We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with a car”
Review of Hotel Turnerwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Turnerwirt
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 3 September 2017

It is located away from the old town so you need to either drive or take a bus which stops in front of the hotel. The bus ride is only 10 minutes away. We took the bus and found it very easy to use. You can buy the tickets in the hotel. Parking is free and onsite. There is a grocery store which is about a 5 minute walk and at least one restaurant (traditional food) which was about a 10-15 minute walk away. Breakfast is not included and cost 9.50 Euros. The rooms was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The negative things about this hotel is that all the double rooms are in front on the street which is quite busy starting early in the morning so it is a bit noisy. Also, the windows don't open very wide so it was hard to get any air in the room so it was quite warm.

Room Tip: double rooms are in the front on the street which is very busy so it is quite noisy with the traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zippy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is surely a great choice if you are coming to Salzburg via car. We stayed in a good 4 bed room in the small tower of the "Villa" building close to the main building. Bed were comfortable. Bathroom quite small though. Parking is wide and can be used after checking out. Bus stop right in front of the hotel (10 minutes to city centre). We did not try the breakfast, too expensive. All in all an excellent location.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank maxlrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Clean, simple charming hotel in a quiet part on the outskirts of this wonderful city. We had a family room for two nights which was ok for us. My daughter liked the kids playroom downstairs off reception which was equipped with a playstation, board games, puzzles etc. Austrian breakfast was ok and reception staff helpful. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel to get about and tickets can be purchased from reception, also car parking on the hotel grounds is free.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Positive: This hotel is very traditional and optimal for an authentic stay in Austria. The hotel is clean and has a good location, you can walk to the city centre or hop on the bus which goes directly from the door of the hotel. Our room was with Alp-View and beautiful!

Negative: The bathroom was a little bit too old fashioned and it could get a refreshment. The staff is nice but not really helpful. Even if we are very independent travellers we asked for a nice place to hike or for a nice view and he gave us just a prospect with sightseeing tours which was not what we wanted...
In the end, we just hopped on the bus and hopped out where we thought it would be nice and it worked out. But just because we did it ourselves and not with any help from the reception guy.
Breakfast was OK but not a hit and we had to pay 9.50€ each which was a bit too much for just warmed bread and eggs.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gold_stuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We thought the Hotel Turnerwirt was a very cute and charming hotel. It is not fancy, but with an Austrian charm to it. It is in a quiet neighborhood on the foot of a small mountain. It is on a bus route, and very easy to get to old town, and to Mirabell gardens. The beds and bedding were quite comfortable. The bathroom in the hotel room had been remodeled recently it seemed and was modern, and very functional. It had a good shower. We borrowed a fan from the front desk as we stayed there during a bit of a heat wave. The staff was friendly and helpful, although one of the front desk people couldn't understand why my son and my husband would want to hike up a mountain when they could take the bus to the top, and wouldn't really help to explain to them how to get to the hiking path. The breakfast was good, but a bit overpriced in my opinion. You can buy transportation passes at the front desk. Overall, a very good stay!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hilarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.9 km away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
1.8 km away
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ibis Salzburg Nord
#51 of 132 in Salzburg
784 reviews
4.2 km away
Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 km away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
10 km away
Hotel Restaurant Kaiserhof
Hotel Restaurant Kaiserhof
#65 of 132 in Salzburg
117 reviews
2.1 km away
Pension Jahn
Pension Jahn
#52 of 132 in Salzburg
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turnerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turnerwirt

Address: Linzer Bundesstrasse 54, Salzburg 5023, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: €46 - €110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turnerwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Turnerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Turnerwirt Salzburg
Gasthof Turnerwirt Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing