We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a geat place on a hot night!”
Review of Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Post
Ranked #163 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 29 June 2017

I rented a room at the Wein Post for two nights based mostly on the reviews. The hotel is nice enough, I liked the traditional feel of the place with older rooms and elevators. My room was very small, but adequate with a nice shower and bathroom. My biggest complaint? NO AC! On several hot nights, there was only a small fan for cooling. The desk clerk told me to take a cold shower! I admit I might need a cold shower now and then, but it's a poor substitute for actual air conditioning. On the bright side..... the breakfast bar is just great. Lots of variety, good eggs and bacon, breads and lots of other stuff. Would I stay there again? No probably not. Not really a good value for the price paid for the room. There are better deals in the city.

Room Tip: Some rooms have shared bathrooms. ASK about it before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank weffley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraihs, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Dear Weffley?

Thank you very much for your comments. Sorry because of AC, but there is no website
we advertise having an AC?
Certainly we know that it's getting warmer and warmer, so for our renovations in Winter is is one of the points that will be done.

We would be glad welcoming you again one day.
rgds
Peter Fraihs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

No thrills, no extra cost. Good location for stephansplatz, very close to schwedenplatz metro station. Close to several places to eat and very close to a spar. Also has its own restaurant. I didn't use it for dinner but for breakfast it had the classic buffet style which was absolutely fine. Attentive staff and everything ran smoothly within. Reception staff etc were absolutely fine and polite. Room was clean and had the basics to be comfortable. One thing I would point out is (maybe it was just my room) but there was no AC so it was difficult to cool the room down. Also, my laptop tripped the electricity, not sure if it's just mine...but I've used mine all over Vienna. Not sure if it's the building or what; but that was a bit of a blip for me. Having said that, staff did everything they could and hotel provided all they said they would. Perfect for travellers who don't need the thrills

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraihs, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear David,

thanks for you comments, and sorry because of the electricity, but we never had a similar problem because of a laptop only?
As I couldn't find any comments in our supports, could you please let me know the room number, that we can check?

thanks and best regards
Peter Fraihs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

The hotel is within a walkable distance from all main interest places (100m away from Scwedenplatz).
The staff is friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is good, but it is basic and always the same, so after three days you start thinking about going to a bakery.
The bedrooms are clean and big, but if you don't have a bathroom inside your room you will end up walking up to 50 meters for taking a shower.
This hotel is not what I may call "cheap".

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with private bathroom. If you don't, there is only one shower per floor for mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank otnamol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

One week! I did not receive any official apology from the hotel !!
I booked an en-suite twin room for 9 days, and I have already paid full price before I went there. However, I did not receive respect and I felt a little discrimination!!

It was 13 April, while I was taking shower in my bathroom, the cleaner came into the bathroom without any permission. After she opened the door and saw me, she should close the door because I was naked in the bathroom, but she did not. She went to the bathroom directly! Actually, at that time, my friend was in my bedroom, she did not ask for the permission as well.

Since I had a meeting 15 mins later I cannot spend a long time to complain this thing. I went to the reception and told the staff that I shall need an official apology after I come back to the hotel.

After I came back, the reception staff told me that the cleaner JUST lost something inside of my bathroom. He believes this is a normal thing because everyone could forget them belonging. While, at the same time, he told me that I should put the quiet label on the door. He admitted that the cleaner should knock the door, but she did not.

I CANNOT accept this excuse because of three reasons!

Firstly, she should knock on my door, both the bedroom and especially when she entered the bathroom she should have at least asked the permission of my friend who was in the bedroom.

Secondly, after she saw me, she should have left immediately and let me finish.

Thirdly, the quiet label is irrelevant. I cannot predict she would be back after she cleaned my bedroom. As well as, this is a room that I have paid for!!. Although I did not put the label, she should knock the door and asked for permission before entering a room while a guest is inside.

After this event happened, I sent a complaint e-mail and asked them to give me an official apology. However, till now I did not receive ant reply! I felt they did not take my situation in serious!

I WILL NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL AGAIN BECAUSE I REALLY WORRIED ABOUT MY RIGHT OF PRIVACY AND I DID NOT RECEIVE A POLITE TREATMENT IN THIS CASE!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yafan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraihs, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Well as much as I remeber we met together in the hall and I apologized because of that. Also the facility manager talked personally to you because of that.

So I ones again only can say sorry.

Best regards
Peter Fraihs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Rooms excellent. Food was really great, and all staff were brilliant. Location is superb, in the old quarter of the city.
I would certainly recommend a stay here.
Within an easy walk of the city, which has so many attractions.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms. Very spacious, and a great big bed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#189 of 358 in Vienna
341 reviews
Inner City
Marc Aurel
Marc Aurel
#218 of 358 in Vienna
166 reviews
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#144 of 358 in Vienna
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Lerner
Pension Lerner
#228 of 358 in Vienna
90 reviews
Inner City
Pension Residenz
Pension Residenz
#224 of 358 in Vienna
159 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 358 in Vienna
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Post

Address: Fleischmarkt 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: €76 - €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Post 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A central location with some nice tradition: Here was formerly the Gasthaus Zum white oxen, it was in later times known as Hotel Zur Stadt London. A house that counted personalities such as Mozart, Joseph Haydn, Friedrich Nietzsche, Richard Wagner, Frédéric Chopin and Leos Janacek to his regulars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing