We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STYLISH QUIRKY HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Das Tyrol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Das Tyrol
Ranked #4 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel, conveniently located close to lots of attractions, 10-15 minute walk from the Old City. Very helpful staff, good, plentiful breakfasts to set you up for the day. We had a small but very well appointed bedroom, spotlessly clean. Interesting art pleases and amuses the eye. Close to high end shops and boutiques and the museum quarter. Ladies, my wife advises you check out the stupendous ladies lavatory on the lower ground floor. Prepare to be amazed and quite possibly laugh.
We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattwright_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,054 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

I can't say enough about this hotel. We noted the ratings on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. It is located a short walk to the old section, only 1-1/2 blocks to the U-Bahn, an excellent close-in location. We were in the city for 3 days and purchased a 3-day pass tram which allowed us on the subway, trams, buses, trolleys. This is a small hotel – I believe there are 30 rooms. Like most of Vienna, it is an old building which feels solid as a tank and timeless, yet it has modern conveniences and luxury. Spotlessly clean. It is a part of the Small Luxury Hotel chain, but when we booked we didn't pay much attention to the “luxury” aspect. It does feel luxurious without being pretentious, from the towels to the beautiful baths and showers, and of course, the amazing breakfasts with cloth tablecloths and napkins. No obsequious doorman here. The staff will gladly help when you need it but they are never fawning. The old elevator, which was out of service for one of our days, is a bit of a shocker, so if you have a fear of heights and/or elevators and don't much enjoy climbing stairs, request a room on the 1st floor. Once inside the rooms the double windows block out nearly all sounds so the room is whisper quiet. Our room (#16) looked onto a side street and was relatively quiet. We note that because it is a smallish hotel, it took us a couple of cab drivers before we found one who knew the hotel and where it was. Suggest you have the full address of the hotel handy and ask the taxi driver if he knows where the hotel is before getting in the cab. We requested a no-smoking room and got it; however the small lobby is open to smokers and as a result if you are not a smoker you will not want to hang out there. There is a free wi-fi in the rooms, a great convenience. There is a good sized safe in the room. The bed is very comfortable. We enjoyed the hotel and would definitely stay there again if we are fortunate enough to return to Vienna.

Room Tip: First floor to avoid stairs or old elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Our stay at Das Tyrol was excellent - the staff was very helfpul, answering all of our questions and making excellent recommendations for dining. The breakfasts were wonderful, too! We were able to enjoy the spa on our first night stay, which was fabulous and quite a treat. Due to some repair work, it was closed during the rest of our stay, but Das Tyrol treated us to chocolates and wine for the inconvenience. Very nice touch. The location was excellent as well, very close to many museums, great shopping and dining. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieBayCityWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Absolutely fabulous hotel. We had a suite with a balcony which was very spacious and the breakfasts are a delight - plenty of delicious choices and even Prosecco by the glass!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Das Tyrol stands true to it's tag line "small luxury hotel". The hotel is very small (in the sense of cute), has about 30 rooms. The hotel prouds itself on it's positioning as a boutique hotel, which is evident from the first step in it's premises. Pieces of art, knick knacks, artefacts arranged beautifully abound in every corner, floor and room of the hotel...defi making the right image of the city that Vienna is...the mecca of contemporary art. Das tyrol has gone the extra length in exhibiting arts from upcoming artists...and that makes it different from the pack !

Talking about the regular concerns of the average traveller, i think das tyrol should make it to the list of top mid range hotels. The hotel is clean, has marvellous service, efficient & courteous staff, very well located within the city (quite a few of the key tourist sites are walking distance - incl hofburg palace, museum quarter, world famous karstner strasse and the opera house). Inspite of the size of the property the rooms are decent - the contemprory decor will sweep average joe before he can think of the size of rooms ! Yes, the hotel lobby is small and has a really tiny elevator (max 4 adults without bags), but thats not where most of us spend our times in a hotel.

In terms of any other concerns, if it may be at all, is that the hotal has limited room service options - which gets taken care of by good number of eatries surrounding the place. There are no entertainment options, no pool/ gym, etc. So it is really only a nice place to stay till you are not looking for these missing options as key criteria for choosing your hotel.

The area is well connected to public transport network, mariahhilfer st being a high street shopping area makes the hotel really easy to find. Not to forget that key bus tour companies have their stops close by, which saves a lot of time and money but makes it enjoyable to roam around in Vienna.

Overall this is a medium priced hotel with a really cool feel to it, for regular and first time travellers who are not keen to splurge and but do want to compromise, this is one of the best options. I wouldn't mind staying again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaljakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,962 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,434 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#6 of 359 in Vienna
2,592 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage Design & Boutique Hotel
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Tyrol

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: €98 - €240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing