We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel”
Review of Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Post
Ranked #188 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel is easy to reach in about 5 minutes walk from the airport bus stop on Schwedenplatz and is right opposite the post office and in the heart of Vienna. Staff are friendly and although I would agree with some other reviewers that the rooms are perhaps a little tired, our room was clean and very spacious with a bath and excellent shower above the bath. The windows also open which is good if you tend to be hot. There was plenty to eat at breakfast and fresh fruit. My only criticism is that there is a smoking room somewhere and being a non. Smoker I found the smell very off putting even although I have to say that our room never smelled despite being on the first floor and the breakfast room also didn’t. I simply don’t like smoke and while I would stay there again, it would not be my first choice. If you are ok with that then go for it.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Penelope365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

4 - 8 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

I would like to share my personal experience and warn people about strange things happenning in the room 522. That's not a poltergeist, but just a strong smell of tobacco. Surely i had claimed it to reception, once i found it. They immediately took a spray with intention to fix the issue. Additionally from my side, i have opened the window for an hour at least. The weird thing, the smell was not killed, but became even stronger through the night. There was no special ventilation system in the room, except the fan in the bath, so i had found no way but continue my staying.
I would not recommend this hotel to my friends, especiallt if they are non smokers.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraihs, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Mr. Jermakov,

thank you very much for your comments because of your room. We do have non-smoking rooms and also smoking rooms, better let's say the 5th floor is the smoking foor in our hotel. Normally our reception asks our guests what they prefer. We are very sorry if they forgot to ask you when you checked in.
Maybe there's a misunderstanding as you write finding the reception? Nobody knows anything there because of that? Our chambermaids do have a spray, so maybe you talked to them?
We are really sorry that you didn't come to the reception, as it wouldn't have been any problem giving you a non smoking room in our hotel on a different floor.

Hoping to see you again in our hotel, certainly in a non smoking room then and again sorry because of the inconvenience.

Best regards
Peter Fraihs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Got hooked up via Priceline and turned out to be an excellent referral. Comfortable and quiet within walking distance to St. Stephen’s and the Ringstrasse, Freud Museum, Holocaust Memorial.
Service was excellent. They were well-prepared to have you leave your luggage after check-out in order for you to make your train later in the day.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We found everything about this hotel to be great - front desk staff, room size, cleanliness of the room and of the hotel in general, and a very good breakfast. To us, its' best point was the location - an easy walk into the heart of the old city, but also an easy walk down to the river for good subway connections to tram tours, Grinzing,, the Prater, and other less central destinations. There are also great restaurants immediately near the hotel.

There are signs in the elevator to avoid a particular half hour for breakfast because of the crowds. The best time to go to breakfast seems to be the exact middle of that half hour. There's an old Yogi Berra saying that fits - "It's so popular nobody goes there anymore." Going a half hour earlier than that half hour is a bad idea.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnscasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We chose this hotel as it was close to the main attractions. Our room was large and pleasant.The hotel receptionists were helpful. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice. The hotel serves tea, snacks etc throughout the day if needed. We were able to walk from the hotel to nearly all the museums, galleries, the cathedral etc. It was also close to the dropping off point for the Airport bus, which was helpful. There were plenty of places to eat nearby.Close to the main shopping areas. It was expensive, but I think all the central hotels were expensive ! If you want to see a concert, ask at the desk. Do NOT get a ticket from the touts outside the cathedral.You will almost certainly be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geminiBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 358 in Vienna
1,437 reviews
Inner City
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
#31 of 358 in Vienna
870 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#132 of 358 in Vienna
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#55 of 358 in Vienna
510 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#171 of 358 in Vienna
346 reviews
Old University Quarter
#46 of 358 in Vienna
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Post

Address: Fleischmarkt 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter , Innere Stadt
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: €85 - €169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Post 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A central location with some nice tradition: Here was formerly the Gasthaus Zum white oxen, it was in later times known as Hotel Zur Stadt London. A house that counted personalities such as Mozart, Joseph Haydn, Friedrich Nietzsche, Richard Wagner, Frédéric Chopin and Leos Janacek to his regulars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing