We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and close to food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Secession Wien
Ranked #133 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location and close to food”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I first read Trip Advisor's reviews before booking any hotels, and this time there was no exception. It was really realistic and helpful and met with expectation with the hotel, its location and everything. Because I booked it months in advance so I got a major discount, it was only £74 approx. per night for a couple. The standard of the hotel was very good, although it's quite complex in size, but standard top of the range style hotel with TV, a comforty bed, en-suite and clean bath/toilet facility etc.

Staffs were helpful, although not over too friendly but didn't expect too much as we only stayed there for 1 night only due to the high expenses in Vienna. So I wanted to keep staying in Central to save time and traveling expenses. The hotel was very close to tube and eating and drinking venues.

I would recommend this hotel to busy people who want to stay close to town due to lack of time and not want to commute a great distance to many places. It was a real gem in terms of location. Hotel facilities are very acceptable.

Breakfast was not included and remember, everything Costs in Vienna. The shorter you'll stay there the less you'll spend. Since it's so close to restaurants and supermarkets, you don't really need to eat at hotel but the facility was there which was a good option.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    319
    96
    25
    19
See reviews for
173
216
58
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here and were immediately upgraded to an apartment which was kind to say the least. The man at reception, Johanns, couldn't have been kinder and made sure the room was to our liking. The apartment was a great size, looking on to a courtyard. The kitchen I found to be a little strange since there was a hob but no cooker or microwave, though it was more than we needed since we eat out each day during our visit. Before I even had a shower, I knew the shower would cause the room to become soaked - the shower head was fixed above the length of the bath (rather than the width) with only a small screen to prevent splash. My perception was right, as after my first shower, the room was soaked and sodden. Not too pleasant and definitely something the hotel's management staff should look at changing. Sadly, the air conditioning unit we had was very noisy, and my wife had a rotten night being awoken on a number of occasions but I don't think it was a fault, rather just a noisy model of air conditioning machine.

It all sounds rather negative so far, but in fact, our stay here was great. The location of the hotel couldn't be better: two blocks from the museum quarter, close to a metro station (10 mins by metro to the must-visit Belvedere Palace), and 20 mins to get within the center of the inner-stadt which must be walked to soak up all the unforgettable streets (they resemble many a Scottish close!!). There are also a nice selection of restaurants in the surrounding area.

Overall, we were happy with our stay, and Johanns especially made it friendly and pleasant so we can glance over the shortcomings of the kitchen and shower, especially since other neighboring hotels at a 4*-class will cost more than what we paid (€65 per night).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckvader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel is perfectly located being very close to the Naschmarkt and about a five minute walk to the metro. Reception staff were friendly, professional and welcoming, particulrly after a long day of sightseeing, their quick and friendly service in the samll bar was very much appreciated. The buffet breakfast, although continental style, also included hot dishes with a good choice of cereals, cheeses etc.
As a three/four star hotel is is certainly above the average. Our room was large and clean and included a small kitchenette.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPBConnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santos Dumont, MG
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Red walls painted gives you an heavy atmosphere. I feel it as expensive as all hotels in europe. You can get a decent bed e breakfast in a refurbished building. Wouldn´t come back unless prices drops a little !!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Das Opernring Hotel
Das Opernring Hotel
#98 of 360 in Vienna
406 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#15 of 360 in Vienna
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Secession Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Secession Wien

Property: Mercure Secession Wien
Address: Getreidemarkt 5, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Vienna
#98 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#116 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#130 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Secession Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home, right in the centre of Vienna. Our cosy 4 star hotel is celebrating its 100th anniversary and has been completely renovated to mark the occasion. The Mercure Secession offers a combination of classic Viennese style and modern comfort. Facilities include 70 spacious, airconditioned rooms, suites and apartments, bar with Internet terminal, WLAN in the lobby and private parking. The opera, Stephansdom Cathedral, museums, Ringstrasse and Karntnerstrasse are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Secession Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Secession Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Secession Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing