We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. A little bit old.”
Review of Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Post
Ranked #164 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 26 April 2017

The hotel is within a walkable distance from all main interest places (100m away from Scwedenplatz).
The staff is friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is good, but it is basic and always the same, so after three days you start thinking about going to a bakery.
The bedrooms are clean and big, but if you don't have a bathroom inside your room you will end up walking up to 50 meters for taking a shower.
This hotel is not what I may call "cheap".

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with private bathroom. If you don't, there is only one shower per floor for mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank otnamol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017

One week! I did not receive any official apology from the hotel !!
I booked an en-suite twin room for 9 days, and I have already paid full price before I went there. However, I did not receive respect and I felt a little discrimination!!

It was 13 April, while I was taking shower in my bathroom, the cleaner came into the bathroom without any permission. After she opened the door and saw me, she should close the door because I was naked in the bathroom, but she did not. She went to the bathroom directly! Actually, at that time, my friend was in my bedroom, she did not ask for the permission as well.

Since I had a meeting 15 mins later I cannot spend a long time to complain this thing. I went to the reception and told the staff that I shall need an official apology after I come back to the hotel.

After I came back, the reception staff told me that the cleaner JUST lost something inside of my bathroom. He believes this is a normal thing because everyone could forget them belonging. While, at the same time, he told me that I should put the quiet label on the door. He admitted that the cleaner should knock the door, but she did not.

I CANNOT accept this excuse because of three reasons!

Firstly, she should knock on my door, both the bedroom and especially when she entered the bathroom she should have at least asked the permission of my friend who was in the bedroom.

Secondly, after she saw me, she should have left immediately and let me finish.

Thirdly, the quiet label is irrelevant. I cannot predict she would be back after she cleaned my bedroom. As well as, this is a room that I have paid for!!. Although I did not put the label, she should knock the door and asked for permission before entering a room while a guest is inside.

After this event happened, I sent a complaint e-mail and asked them to give me an official apology. However, till now I did not receive ant reply! I felt they did not take my situation in serious!

I WILL NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL AGAIN BECAUSE I REALLY WORRIED ABOUT MY RIGHT OF PRIVACY AND I DID NOT RECEIVE A POLITE TREATMENT IN THIS CASE!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yafan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraihs, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Well as much as I remeber we met together in the hall and I apologized because of that. Also the facility manager talked personally to you because of that.

So I ones again only can say sorry.

Best regards
Peter Fraihs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Rooms excellent. Food was really great, and all staff were brilliant. Location is superb, in the old quarter of the city.
I would certainly recommend a stay here.
Within an easy walk of the city, which has so many attractions.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms. Very spacious, and a great big bed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This hotel could be fabulous. Marvellous location, quiet street, near the Ubahn and St Stefan's Platz, wide corridors and huge rooms. Absolutely immaculate bathrooms. Service was adequate, breakfast fairly average in pleasant room which wasn't quite big enough at peak times. Someone cooking eggs would have been a big help as the scrambled eggs were awful.
We paid extra for a superior room, but when we arrived we found we were overlooked by the building next door, couldn't even see what the weather was like.There was no fridge, no tea or coffee making facilities, nowhere to hang more than one towel, no hand rail on the very deep bath/shower, and no bidet as in the pictures. We could open the window, but in the slightest breeze it rattled all night. There is heating but no air con. There was only one upright chair. These are mostly small touches which would make all the difference.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the front. It is a quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jadefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraihs, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Jadefish,

thank you very much for your positive comments.

Because of the scrambled eggs I'm very sorry to read that, and we will change that immediately.

We do have different business rooms, some with Shower, some with bathtube, and some also having a bidet. As the building is around 110 years old, all rooms are a bit different, but it would've been any problem going to the reception and change the room if possible?
Because of the view I'm sorry but we are in the very Inner City so haveing a view means booking a suite in 5 star hotel, and as we are 3 star we offer 3 star facilities.

Ceratinly we invest ervery year, so when you visit us in 2018 there will be aircondition in most of the rooms but also this time, aksing for a second chair at the reception wouldn't any problem at all.

Hopefully you will come to Vienna again, then please try again and enjoy the changes we made until then.

best regards
Peter Fraihs
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Booked this hotel initially through booking.com and thought we had bathroom facilities bug when printed off page before travelling discovered we had to shard facilities with a whole floor. Tried to change before we left but to no avail. On arrival the manager was so helpful we changed to private facilities for two of our nights on our stay. Apart from this problem the hotel is brilliantly situated for restaurants, bars and all transport the underground, trams and hop on hop off buses. Really great breakfast buffet with both hot & cold food available. So aperture from the initial problem with the booking would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you request private facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#189 of 358 in Vienna
341 reviews
Inner City
Marc Aurel
Marc Aurel
#224 of 358 in Vienna
166 reviews
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#145 of 358 in Vienna
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Lerner
Pension Lerner
#230 of 358 in Vienna
90 reviews
Inner City
Pension Residenz
Pension Residenz
#225 of 358 in Vienna
159 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 358 in Vienna
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Post

Address: Fleischmarkt 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: €76 - €153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Post 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A central location with some nice tradition: Here was formerly the Gasthaus Zum white oxen, it was in later times known as Hotel Zur Stadt London. A house that counted personalities such as Mozart, Joseph Haydn, Friedrich Nietzsche, Richard Wagner, Frédéric Chopin and Leos Janacek to his regulars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing