We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Age Hotel with Understated Style and Luxury”
Review of Melia Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Vienna
Ranked #59 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We stayed here for our New Year's trip to Vienna.
I loved the understated style and luxury set up of the hotel. You can feel that you have entered a modern new age hotel in the angular layout of everything. Very conveniently located next to the metro station and quite approachable to city centre. The view of sunrise from our room was great.
Though it is slightly costly, the quality of things you get, right from toiletries to mini-bar is very good. The staff was non-intrusive and helpful at all times. The mini-bar was included in the room tariff, which shows class, rather than put a price a small things. It was also good to see the restaurant manager himself be part of service during breakfast rather than just order people around.
Only some suggestions for improvements and not problems were:
Would have loved to see the Danube flowing too but maybe not possible from our side of view.
There was some slight problem of sound proofing the rooms. Everytime someone knocked in the next room, it seemed like a knock in our room.
The TV has only German channels and only English news channels. Would have loved to have some English entertainment channels at least or maybe some movies we could order to see.
They could have included the pool and sauna access as part of room tariff(especially in the winter season)

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank Anuavya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 257 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2017

The views from this hotel are excellent and the rooms are modern and finished to a high standard - marble floors in the bathroom with underfloor heating are particularly luxurious. Connections to central Vienna are good via an Underground station five minutes walk from the entrance which takes you straight to the centre in ten minutes. There is also an excellent independent health club on the second floor which Level residents at the Hotel can use (remember to bring flip flops as these are required in the wet area). The Level lounge on the 57th floor is a wow with great views and friendly staff.

However, there are some details which let this otherwise excellent hotel down. Accessing the Level lounge is not easy - you have to go back down to the ground floor and wait for a receptionist to take you to the special lift. Often there was a queue as the same lift also served the popular restaurant and sometimes the receptionist was not there. The main reception seemed understaffed and we abandoned a ten minute wait to ask the concierge for information. The restaurant on the 57th floor was good but don't ask for wine by the glass. This comes in the smallest conceivable amount - in fact I thought it was a taster until I realised the waiter had gone after pouring about 50ml. Two glasses of wine cost us about 20 Euros and barely constituted a mouthful. On the first night the turndown service seemed to consist of nothing more than a chocolate tossed onto the pillow. On the second night the cleaner took the key card we had left in the slot by the door to keep the lights on. This necessitated yet another trip to reception and a queue to get the card back.

All of which is a missed opportunity. This is a great building in a good location with staff who were usually very friendly but the whole thing just doesn't seem to work well. We love Melia hotels but I think if we return to Vienna we may try the Sofitel next time.

Room Tip: Best views are facing south towards city. Level rooms worth extra expense for the views from the Lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed this hotel and it made my first stay in Vienna very enjoyable. We had a corner deluxe room up on the 14th floor and it had spectacular views! The room was spacious and the shower was heaven! All of the staff were very friendly and the concierge was very helpful in getting us around Vienna and showing us where all the Christmas Markets were and giving us leaflets for various trips and activities. The hotel isn't in the city centre but it's about 15 minutes away on the underground and its about a 2 minute walk from the hotel to the station and the tubes are very frequent! There is also a bus that runs from the airport to the hotel which is again less than a 5 minute walk from the stop to the hotel, much cheaper than getting a taxi I would think, €8 for a single. Had breakfast one morning at the hotel which was lovely, plenty to choose from and the lunch buffet is highly recommended too! Lovely selection of cocktails up in the rooftop bar too, just would recommend booking a table if you want to eat there as it gets booked up very quickly. Overall a lovely stay and would highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank em_246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed here for one night in December in a level room which we found an excellent deal. The room was beautiful, clean, large and amazing views, however you can hear the neighbours (not very sound proof).
The food is amazing, we had access to the lounge which is stunning and totally worth paying extra for.
Excellent stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank georgina04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We were so happy with our first stay here that we decided to come back. The experience was again almost perfect. We were able to enjoy the "LEVEL" room, lounge and service, that was not yet available during our first stay. Let me say the this was perfect: the LEVEL gives you access to a room with the best view, to the LEVEL lounge on the 57th floor where you can enjoy your breakfast with a breathtaking view, but also have a snack in the afternoon, or a glass of cava in the night. The LEVEL lounge service is very good, and all this is included in the price of the room. I highly recommend this hotel, and this is also one of the reasons why I would enjoy to go again to Vienna soon!

Room Tip: Excellent spacious rooms, and very modern bathroom with heated floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank kartego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#48 of 359 in Vienna
1,472 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 359 in Vienna
2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Vienna

Address: Donau City Strasse 7, Vienna 1220, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Kaisermühlen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: €125 - €321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Melia Vienna Austria's tallest skyscraper "Donau-City Tower", designed by French star architect Dominique Perrault, is the new home to Melia Vienna. The 220 meters and 58 floor building is also the first sustainable or "GreenBuilding" in Austria. Melia Vienna offers 253 spacious guest rooms, including 14 design suites, ensuring that there is something to suit every taste. All rooms are equipped with floor to ceiling windows and offer spectacular views of the Danube and the city. The hotel boasts 1,079 sq m of flexible event space, the Grand Ball Room offers the perfect setting for an exclusive gala dinner while eight smaller meeting rooms are ideal for more private company meetings. WINING AND DINING Enjoy an array of Austrian and international cuisine in our restaurant on the 57th floor, enjoying a breathtaking view over the city Continue your night out on the highest level in Austria (220m) at our roof top bar with DJ at the weekends Or simply visit our Lobby bar and restaurant - Flow - to try one of our after-work cocktails, get in touch with Viennese coffee culture or local cuisine MEETINGS Design your event in our 1,089 sqm of flexible meeting rooms. The Melia Event Space (495 sqm) offers the perfect setting for an exclusive gala dinner, while 8 smaller meeting rooms are ideal for more private meetings. All meeting rooms offer natural daylight, LCD projectors, screens and latest technical standards LOCATION The upcoming "Danube City" business district with the Austria Center Vienna and offices of the United Nations (UNO) is the home to the new Melia Vienna, The hotel in the heart of the Danube City is located next to the 21.5km long Danube Island recreation area, the Danube park and the old Danube. The underground station "Kaisermuhlen/VIC" located next to the hotel connects our guests with the historical city center "St. Stephans Square"., within 8 minutes. Vienna International Airport can be reached via the motorway within only twenty minutes. Points of interest: Danube Island (100m) Austria Centre Vienna (300m) Reed Messe Vienna (3,3km) United Nations -UNO City (400m) Amusement park "Prater" with Viennese giant ferryswheel (5 km) Historical City Center St. Stephan's Square (5,8 km) ViennaInternational Airport (21,4km) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing