We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing food ”
Review of Das Schick

Das Schick
Ranked #86 of 4,731 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$75
Cuisines: Austrian, Diner, Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Description: Cosmopolitan cuisine in Vienna: indulge in treats of the Austrian and Spanish cuisine at the restaurant, high above the rooftops. 'Das Schick', your restaurant in Vienna, combines Austrian tradition and spirited Spanish flair. Experience a unique, appealing atmosphere, delicious cuisine in Vienna, and a new head chef and menu that will enchant you.
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

A beautiful restaurant with gorgeous views. The food is probably the best I’ve tasted... do try the 5 course menu for some absolutely amazing culinary-delights.

I should however note that the customer service upon arriving to the restaurant could have been better... we had to comment that we hadn’t been served in over 10 minutes which did not go down too well. For a high end restaurant this was disappointing. Thereafter however the service really stepped up and we were served by a lovely waiter who took care of us. If you’re a foody be sure to check this place out! Yummy!

Thank Missmariaaa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Missmariaaa90,

Thank you very much for your important feedback which enables us to control and optimize our service and offer. We already passed your comments internally and will do our best to improve the response from beginning on. Thank you for informing us.

We are glad that you enjoyed a great visit and that the creations of our chef Felix Albiez completely convinced you.

Hoping to welcome you back again in future, we remain,
with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

In the course of the renovation works in the year 2010 of restaurant 'Himmelsstube’, a completely new restaurant concept was created which is bound to enchant you. The foundation of this concept is the interplay between the Austrian and Spanish cuisines. Experience Mediterranean specialities that are barely known outside Spain. Indulge in an exquisite meal accompanied by excellent Austrian and Spanish wines and sparkling wines, high above the rooftops of Vienna.

Thank Lev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Lev A,

we are delighted to read about your experience at our Restaurant "Das Schick" and thank you for your throughout positive review. We are very happy that we could fully convince you and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

In Vienna on business with my wife (in Vienna for fun) we had dinner on a Tuesday night at Das Schlick. The dinner was a transcendent experience. While my wife enjoyed five courses I indulged in seven with wine pairings (this doesn’t include the three amuse Boucher we received up front). Probably the best enjoyed was the sole (by both) and the roast Iberian pork (by myself). although everything was delicious and not a morsel was left uneaten. The pacing was magnificent, the servers super friendly and knowledgeable. Dinner was 3.5 hours of great theatre not to mention the fantastic views of Vienna from the twelfth floor perch. I can’t wait to return.

Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Steve P,

we are delighted to learn about your experience at our Restaurant "Das Schick" and are very happy that you and your wife fully enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your compliments.

With pleasure we look forward to your next reservation and wish you, in the meanwhile, a great summer.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Oh dear

We were staying at the Hotel AM Packring. As we booked directly with the hotel one of the offers was 10% off a meal in the restaurant. The restaurant appeared quite decent so we booked a table for dinner during our stay.

On our first morning at the hotel we went for breakfast. We found the service to be very slow; their poached egg Florentine to be very watery and the whole experience was not good value for money. We decided not to have breakfast there again but to look for a cafe once out. We didn’t let the experience of breakfast put us off dinner - after all it is a top rated restaurant - and were looking forward to our meal.

Dinner started with us being offered a glass of sparking Austrian or Spanish wine. My husband asked for a whisky and was told that “if it wasn’t either Austrian or Spanish they didn’t serve it”. It wasn’t a major problem but I’m a bit surprised by any hotel bar that doesn’t serve one of the main spirits.

The waiter came to take our order. We were a little surprised by him asking for our choice of pudding at the start of the meal but ... when in Rome.

Two different kinds of bread and three spreads arrived. One of these spreads was derived from wild garlic. It was beautiful. The bread, although nice, did not appear to be home made. I feel that an establishment of the quality this would like to be should bake its own bread.

We couldn’t understand what the waiters were saying. Not that their English wasn’t good but unless something was said directly to us we couldn’t decipher their accent. This meant that we never got to find out what the first two of the Amuse Bouche were. The first was a rice ball with something on it. The rice was over cooked and the taste flavourless. The second was something served in half an egg shell. This contained garlic but was, again, flavourless. The third amuse bouche was Gazpacho. Quite spicy but tasty. I think there was some strawberry in there - a different flavour that worked.

Then we came onto the Sea Urchin. I’ve never eaten sea urchin before so I can’t say with any certainty if the flavour was right or not. What I can say is that it had a texture similar to what I’d imagine cold raw liver has and a very bitter and strongly fishy flavour. Neither of us was keen on this dish but we chalked it up to not being to our taste rather than there being something wrong with the dish itself. The dish wasn’t so bad that we felt unable to eat it. The dish came covered in some kind of (flavourless) foam that meant there was a lot of liquid left when we’d finished.

The next dish, the prawn, was only partially cooked, had slimy bits at the head end and, again, had a strong fishy flavour. Whilst shellfish can be eaten raw it needs to be very fresh. This prawn wasn’t fresh. I regret not complaining at this point but the portions on a tasting menu are so small that there is really only one mouthful and, by the time you’ve decided it’s not good, you’ve already eaten it. The prawn was served with a lot of foam meaning there was a lot of liquid left over at the end.

Then we had the goat’s cheese dumplings. These were quite nice. However the morels served with it had almost no flavour and were very coarsely cut. The dish was served on a bed of spinach and again covered by yet another foam. This, both the excess water from the spinach and the foam, meant that the dumplings were soggy and disintegrating.

Our next, and as it turns out final, course was a scallop and blood pudding (black pudding). Again this should have been very nice. The scallop had slightly too strong a flavour for a scallop indicating that it wasn’t as fresh as it could have been but the entire dish was covered with yet another flavourless foam that had soaked into the blood pouring turning it into a mush.

At this point we decided to cut our losses and leave.

The bill for dinner was € 135. The cost for the breakfast should have been € 38 however, when we spoke to Bernard on reception, the € 38 was taken off our bill. Needless to say we didn’t tip!

The hotel itself is very good but the food from its restaurant is poor to unacceptable. I would return to the hotel without question but tell anyone to avoid its restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pnhmrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear pnhmrk,

we read your review attentively and are very surprised to read about your experience and your disappointment. We are sorry that we did not inspire you. We assure you that we attach great importance to the quality of our dishes and service, since we aim to offer our guests a great culinary experience.

Your review has already been passed internally and the colleagues have already talked to each other and will define the wording of the concept, in order to ensure an exact explanation to prevent misunderstandings.

We are glad that you fully enjoyed your Hotel experience and hope to receive a further opportunity to also convince you about our restaurant menu, during your next visit.

In the meantime, we remain,
with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Booked into the restaurant as it is located in the hotel we were staying in and we both wanted to experience fine dinning.
The restaurant which is located on the 12th floor has amazing views over the city which sadly for us was as good as the evening got. We both opted for 5 courses of the Fusion menu expecting to be wowed with the food and the taste alas this was not the case.
Maybe our pallet's are not tuned into gastro food but we both found the scallop first course bland, uninspiring and very small. 2nd course of sea urchin was again so small and had such a predominant taste of mojito that we felt it overpowered the dish.
3rd course of the Gakician lobster was an improvement although again the lemongrass overpowered the dish and portion of lobster was more the size of a prawn. 4th course of the duet of organic beef was again an improvement and was tasty although my wife did state that it tasted very much like a meal that I cook at home and she was expecting more.
The final dessert course of Churros was ok just again very small.
To summarise we decided not to stay for coffee as we wished to return to our room and find something to eat as we were both still hungry (admitably I am not a small person but I do tend to only eat a small meal in the evening and these 5 courses were very small).
We did not expect to pay 200 euros for a meal that left us both still hungry and disappointed, this put a dampener on our last night in Vienna after some lovely meals. Would I recommend in one word NO although it will surely suit others if you are in to Arty Farty very small portions at a ridiculous price

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Alan L,

Thank you for informing us about your impressions. We are sorry that despite enjoying a great stay at our Hotel Am Parkring, our Restaurant Das Schick could not thrill you equally.

We already passed your remarks internally and noticed your points. We assure you that we will continue to do our best to offer a memorable visit to all our guests and will be creating special menus and dishes from the Austrian/Spain connection in future as well.

We regret that this time we couldn’t convince you and see your rating, as a further incentive for our quality and service consciousness.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Das Schick also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Das Schick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing