We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Northern Lights and fantastic scenery!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Lights

Northern Lights
Book In Advance
US$171.33*
and up
Small-Group Aurora Hunt Northern Lights Tour from Tromso
Ranked #186 of 3,168 things to do in Norway
Attraction details
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Northern Lights and fantastic scenery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have just returned from a Northern Lights cruise with Hurtigruten and it was anazing. We were on the oldest ship in the fleet, built in 1956 and refitted twice but it was like going on the Orient Express - all polished wood and brass fittings. Shame this ship is being retired this year but the trip was superb. We boarded the ship at Tromso and sailed round the North Cape to Kirkenes and back to Tromso. We were very lucky and saw the Aurora every night although only one night in its full majesty. Make sure you tell reception to wake you if the lights are visible as loudspeaker anouncements cease at 10:00pm. Recommend buying the drinks mug at 250 NOK which entitles you to free tea/coffee for the trip and once you have drunk 8 cups, you are in profit. Also recommend visiting to North Cape itself and the dog sledding.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
24 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    53
    18
    20
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“fantastic and a journey of a life time Chasing the Northern Lights with Ivar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

most people will have seen Joanna Lumley with the northern lights films. The guide for this is fully booked and some people may be disappointed to be offered Ivar.
Let me just stop you there. We went with Natur I Nord for a bus ride chasing the northern lights and this experience will stay with us forever. Ivar is determined that if the lights are appearing, you will see them. He is a fantastic guide. We really did race to a couple of locations and this wonderful man quickly got us all off the bus to witness the greatest show on earth. He stayed for as long as we all wanted and I do mean hours. We were given a piece of chocolate cake and a cup of hot chocolate and this was wonderful.I believe Ivar has been doing this job for many years and is the most experienced. He is a softly spoken guy who loves his work. We cannot wait to go back and we will only go with Ivar now. The lights were good that night. We all got back on the bus after quite a long while and he asked us to get off again to witness a butterfly in the sky.magnificent.. He did not return with us to our hotel and we were sorry about this because we wanted his address and to give him a tip for giving us one of the best nights of our lives.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
19 Thank Mandy Donald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“save your money, take the bus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We recently visited Tromso in search of the northern lights, before going we looked at the various tours aimed at giving you the best chance of seeing the lights and as seeing the lights was our main reason for travelling to Norway we signed up for a tour which involved a 75 minute journey inland to a forest location, it was expensive but we went for it anyway. We did enjoy the experience of it, we could have gone dog sledging or Skidoo riding at the same location but we settled for a walk in the forest with a very knowledgable guide, however, there was no sign of the lights except for on the way back to Tromso through the minibus's steamed up windows. The next night we got on a no.34 bus and took a 7 minute ride out of town to Telegraph park, away fron the lights of the town, walked 50 yards to the sea and waited, and were treated to a wonderful show, later we went back to Tromso and you could see them from the town. The point of this is that you do not need to waste your money on trips, you can see the lights very well from just outside town, just wrap up warm and be patient. Some of the locals were very unhappy that tourists are ripped off in this way, however the trips are an experience, you pays your money and takes your choice, or not. You can do a round trip by public bus and boat which is much better value and you have an excellent chance of seeing the lights, we really enjoyed this one.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
38 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
160 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Out of this world!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We had our week holiday organized by Fjord Travel Norway. This is a letter I wrote to them a few days after our return home.
Dear Randi,



Many many thanks for organizing such a wonderful trip for us!



The Northern Lights trip was really out of this world, we managed to see

the Northern Lights on three separate occasions and all the activities

were really great!



Before we went there we considered this holiday to be a once-in-a-lifetime

experience, as it far away and quite expensive. But it cannot be so!!!

We have to come back!!! On our way back to Oslo from Tromso we went in

and out of the revolving airport doors at least four times, each time

going out again in the arctic wind to say a last farewell to the beautiful

scene out there. It was truly wonderful and thank you for organizing it

so perfectly. It was the best holiday of our lives, and we travel 2 - 4

times a year, so that's saying something!



Well, thanks once again. Keep up the good work, maybe soon we'll contact

you again and ask you to organize another trip for us, probably

incorporating the fjords as well...but we must go North again!



Thank you.



Best regards,

Godfrey Grima and family

Malta

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank GRIMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Avoid Optimism”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

I had wanted to see the Northern Lights all my life, so I took a trip from Australia to Tromso Norway, where I read they had the best possible viewing including chasing the lights tours. To increase my chances I went for a week, and pre-booked tours for 3 night, with Kjetli (2) and Gunner (1). The literature said 2011-12 had maximum solar activity and late November was a good time. But I did not see any lights. So I then went on a coach from Tromso and another night a boat trip. But no luck at all. I had perfectly clear night and partly cloudy nights, rain & snow showers another night. Also disappointing was that there was no snow so couldn,t go dog sledding. So after 5,500NOK in trip costs, 5,000NOK in accommodation costs etc, I recommend the following
# Curb your enthusiasm
# read the optimism in brochures & travel advice out of Tromso with a grain of salt
# go later in the season when daylight hours are longer & can do other activities
# take the advice of local residents who say the best time to visit is last month, last year when it is better.
# use the tour guides Kjetli & Gunner "Chase the Nth Lights¨ they really did try everything to find the Northern Lights.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
12 Thank Lyn6024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northern Lights also viewed

 

Been to Northern Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing