We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, delightful rooms.”
Review of Sonnenhof Igls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonnenhof Igls
Ranked #29 of 72 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I stayed here for 1 night as part of my European motorcycle tour. Plenty of free safe parking was available. The rooms were clean and roomy and all had balconies with stunning views. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast in the morning was fine. A good clean hotel which I would recommend to all types of travellers.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank rammysid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

I was very disappointed by this hotel; I expected so much more.
It is true that we spend one night only there, but I found the place so "cold"; very different from what I expected.
The view is pretty awesome! But that is all.
The room is very basic with no minibar. And the bathroom is extremely small.
So, it was okay for one night, but I do not expect to come back.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ludmila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alois h, Geschäftsführer at Sonnenhof Igls, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear Mrs. Ludmila,

thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are very disappointed to hear that our b&b house was not to your satisfaction.
As we have seen at your one night stay, that you have choosen our standard room. As you might know, we have more room types available like superior rooms, three bedde rooms and apartments as well. Of course these rooms are larger and offer more space and a little bit more expensive.

Moreover, as you have not enjoy our breakfast buffet, you have not seen our whole range of service. Due to a majority of regular guests and other international satisfied clients we can fully assure that our family and our staff take all feedback very seriously and feedback will help us improve for our next guest.

I do hope that you give us another try in the future (maybe in a larger room in advance) so we can restore your faith within our hotel.

Kind regards, family Hofbauer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We booked through hotels.com and found when we arrived that had we booked directly with the hotel, breakfast would have been included for the same price.

When I arrived I was VERY disappointed with the view of low hills in the distance with low hanging clouds. When I woke the next morning the Alps were protruding ABOVE the low hanging clouds. It was gorgeous.

We had a superior double and it was huge and very comfortable with the exception of no AC. I think this is common in most of the the guest houses here. If you want AC you probably need to stay in one of the big hotels. It would have been needed very little as there was usually a breeze with the door to the porch open. A fan would have been nice for the hot days. We slept with the door to the porch open every night.

The bus into Innsbruck is VERY convenient but having a car to go to the small surrounding towns is optimal. Stores are in walking distance. Igls restaurants in walking distance are more expensive then the 2 well rated in Lans - the next town which we really liked.

Internet was great at times and at times too weak or would disconnect. Unpredictable

ONLY soap supply in bathroom was a container of liquid soap at the sink. No soap in the shower, no shampoo , water pressure in shower was fine most of the time with very weak pressure once.

Rooms were very clean and well kept.

Older man doesn't speak English and can seem aloof because of that. (I feel guilty for not knowing his language!)

We enjoyed clear sunny weather every day of the 5 we were there in site of the fact that the forecast said rain every day!

If you found this review helpful, please not so below. I appreciate it when others remind me to do so.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jroihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We choose this hotel using TA. It is located in Igls a suburb of Innsbruck and is about 10 to15 minutes from downtown. It was a very picturesque village that is at the base of a ski lift and probably gets quite busy in the winter season. Our room was large, nicely furnished with a very nice bathroom. The room was very clean. There was a balcony with a nice view of the mountains. You could walk to the business area. The staff was helpful with luggage as there is no lift. The staff also made an excellent dinner suggestion, The breakfast is a full European style at a reasonable price. We were treated very fairly regarding a no show night with the hotel only charging for their out of pocket expenses for the booking agency when they could have charged the entire room charge.

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

We Had a great time at Sonnenhof Igls..The view from the room was breathtaking.
Rooms were spacious,clean,very well maintained and bright.
Breakfast was delicious.Host Mr.Thomas,was very warm and friendly.
We would surely and strongly recommend this place..
PS.. Its a great Idea to explore Igls by E bikes which are rented out at tourist information centre.Igls had very nice bike hiking trails.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rajneesh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
2.8 km away
Baerenwirth - Hotel
Baerenwirth - Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patsch
154 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel Heimgartl
Hotel Heimgartl
#30 of 72 in Innsbruck
177 reviews
0.4 km away
Bon Alpina
Bon Alpina
#25 of 72 in Innsbruck
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Gruberhof
Hotel Gruberhof
#41 of 72 in Innsbruck
209 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Eagles Inn
Hotel Eagles Inn
#32 of 72 in Innsbruck
166 reviews
3.8 km away
Ibis Innsbruck
Ibis Innsbruck
#11 of 72 in Innsbruck
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenhof Igls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenhof Igls

Address: Fernkreuzweg 16, Innsbruck 6080, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Innsbruck
#5 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
#7 Best Value Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range: €87 - €121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonnenhof Igls 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family run bed&breakfast hotel. Just 10min away from the center of Innsbruck. Free Wi-fi and parking available. Nice house on a sunny plateau above Innsbruck in the Tyrolean mountains. Equipped with comfortable rooms, apartments and breakfast buffet. All rooms have balcony, flat TV and panoramic view. Just 3 min to the next busstop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonnenhof Igls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenhof Igls Hotel Igls
Sonnenhof Hotel Igls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing