We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice quiet hotel with good public transport connections to Vienna's treasures” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arkadenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arkadenhof
Ranked #25 of 113 Vienna B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel with good public transport connections to Vienna's treasures”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Very comfortable small hotel with great rates (checked tripadvisor, booked booking.com) most times, modern clean and comfortable rooms, helpful staff and a good varied breakfast buffet. You may use the hotel's internet computer also.
Within easy reach by the excellent public transport system -take U6 from Westbahnhof, trams 37 and D, to get to Vienna's delightful treasures like the Opera in the city- all in all a very good choice if you do not like the overpriced city hotels who often have little charm and you do not mind a, say, 15 minutes tram trip, who come at frequencies of ten minutes.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bromeisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    27
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
13
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

The Arkadenhof is a strange hotel. Clearly a lot of money has been spent on it, but given the occupancy when we were there I don't know how they are going to recoup their investment.

The room we stayed in was massive: a large seating area, good quality bed and large bathroom. It was clean and stayed that way for our three nights. My wife was commenting though that there were a number of design faults - simple little things like the lighting not being that efficient and the bed lights hiitting your head when sitting up for early morning tea and no storage shelves in the bathroom. All small items, but make a big difference.

Breakfast was fine, if a tad lonely :O)

Location? Again, once you get used to the superb tram system it wasn't a problem - ten minutes to the centre and I think we only ever waited six minutes to get the next tram and the stop was only two minutes walk from the hotel.

Staf were helpful, very helpful.

The WiFi is poor (although you do get an hour free - I used 59:28!), and not just for guests - the staff access was slow as well.

I'm still not sure whether I'd go back there, but overall the positives just about outweigh the negatives.

I hate the "recommend to a friend" question below. I would, but only after outlining all the points I have made above.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiefs_Watcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

In a really quiet side street near Nussdorfer U6 underground station.
Bad things:
1. Number 1 bad thing is price - whoever gave this hotel a four star rating has no idea!!! I switched hotels after one night and got a much better price and facilities at another hotel. The price list is laughable!
2. Very uncomfortable beds with large metal springs sticking in your back. Darkly decorated rooms are depressing and old fashioned.
3. No free internet: it costs 2 Euros for 1 hour of internet, and the studpid thing times out, so you get even less time - and you get no reimbursement when you complain.
4. Breakfast is also very depressing, no windows in the breakfast room, and tired-looking cereals and anaemic pancakes.
5. Not much in the way of cafes and restaurants nearby, Cafe Blau Stern near the U-bahn station is probably the best option, but it's on a noicy corner for traffic. The 'trendies' hang out there, so worth a look.
Good things:
1. Very clean bathroom; not a spiders web or grubbiness anywhere
2. Small safe in the room
3. Entrance hall way is old-fashioned but some people might thing it has oldy worldy Viennese 'charm'.
Take home message:
Life is too short to stay in hotels like this

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bixgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

Perfectly allright hotel at a too high price. Friendly staff, good breakfast buffet included and an adequate room with an adequate bathroom. The internet (wifi) provided by the hotel is not good enough - signal too weak in my room. I was saved by an open net in a neighbouring building . . . avoid this hotel if you depend on beeing connected! Good tram communications to town center but a bit more than walking distance to the interesting parts of the city.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ondevall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

My wife and I spent a very pleasant weekend in Vienna and stayed for 3 nights in the Arkadenhof. We first arrived at Vienna International airport and travalled into the city by the express train direct into Vienna - an excellent service, which we had pre-booked online in advance. Taxi to the hotel in the rush hour seemed to take a long time, but when we arrived we found the staff very helpful and registration was completeld very efficiently, that said we were the only ones in reception at that time. The receptionist also provided us with a map and useful information about the city. Our room was on the second floor, and although it was at the front of the hotel it was thankfullly very quite with little sound from the roadway, until morning. Otherwise the romm was clean and well appointed. Breakfast was buffet-style, offering both cooked and continental options, and in fact was rather good. We did not use the small bar in the hotel - in fact we did not see anyone use it during our stay. In reality there was little evidence of other guests except at breakfast time. Although some distance out of the city - at a guess perhaps 4km on foot, the hotel has excellent public transport links. The trams (S-bahn) frequently depart from a stop about 200 yards from the door, while the efficient underground (U-bahn) is about 5-10 minutes walk away. In essence this was a good location to spend a wekend sight-seeing in Vienna.

  • Liked — Accessibility for public transport and value for money
  • Disliked — No live in the bar
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AH15765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Wahring
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#200 of 366 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Dobling
Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#127 of 366 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Mondial Appartement Hotel
#248 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Vienna Inn Apartments
Vienna Inn Apartments
#29 of 113 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkadenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkadenhof

Property: Arkadenhof
Address: Viriotgasse 5, Vienna 1090, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Arkadenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Arkadenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkadenhof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing