We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
969 results
Traveller rating
321
447
107
42
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
447
107
42
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews settimo cielo the ground floor restaurant great location cathedral bells rooftop restaurant top floor central location st stephens cathedral major sights the heart of the city room was large old city i highly recommend this hotel minute walk opera house four nights buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 969 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

We booked months before we were due to arrive. Our primary reason for choosing the hotel was its location as we had our elderly mother and we wanted to be central. We arrived at 8pm and were told we had no rooms and we would be sent to a sister hotel which was much further away. We asked how this had happened but were given no explanation. On checking review sites on our return it seems this isn’t a one off! The alternative hotel was acceptable but in the wrong location so we were really upset. We were advised we could return to the Royal the following day but if we did we wouldn’t get the travel cards they’d offered in compensation after much complaint. We were given 2 chocolates each and a letter which clearly was a standard template to apologise. This again confirmed this was something which happens frequently. The alternative hotel was less expensive but we were not offered the difference in price. We were told our Taxi was being paid between the hotels and that was it. Really dreadful experience and it was a terrible start to our short break. They did not inform us of the ‘error’ until we showed up at hotel. So if you want to stay at the Royal it is a lovely hotel but check before you arrive that it’s Royal that have a room for you and not their other family hotel which is much much further out from the centre of Vienna.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Balerno School ... f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear guest!

We want to excuse once again for the booking mistake that happened and we want to point out that this is no standard procedure, but you are right it might happen when we are facing too many bookings at a time and our staff as being human sometimes are making mistakes. We are very sorry that we had to please you and your mum to our Hotel Regina, which is the biggest Hotel of the 4 Kremslehner Hotels in Vienna and is situated close to Ringstrasse and is easily connected with all public underground.

As you mentioned we tried our best to solve this situation for both sides and therefore we suggested that you change back to Hotel Royal which you did not want - so we thought that you felt at home at our Hotel Regina.

We want to express our sincere excuses once again and send our best greetings from Vienna,

your family Kremslehner on behalf of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

I don't know why anyone would stay anywhere else in Vienna. The Royal is right in the center of the city (yet offers a restful and quiet night's sleep). It also happens to be one of the most reasonably priced hotels in town. It is very comfortable and safe. The staff was very helpful. I would never stay in another hotel in Vienna.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank flcIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Assistentin der Direktion at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank your very much for your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure to read your comments about our house and we will certainly share as well your compliments about our staff with them.
We really hope to welcome you back in the very near future!

With best regards
The Kremslehner family on behalf of the Hotel Royal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

This hotel is at the prime location. Staff is great and very helpful. Breakfast was great too with lots of variety. No issues. They have AC too. Clean rooms. We were able to get to the hotel very easily on the subway from the main train station.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RJ01012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear guest!

Thank you so much for your kind feed back which is highly appreciated. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your days with us and thank you for recommending our hotel to other travellers.
Looking forward to having you with us soon again,
your family Kremslehner on behalf of the Royal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Great location a block from the St. Stephens square. Good breakfast that came with the room. the first nite they had to move us because they has us on the 8th floor left the window opened and had not turned on the AC with 90 degree temps. The next nite, the staff would turned the AC off, when we gave them the room key to go out. It was 90 degrees and thus took time for the room to cool down when we returned. Breakfast was good. WE paid $161 a nite for two beds. Very inexpensive for Vienna and great location.

Room tip: go to lower floors in warm weather
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vandy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time in describing your stay at Hotel Royal. We are pleased to read, that you liked our location. In fact, last week was the hottest week in this year – and our AC worked really very hard to cool down all our rooms, ... :-)

Looking forward to hosting you soon again in the future.
The Kremslehner family on behalf of the Hotel Royal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

The location and staff were the main attributes of this three-star budget hotel reminiscent of an older Holiday Inn in a rural part of the United States. The breakfast was good with a wide selection of food.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dg2014jg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Client,

thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor.
Hopefully we may welcome you soon again.

With best regards
The Kremslehner family on behalf of the Hotel Royal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews