We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (583)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveller rating
108
270
156
32
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
270
156
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews building next door schwedenplatz metro station airport bus star hotel excellent position place to sleep cafes and restaurants old city fresh fruit first floor reception staff pleasant stay visit vienna min walk quiet street public transport bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 583 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

I would like to share my personal experience and warn people about strange things happenning in the room 522. That's not a poltergeist, but just a strong smell of tobacco. Surely i had claimed it to reception, once i found it. They immediately took a spray with intention to fix the issue. Additionally from my side, i have opened the window for an hour at least. The weird thing, the smell was not killed, but became even stronger through the night. There was no special ventilation system in the room, except the fan in the bath, so i had found no way but continue my staying.
I would not recommend this hotel to my friends, especiallt if they are non smokers.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraihs, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Mr. Jermakov,

thank you very much for your comments because of your room. We do have non-smoking rooms and also smoking rooms, better let's say the 5th floor is the smoking foor in our hotel. Normally our reception asks our guests what they prefer. We are very sorry if they forgot to ask you when you checked in.
Maybe there's a misunderstanding as you write finding the reception? Nobody knows anything there because of that? Our chambermaids do have a spray, so maybe you talked to them?
We are really sorry that you didn't come to the reception, as it wouldn't have been any problem giving you a non smoking room in our hotel on a different floor.

Hoping to see you again in our hotel, certainly in a non smoking room then and again sorry because of the inconvenience.

Best regards
Peter Fraihs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Got hooked up via Priceline and turned out to be an excellent referral. Comfortable and quiet within walking distance to St. Stephen’s and the Ringstrasse, Freud Museum, Holocaust Memorial.
Service was excellent. They were well-prepared to have you leave your luggage after check-out in order for you to make your train later in the day.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We found everything about this hotel to be great - front desk staff, room size, cleanliness of the room and of the hotel in general, and a very good breakfast. To us, its' best point was the location - an easy walk into the heart of the old city, but also an easy walk down to the river for good subway connections to tram tours, Grinzing,, the Prater, and other less central destinations. There are also great restaurants immediately near the hotel.

There are signs in the elevator to avoid a particular half hour for breakfast because of the crowds. The best time to go to breakfast seems to be the exact middle of that half hour. There's an old Yogi Berra saying that fits - "It's so popular nobody goes there anymore." Going a half hour earlier than that half hour is a bad idea.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnscasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We chose this hotel as it was close to the main attractions. Our room was large and pleasant.The hotel receptionists were helpful. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice. The hotel serves tea, snacks etc throughout the day if needed. We were able to walk from the hotel to nearly all the museums, galleries, the cathedral etc. It was also close to the dropping off point for the Airport bus, which was helpful. There were plenty of places to eat nearby.Close to the main shopping areas. It was expensive, but I think all the central hotels were expensive ! If you want to see a concert, ask at the desk. Do NOT get a ticket from the touts outside the cathedral.You will almost certainly be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geminiBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

A fabulous location - we walked almost everywhere we wanted to see. Rooms were really comfortable - great beds! Breakfast was great and having a bar/coffee area made it easy to meet up with fellow travellers. Staff were really helpful with directions and suggestions for dinner etc!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews