammerfest 9600, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Hammerfest)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Hammerfest Municipality > Hammerfest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hammerfest
Price Range: €101 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hammerfest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Hammerfest is located in the center of the northernmost town in the world and offers a beautiful view of the harbour and the Soroy strait. Our hotel offers 85 rooms all with a view of either the city or the sea. If you are planning a meeting, conference or event we can provide venues for up to 250 participants. We also have a modern hotel gym where you can keep in shape during your stay. As a hotel guest you always have free WiFi in your room and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hammerfest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing