We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and a great choice for Innsbruck”
Review of Sporthotel Igls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sporthotel Igls
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Innsbruck
Reviewed 30 September 2017

This is a lovely hotel, set in a village up the Patscherkofel mountain, opposite Innsbruck. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable and there is a very pleasant on site spa. There are wonderful views from most rooms and the décor is modern Austrian.
The only thing it fell down on was the food. We were on an Inghams package, something we’ve not done for many years, as we travel there independently. In previous hotels we have stayed in, a menu was presented at breakfast from which we chose our evening meal. And that’s the operative word, CHOSE. There was usually a choice of two mains plus a vegetarian dish.

The Sporthotel is supposed to be renowned for its food. Well, maybe in its small restaurant where there is a normal menu. We came down each morning to see a notice at reception telling us what we were eating that evening. NO choice at all!
I realise we were on a package, but on a few nights we had to do without a main course at all. Another surprising thing was serving beef soup followed by pork, a strange combination!
Having said this, the food was presented well and was of good quality, as expected. It was just the lack of any choice that was so disappointing. A welcome extra was a daily packed lunch, which was really helpful on our long car journeys.
The one thing that this trip did was to confirm that we won’t be doing any half board packages again!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel, a new well-equipped, clean, spacious room, a balcony with a nice view, comfortable parking, good breakfasts, a small pool (for my wife and child's taste the water was a little cold), close to a bus stop from Innsbruck every 10 minutes A quarter of an hour, close to Innsbruck and other attractions,
Very nice, friendly and helpful team!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Just returned from a fantastic week in the Sporthotel Igls. The hotel was built in the late 1800's and is a lovely building. The decor is very Austrian and quite quirky. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable and all slightly different. We had a great view from the window of Patscherkofel, the local mountain. The food was plentiful and Austrian so we tried things we hadn't eaten before and familiar things presented and eaten in a less familiar way. It was all beautifully presented by friendly, helpful staff. If you are looking for fish and chips this is not the place for you but if you want to try local food it is. We enjoyed the new tastes very much. We went half board but could order, for free, a packed lunch everyday. This was a roll with either ham or cheese, a biscuit, bottle of water and an apple. After an enormous breakfast and before a 5 course evening meal, it was plenty! The staff were mostly dressed in traditional dress which was charming and in no way gimmicky. The small town of Igls is lovely and very well situated for easy access to the beautiful city of Innsbruck, 3km away.Buses run very regularly and the cable car to Patscherkofel is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanne1086376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I couldn't get a room so stayed elsewhere, but decide to dine outside at the eating/drinking tables, watching the world go by. The Wiener Schitzel was magnificent with a beer and in the late afternoon sun, it was a great place to see what Austrians get up to,as Igls is not strongly populated by tourists.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Stayed here for a week in August with Inghams. I was very pleased with the hotel and the staff could not be more helpful. I had a single room with no supplement but it was larger than some doubles I have stayed in with a lovely view over the valley from the balcony. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The 20m indoor pool and spa were also very good. Unlike some hotels you have access to the spa free of charge every day after 7pm. There was also a sunbathing area in the garden by the pool with lots of sun loungers which was just the ticket after a hard days walking. The meals were typical Austrian fare with a self service breakfast with eggs to order and a five course meal in the evening. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms but that is apparently the standard in Austria. Excellent transport links to Innsbruck via bus or tram. Free guided walks are available from the tourist information shop just outside the hotel. They even provide a free coach service to the start of some walks. Packed lunches were provided every day consisting of a ham roll, chocolate biscuit, an apple and a bottle of water. Coffee was free with the breakfast but for some reason not with the evening meal. On arrival you are given a guest card which gives you free travel on local buses and reduced fares on the lifts and some other attractions such as Laner See, the local lake which you can swim in if you don't mid sharing it with the 3ft long carp! I wanted to stay another week but the hotel was fully booked. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and I hope to return again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 2 and 3 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starrider569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Innsbruck
0.1 km away
Bon Alpina
Bon Alpina
#24 of 72 in Innsbruck
325 reviews
13 km away
Tyrolis Hotel
Tyrolis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zirl
170 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Grauer Bar
Hotel Grauer Bar
#17 of 72 in Innsbruck
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#8 of 72 in Innsbruck
1,372 reviews
2.9 km away
Baerenwirth - Hotel
Baerenwirth - Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patsch
154 reviews
5 km away
Penz Hotel West
Penz Hotel West
#18 of 72 in Innsbruck
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Igls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Igls

Address: Hilberstrasse 17, Innsbruck 6080, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
#16 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range: €95 - €241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Igls 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sporthotel Igls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Igls Hotel Igls
Sporthotel Hotel Igls
Igls Sporthotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing