We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic, elegant, authentic cafe”

Gerstner K.u.K Hofzuckerbacker
Ranked #5 of 134 Dessert in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, Cafe
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We stumbled upon this place at night, while a live performance was being shown on the giant screen outside the famous opera house, just across the street. We sat in the lush second floor lounge of the cafe, had coffee and dessert while we watched the show through the wide open window. Very nice.

This is the only location of this well-known establishment, and the quality of the food, service and atmosphere are well worth exploring.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tabeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Ohrfandl, Guest Relations Manager at Gerstner K.u.K Hofzuckerbacker, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tabeus,

thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you did enjoy your stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards
Your Gerstner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

We were hoping to treat ourselves to a late night drink and cake after the omega and this is just the place! We had a bottle of sparkling rose Schlumberger and 3 cakes between us (My husband was hungry!). All delicious, in a classic pretty opulent setting. Perfect in our glad rags but you don't need to be very dressed up! The service was friendly.

Thank siobhanh753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Ohrfandl, Guest Relations Manager at Gerstner K.u.K Hofzuckerbacker, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Siobhan H,

thank you for your nice Review we are very happy that you did enjoy your stay with us!

Furthermore we would be delighted to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Your Gerstner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

The cafe/bar here is a nice place to come after the opera house. The hot chocolate is very nice, and the other items we ordered were pleasant too.
Note that the restaurant on the top floor closes at 17:30, so if you want to see the self-playing piano you need to get here early!
When you order from the cafe, you get a voucher that gives you a small discount on chocolates in the shop on the ground floor. Those chocolates are delicious!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Flying_and_Eating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Ohrfandl, Guest Relations Manager at Gerstner K.u.K Hofzuckerbacker, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Flying_and_Eating,

thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy that you did enjoy your stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you again during your next stay in Vienna.

With kind regards,
Your Gerstner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Everything about this place is overwhelming from the elegant 19th century rooms, to the kitchen which turned out an excellent buffet and the amazing desert station. Special mention is deserved by the wait staff who were attentive without being intrusive and very professional.

1  Thank wonderlust_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Ohrfandl, Guest Relations Manager at Gerstner K.u.K Hofzuckerbacker, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear wonderlust_dude,

thank you very much for your nice review we are very happy that you did enjoy our brunch.

We would be delighted to welcome you soon again.

Kind regrads,
Your Gerstner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

We had lunch here - an open sandwich each, quite expensive for what you got at €2.50 for a 6inch square piece of bread with some topping. We also had some lovely cake for dessert.

I ordered a black tea and they brought Earl Grey, I asked them to change it for Assam and it was done, a little reluctantly from the look on the waiter’s face!

If you buy food in the restaurant you get a discount in the shop downstairs - bonus!

I preferred Demel’s cake but the setting and decor here is far nicer.

1  Thank AnanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Ohrfandl, Guest Relations Manager at Gerstner K.u.K Hofzuckerbacker, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AnanB,

thank you for your review.

We would be pleased to welcome you again during your next stay in Vienna.

Kind regards,
Your Gerstner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gerstner K.u.K Hofzuckerbacker also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Gerstner K.u.K Hofzuckerbacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing