We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, helpful owner, comfortable accommodations”
Review of Pension Katrin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Katrin
Ranked #8 of 63 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2016

10 minute bus ride from the train station, with bus stop close by; very helpful owner, that had wonderful restaurant choices on request; easy walk to old part of town (in other words, the part that you want to visit), or more strenuous, easily accessible walk uphill to the castle; satisfactory (albeit simple) breakfast, and nice size, basic, but very comfortable room, with ample hot water. Just a one night stay; very pleasant.

Room Tip: During the day (and at least through mid-evening), there is frequent (and close by) bus service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CharlieinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra T, Inhaber at Pension Katrin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear Charliein Texas, we enjoy to hear that you had a good stay in Salzburg and liked the location and service of our B&B as well as the way we deal with our guests - thank you for your good review!! Kind regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2015

Our family of 7 stayed 3 nights at Pension Katrin. This great find has a great location, is spotlessly clean, and Sandra is a most helpful host (directions, dinner reservations, etc.). We had a family room for my husband and me with our 2 children, and a double room for the grandparents, and a single room for our single traveler. The beds were comfortable and the rooms had lots of outlets which came in handy each evening to charge all our cameras, phones, etc. We celebrated my son's birthday and Sandra even provided birthday candles for us. She also made a phone call and saved us a trip to a place we were thinking of going that happened not be be open. We didn't ask her to, but this is the kind of host she is, thinking of what will help her guests out. I would highly recommend this place for your next stay in Salzburg.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OurEdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra T, Inhaber at Pension Katrin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2015

Dear Dianne, I am delighted to read your positive feedback about your recent stay at Pension Katrin and your recommendation to others - thank you! It was a pleasure to host your lovely family at our B&B and I hope you have enjoyed your further journey. Kind regards from Salzburg, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Just what we needed. Following a 6 hour drive from Budapest, we were happy that this place was 'as advertized'. In fact, a bit better. We received a very friendly welcome upon check in, nice large and clean room and very quiet too, even though our room faced the road. Breakfast was simple but plentiful. Only stayed one night, but based upon our experience, would definitely recommend this pension. For those who are not quite sure, a 'pension' is not a B&B but rather more like a small family run hotel.
Hope you found this helpful!

Room Tip: From the front of the hotel, we could see the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy_Edit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra T, Inhaber at Pension Katrin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2015

Dear Andy_Edit, thank you for writing such a positive review about your overnight in Pension Katrin - nice to hear that you liked staying with us during your short trip. Whenever you return to Salzburg we would be delighted to host you again! Best regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

The actual experience at Pension Katrin actually far exceeded the glowing reviews we read prior to booking. Sandra is the perfect hostess and her facility is simply lovely. We were welcomed immediately with every need met at once. Our room was convenient, clean, and comfortable with a fully stocked mini-bar; the butter yellow leather chair quite accommodating. Breakfasts were delicious and enjoyed in the glass enclosed nook. My Kindle's wifi was not working and Sandra allowed me use of her IPad so that I could email home. Pension Katrin is a great value and perfect choice to stay in Salzburg. It is close to the old town and on a bus route. Sandra recommended a local restaurant for an authentic Austrian dinner that is memorable and we had a fantastic meal at the Italian restaurant next to the pension. We would book again at Pension Katrin when back in Salzburg. Thank you, Sandra, for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Imadrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra T, Inhaber at Pension Katrin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2015

Dear Imadrone, with big pleasure I read your great review and want to say "Thank you so much!".
I am satisfied that you liked the stay in our house and my way being a hostess as well as the restaurant recommodations I gave you. I enjoyed hosting you and your mother at Pension Katrin - see you next time in Salzburg! Kind regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Sandra was so sweet and helpful. The room was all we needed. Breakfast was terrific and location was plenty close to old town. Can't be the price. Will stay here again. Loved Salzburg and heavily used the Salzburg card for 48 hours. Made it easy to pop into things without worrying whether it was worth the money.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Willie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra T, Inhaber at Pension Katrin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

Dear Willie K, thanks a lot for your positive feedback - really appreciate that. We enjoyed hosting you and wish you a nice further journey in Austria! Kind regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,070 reviews
1.4 km away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.9 km away
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
#15 of 63 in Salzburg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau
1.6 km away
HAUS ARENBERG
HAUS ARENBERG
#9 of 63 in Salzburg
147 reviews
1.5 km away
B&B Villaverde
B&B Villaverde
#2 of 63 in Salzburg
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Katrin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Katrin

Address: Nonntaler Hauptstrasse 49/B, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range: €116 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Katrin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If relaxing in a familial atmosphere, genuine hospitality and a cosy setting are just as important to you as they are to us, then you have come to the right place! Our optimal location on the edge of Salzburg’s Old Town as well as the nearby greenbelt makes our B&B the ideal starting point, whether you’re off on a rambling city tour with cultural activities or you prefer excursions in the surrounding area. Our homey and family-run bed and breakfast is located on the southern edge of the Old Town in Nonntal, one of the most beautiful and greenest neighbourhoods in Salzburg. It’s just a 10-minute (1-km) walk from Pension Katrin to the pedestrian zone in the city centre. Enjoy the short stroll through historic Nonntal as you head toward the City of Mozart’s main attractions. We have ten rooms – all situated on the first and second floors (no elevator). They are tastefully decorated with high-quality fabrics and carpeting and handcrafted furniture to ensure a homely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Katrin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing