We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Vienna!”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #5 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at the Sacher over Christmas and absolutely loved it. We arrived late on Christmas Eve and were picked up at the airport in a pre arranged Mercedes S Class. We got to the hotel and were shown to a gorgeous room on the newly renovated third floor.

The room was one of the best we have stayed in across many luxury hotels we have stayed in (Gritti Palace in Venice, Burj Al Arab in Dubai, Peninsula in Hong Kong). It wasn't a huge room but it was opulently appointed and had every convenience including a television embedded in the mirror in the bathroom! The room was cosy and luxurious.

The concierge booked us a table at a lovely Italian restaurant at the last minute which was great as it was Christmas Eve and most restaurants were booked up.

We ate breakfast at the hotel each morning and the selection was great. One negative was the scrambled eggs which the chef makes to order and they were overdone and rubbery and I couldn't eat them but I just like my eggs slightly runny. We also had a drink in the Blaue Bar which was so cosy but lavish and the wasabi nuts were addictive.

The other negative as with most luxury 5 star hotels is the fact they charge for wireless internet access. It was €6 per hour or €19 for 24 hours. We paid for 24 hour access but the Starbucks across the road provides free wifi. As the Sacher is a privately owned hotel, I really think they would do well in providing free Wifi to their guests. This is normally something that determines whether I booked a particular hotel over another.

The location of the hotel was fantastic directly opposite the Opera House and near the shopping district. The service provided across the hotel by all staff was fantastic.

We were torn between booking the Imperial or the Sacher but I am so glad we booked the Sacher. It is smaller than the Imperial but so much better located and you are treated as part of the family. We were given some mini Sachertortes when we left which was a lovely touch. I would definitely stay here again if we visited Vienna again in the future. Also recommend Plachutta restaurant near the hotel which is where the concierge booked us for Christmas dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrigittaVienna, General Manager at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Dear Reviewer,
We appreciate your detailed comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Regarding your remarks about the cost for the internet access: we are happy to inform you that we will provide the WLAN access free of charge starting in February 2012.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards
Reiner Heilmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 876 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

Great Hotel in the grand tradition, staff are excellent and went out of their way when a dinner booking went awry to get us a table in their restaraunt Not the cheapest place to stay but must be one of the best

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Have just returned from a 3 night stay to visit the Christmas Markets with my husband. The hotel is beautiful - we were upgraded to a lovely suite which made the stay even more special. The bathroom was spacious and the shower the best we've ever had in a hotel - perfect temperature and water pressure. The hotel is in a fantastic location. Concierge was extremely helpful with advice on where to go and obtained tickets for us to the Opera. The fine dining in the Anna Sacher restaurant is exquisite. The Rote Bar restaurant is worth a visit and the Blue Bar the perfect place for drinks (and snacks). Breakfast was very good - lots of choice. Great Spa facility - do try and book a massage especially after a day walking round the sights, the perfect way to unwind. Housekeeping staff were very good with lots of attention to detail. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliamould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We just spent this past weekend in Vienna to check out the Xmas markets. The Sacher is in a great location right across the street from the Opera House and a 10min walk to the Hofburg Palace and St Stephen's Cathedral. All the xmas markets are at most a 10min walk from the Sacher.

The staff was awesome. The concierge arranged tickets to the ballet for us on Sat night. We also left a suit coat and dress in the closet (which we realized on the way to the airport) The staff had taken them out of the closet on Sunday while we were out and put them in a bag with the rest of our luggage. Def have a drink at the blur bar before you head to the Opera House and do have dinner at the "Rote Bar" restaurant in the hotel. The Tafelspitz (boiled beef with apple horseradish and chives sauce) is AMAZING. The concierge also reccomended a small Vienna bisto near the Mozart museume which we also loved.

Our room on the 3rd floor was just renovated and very homey. Bathroom was spacious and shower was big with great water pressure. The only negative thing I have to say about the Sacher is that the towels were terrible. They felt like sandpaper or towels you'd get at a cheap health-club. They do have a pretty nice gym (treadmills, bikes, elipticals for those who like to exercise)


This is a quality hotel with a quality staff. Felt like you were staying at a 4 seasons.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yankinlondon_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Concierge especially skillful at getting excellent-seat tickets to Wien musical events, which are numerous but frequently sold-out or very near-capacity. Great Blue Bar for cocktails--only seats about 20 people, very intimate. Anna Sacher restaurant fantastic food-wine pairings... 4-course prix fixe ,,Innovatif'' (one 3 menus) was great. Meine gott im Himmel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,583 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 359 in Vienna
1,240 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#14 of 359 in Vienna
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
1,199 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: €341 - €530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing