We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ribs I've ever had”
Review of Pitterkeller

Pitterkeller
Ranked #73 of 725 Restaurants in Salzburg
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The PitterKeller, a traditional rustic beer cellar, is a popular meeting place for inhabitants and guests of the city. The regional Salzburger delicacies and over 30 different local and international beer varieties offer a rich selection. From Tuesday to Friday the PitterKeller offers its guests a 2-course lunch menu for € 7.90. The PitterKeller is ideally located only a few steps from the congress center and the Mirabell Palace as well as only 10 minutes on foot from the old town center. The PitterKeller restaurant is located in the basement of the IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg and is accessible by a elevator. It is one of the oldest beer cellars in Salzburg, so don't miss it.
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Pitterkeller is truly a gem of a cozy and satisfying restaurant. The atmosphere is very relaxing with a decor that is quite lovely. The selection of beers are second to none and you will not leave unsatisfied on that front.

If you are a fan of ribs, I cannot recommend Pitterkeller enough as their ribs were some of the tastiest I've ever had. They served them with a sauce on the side but to be quite honest the sauce is completely unnecessary as the seasoning they use is without a doubt the best seasoning I've ever had on ribs. The schnitzel is satisfying enough, though I honestly cannot say that I've found a tremendous difference between one place and another in Austria.

If you're in Salzburg, definitely give them a try. The beer is fantastic, the food is excellent, and the price is also just right.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Craig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMLAUER_Hotels, Manager at Pitterkeller, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear Craig,
Now this is a great feedback. Thank you a lot. I am very delighted about your praises on our delicious ribs. It is a real pleasure to read your review and I am glad you liked the style of the restaurant, the food and also the beer as well. Thank you for recommending us to other guests, this is a huge compliment to us.
We hope that we may welcome you again.

With best regards,
Thomas Imlauer, F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2016

We had dinner in this nice place and it was pretty legit. The restaurant looks very traditional and the food was delicious. We had a little misunderstanding with the waitress but it was promptly solved.

Thank dindon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMLAUER_Hotels, Manager at Pitterkeller, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear dindon85,
Thank you for your very good feedback. You’re right, it is a traditional pub/restaurant with traditional Austrian food. I am sorry to hear that you had some misunderstanding with the waitress, but glad to hear that everything worked out fine. Thank you for your compliment about the delicious meals.

With best regtards,
Thomas Imlauer, F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

This restaurant is located in the basement of the crowne plaza hotel and the interior is very cozy, with lot of woods and traditional furnitures. The waiters can speak a very good english and they all are very polite. We tool a wiener snitzel (too expensive in my opinion) and a bratwurst that was good.

Thank stebigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMLAUER_Hotels, Manager at Pitterkeller, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear stebigs,
thank you very much for your feedback. The PitterKeller is a typical Austrian pub with traditional Austrian food and a great choice of beer. It is good to hear that you enjoyed it and found it nice and cozy. Thank you for your kind compliments to our staff.
It would be great to see you again.

With best ragards,
Thomas Imlauer, F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Nice atmosphere, the only thing missing was the music. Waiters are nice and very professional and speak many languages!
Will come again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maja33Maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMLAUER_Marketing, Manager at Pitterkeller, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2015

Dear Maja33Maja,
thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you liked the food and the atmosphere and want to visit us again. This is indeed a very great compliment. I am sorry to say, but we have no live music in the restaurant. But we will take you suggestion and maybe someday we will put it into effect.
Thank you that you have been our guest. We would be very happy to welcome you again.

With Christmas Greetings,
Thomas Imlauer, F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015

What a pleasant surprise , to find The Pitter restaurant in our hotel (Crowne Plaza Salzburg) , which served pork knuckles potatoes and sauerkraut. My husband and I had dinner in Pitter which offered traditional Austrian foods .

Thank Porter120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMLAUER_Marketing, Manager at Pitterkeller, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2015

Dear Porter120,
Thank you for this great review. It is nice to hear that you had an excellent evening and enjoyed your meals. The PitterKeller offers the unique atmosphere of a typical Austrian pub together with traditional Austrian food and a wide selection of beer. Thank you that you have been our guest.

With Christmas Greetings,
Thomas Imlauer, F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pitterkeller also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Pitterkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing