We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm - hotel in quiet area, with close access to transportation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Ranked #28 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Charming family run hotel in quiet area with quick and easy access to city center via nearby metro (station 2 blocks). One of a kind personal hotel experience, rather than typical chain. Friendly staff recommended Vienna Card for unlimited transportation, and discounts on attractions. The card more than paid for itself. Our room was not large, but clean and quite adequate for the time we spent in our room. Breakfast was included. Although there is no restaurant on premises, there is a cheerful breakfast room with adjoining outdoor patio. Breakfast buffet had many choices of juices, breads, jams, pastries, fruits, meats, cheese, cereals, coffees, hot chocolate, and even cappuccino. Neighborhood had lots of shops, restaurants and bars - felt like a typical neighborhood, not a tourist area. Felt safe walking outdoors even at night. I would choose this hotel again and recommend for tourists or business. Free internet. Helpful staff even offered to store our luggage for 2 weeks while we toured other cities by train.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paradise04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 742 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

I spent three nights here with my husband and mother arriving on Christmas Day. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms comfortable, tastefully furnished and clean. The single non-smoking room my mother had booked smelt strongly of smoke thanks to s previous guest, so the reception staff immediately gave her an alternative (double) room at no extra cost.
The reception staff recommended us the traditional restaurant opposite for dinner and we enjoyed excellent meals there too.
The breakfast buffett provided a very good range of delicious things to eat and one could choose between helping oneself to various kinds of coffee (eg. capuccino) from the buffett or having a pot of filter coffee brought to the table.
We felt comfortable and relaxed here and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in Vienna.
The only negative thing I could say is that I had to kneel on the toilet to reach the make up mirror, which wasn't ideal.

Room Tip: Rooms on the yard side are apparently quietest. We were on the yard side and slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah_regnifarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed here in Decmeber for 2 nights and it was excellent. Great breakfast, helpful and friendly staff. Close to metro which is very easy to use and only 10 mins from most of Vienna's major attractions. Would stay again!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snickerbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

From the first moment my wife and I entered the Classic Hotel Wien we felt at home. The staff were so welcoming and friendly. Anything I asked for they got for me and more. Wonderful!

Room Tip: The UBahn is two short blocks away and takes you to the center of Old Town in 5 minutes. Get a Vien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimd1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Staff is friendly and the rooms are nice an clean. Breakfast is delicious. I stayed here for two weeks in November 2011. It is close to Praterstern and about 10-15 minutes walk to Stephanplatz.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alin_Popa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 359 in Vienna
1,685 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#25 of 359 in Vienna
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 359 in Vienna
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Classic Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Classic Hotel Wien

Address: Praterstrasse 72, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Nordbahn-Wien)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Vienna
#25 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: €83 - €244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Classic Hotel Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our centrally located hotel, with its 200 years of history, is one of the most traditional houses in Vienna and combines comfort with contemporary flair. The natural warmth of the staff, best service quality and special attention to details provide a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austria Classic Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Vienna
Vienna Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing