We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Mixed review” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Kraml

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Kraml
Ranked #5 of 113 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Found Pension Kraml after an extensive search for accommodations in the budget category and it was a mixed experience despite its glowing reviews

It was most unfortunate that the doorbell broke down when we arrived and we were stuck outside with a German/Austrian family. Lucky we had the telephone number and Stephan came down swiftly to let us in. Kudos to him for taking swift action to get the bell fixed by that evening.

There is a small reception room on the 1st floor and after checking in, Stephan will show you to your rooms personally. No lifts though, so make sure you have the strength to lug your luggage up!

The rooms are clean and very spacious, although the decor feels like it was from the 1970s and a little drab, so I personally did not enjoy the room very much. The toilet is also very basic and. Another complaint was that there was wifi available only at the lounge so if you need to go online, you had to exit the building and going to the lounge - a little troublesome.

Location is also a mixed bag. Near Mariahilfer-strasse and mid-point between 2 subway lines so it is convenient in that sense, but not exactly near anything at the same time, especially if you have heavy luggage.

Breakfast is a very nice, cosy affair, also in a room out of the building, with a good continental spread. It's a great feeling when you enter the cheery room first thing in the morning.

In summary, service standards at Pension Kraml are good and the owners try to make your stay comfortable, but the room was less than appealing (for me at least). An option to consider if budget is a major consideration.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drunk-on-gin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    91
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
60
122
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Greenwich, RI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Pension Kraml is a delightful place for a family to stay. My husband and I stayed there with our son and another couple. We shared a family apartment which had two bedrooms and a bath. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms charming. The breakfast room was typically Austrian and the food delicious. It is one subway stop from the main station and then a bit of a walk but well worth it.

Room Tip: Contact the gotel by email for the best room arrangement
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingAmigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago,IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

After reading TA reviews we decided to stay at the Pension Kraml. My husband, daughter & I stayed in a family apartment. The cost of the room was an exceptional value in this expensive city. The rooms were quite large which we all enjoyed, particularly after a long day. My daughter liked the privacy of having her own room. The rooms are very clean, nicely decorated, the breakfast is substantial, and there is a separate room to catch up on email if you bring a laptop. We especially liked the location. Eventhough there isn't airconditioning, we opened the windows and enjoyed the fresh air at night. The room was never unbearably warm. The location is quiet and safe. Unlike US hotels, soaps & washcloths are not to be found in the Austrian hotels we used. So be sure to bring these items.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Timetogo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

We stayed here for two nights and were impressed by the pension in general. The proprieter was quite helpful and exuberant. We liked the room and the facilities were decent sized and clean. The U4 train station is only a few minutes walk away which gives access to schonbrun schlosse. It takes a good 15 minutes to walk right into the middle of town. There is a Spar supermarket close by also.
We were given recommendations for two local restaurants both of which were good value and excellent. There are also some bars in the area which are worth a visit, e.g., Eberts. We had a fabulous time in Vienna and this pension was an integral part of it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helena-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

There's not many words needed to describe the Pension Kraml - familiar, warm, friendly, perfect service and an incredible breakfast buffet. A place to relax after a hard day in town and were you will feel immediately "at home".

I want to personally thank Stephan and his lovely staff for an incredible nice stay at their home. They will help you with anything you need and never lose their smile. I definitely will be back as soon as work allows it!

Furthermore, I want to praise Stephan's recommendation for the Restaurant Salzberg nearby: an exciting experience in an incredible atmoshpere with top range food!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ko_Lanta_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#96 of 366 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#61 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#158 of 366 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 113 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Mariahilf
Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Kraml? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Kraml

Property: Pension Kraml
Address: Brauergasse 5 | Wien, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Kraml 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned Hotel-Pension (our family does also live there) is located in a small and quiet by-road. Close to one of the most important business and shopping streets of Vienna (Mariahilferstrasse). Within short distance (15 minutes walk) from the railway station Vienna-West and the historical centre (Wiener Ringstrasse) with its monumental buildings and historical places.Next subway stops: U3/ZIEGLERGASSE (3 minutes walk) or U4/PILGRAMGASSE (5 minutes walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Kraml reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Kraml Hotel Vienna
Kraml Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing