We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What pizza is to Pizza Hut is steak to Maredo”

MAREDO Steakhouse Salzburg
Ranked #209 of 736 Restaurants in Salzburg
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Cuisines: Argentinian, Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 27 August 2018

You would certainly have your portion of meat if you are in Maredo. The restaurant is spacious. Somehow the setting reminds me of Pizza Hut, simply one is for the pizza, while the other for steak. But the principle is similar.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynnushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAREDO-Steakhouse, Manager at MAREDO Steakhouse Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Lynnushka

Thank you very much for your feedback and rating.

It is very important to us that our guests are 100 % satisfied with our food and service. If there is anything we could improve, please let us know and send a message to feedback@maredo.com

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Your MAREDO-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

But it isn't anymore. The staff was civil but not particularly friendly.
We ordered a salad and a steak, the salad had the wrong dressing, which contained milk and would have triggered a rather bad response if eaten, and the stake was much too well done. It took a while to flag a waiter down because they were standing around in a gaggle at the back of the restaurant chatting. Upon pointing out the steak was too well done, more so than I'd ordered, instead of issuing an apology I was told that the steak was meant to be that way and obviously I didn't know what I'd ordered. Not the right attitude for my taste at all.
Walking by the salad baron the way in, the half eaten and partially dried up veggies didn't look appetising at all. I don't know what happened. We've been here countless times before, this was our first visit in something like 2 years. Before it used to be a great place, a sure fire way to finish the day of with a nice meal overlooking the river, quality food for a decent price. I've had the salad from the salad bar before too and it was fresh and delicious and the steaks were juice and perfect. Not sure we'll be coming back.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Missbythebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAREDO-Steakhouse, Manager at MAREDO Steakhouse Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Missbythebook

Thank you for your detailed response.

When it comes to our food, we do not make any compromises and always rely on top quality. Our chefs prepare all of our steaks freshly without exception. We very sorry that this time both our food and service disappointed you. We can assure you that this was not intended at all and therefore, we would like to apologize.

We would like to clarify this incident with our staff. Please send a message to feedback@maredo.com and tell us on what day and what time you visited our restaurant.

As for our salad bar: We focus on offering the highest quality-freshness. We can assure you that we regularly check our salad bar and exchange ingredients, which no longer meet our high standards. In case we have missed something, do not hesitate to contact our staff immediately so that we can resolve the problem as quickly as possible.

We'd really appreciate it if you gave us a second chance!

Kind regards,
Your MAREDO-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Spied an outdoor sign advertising an all you can eat salad buffet at Maredo on the main walking street in Salzburg. At lunch time, on inspection, the salad looked like a good deal so following an afternoon spent exploring returned for an evening meal. The SAME salad had wilted, the bowls were half full and after an entire day on display the good deal had become a ’no deal’ ...ended up ordering chicken breast and chips. All that glitters is not gold!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAREDO-Steakhouse, Manager at MAREDO Steakhouse Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Janet G

Thank you for your detailed response.

We are sorry that our salad bar disappointed you. We can assure you that we set greatest value upon quality and freshness and regularly check our salad bar for completeness. Needless to say, we exchange ingredients that no longer meet the requirements. In case we have missed something, do not hesitate to contact our staff immediately so that we can resolve the problem as quickly as possible.

We'd really appreciate it if you gave us a second chance!

Kind regards,
Your MAREDO-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We were looking for a restaurant that served something other than traditional Austrian food and thought this restaurant might be a good choice. We should have been warned when we noticed there were very few diners. It appeared that a waitress and the manager were in a discussion and we waited, and waited. She finally came to take our drink order and seemed a little put out that we were not ordering beer. She went back and OBVIOUSLY discussed us with the manager (looking frequently at us). We finally got our drinks and ordered from a VERY pricey menu. The food was very bland and certainly not worth what we paid. We watched the waitress and manager appear to make fun of several couples that entered. It was so obvious that we were shocked at their attitudes. Truly, this was the worst restaurant in our whole European trip. Avoid this place!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Showme_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAREDO-Steakhouse, Manager at MAREDO Steakhouse Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Showme_10

Thank you for your detailed response. Satisfied customers are the base of our success. Therefore, we are willing to undertake all efforts to ensure that you are satisfied with us on your next visit.

When it comes to our food, we do not make any compromises and always rely on top quality. We place great value on the choice and preparation of our meat. Both is subject to high quality standards, which we strictly comply with. We do not make any compromises in this regard. And top-class quality has its price. Should you ever be dissatisfied, please contact our staff immediately. Usually, we can solve this problem quickly and straightforwardly to your satisfaction.

We are sorry that our service disappointed you. We can assure you that this was not intended at all and therefore, we would like to apologize. We would like to clarify this incident with our staff. Please send a message to feedback@maredo.com and tell us on what day and what time you visited our restaurant.

We'd really appreciate it if you gave us a second chance!

Kind regards,
Your MAREDO-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

On may 17, during my 61 birthday we entered the Maredo Steakhouse restaurant (4 couples)
The food was very poor but the price was very nice - €300

The moment we left the restaurant & passed the exit door I noticed I forgot my mobile phone on the table.

It was a matter of 1-2 minutes not more then that we entered back into the restaurant.

The waiter treated us, a lady named Maya was cleaning the table but the phone was not on the table.

She denied taking the mobile phone but at the same time she stopped cleaning the table & went into the kitchen.

We tried to talk to her but without success.

For us it was very clear she took the mobile phone.

We recomend not to go to this restaurant - there are a lot of better ones in this region.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank sami557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAREDO-Steakhouse, Manager at MAREDO Steakhouse Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear שמואל ש

Please be careful with such serious and at the same time baseless accusations, otherwise we have to take legal action. If someone of our guests forgets something in our restaurant, we always store this for him or her.

With kind regards

Your MAREDO-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MAREDO Steakhouse Salzburg also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Hallwang, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to MAREDO Steakhouse Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing