We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
139
24
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
24
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus minute walk walking distance from the city center convenient place to stay old town salzburg card definitely stay here again breakfast was delicious no elevator comfortable stay every morning quiet at night the breakfast area mini bar an easy walk junior suite fortress
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Our family of 7 stayed 3 nights at Pension Katrin. This great find has a great location, is spotlessly clean, and Sandra is a most helpful host (directions, dinner reservations, etc.). We had a family room for my husband and me with our 2 children, and a double room for the grandparents, and a single room for our single traveler. The beds were comfortable and the rooms had lots of outlets which came in handy each evening to charge all our cameras, phones, etc. We celebrated my son's birthday and Sandra even provided birthday candles for us. She also made a phone call and saved us a trip to a place we were thinking of going that happened not be be open. We didn't ask her to, but this is the kind of host she is, thinking of what will help her guests out. I would highly recommend this place for your next stay in Salzburg.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OurEdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra T, Inhaber at Pension Katrin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2015

Dear Dianne, I am delighted to read your positive feedback about your recent stay at Pension Katrin and your recommendation to others - thank you! It was a pleasure to host your lovely family at our B&B and I hope you have enjoyed your further journey. Kind regards from Salzburg, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Just what we needed. Following a 6 hour drive from Budapest, we were happy that this place was 'as advertized'. In fact, a bit better. We received a very friendly welcome upon check in, nice large and clean room and very quiet too, even though our room faced the road. Breakfast was simple but plentiful. Only stayed one night, but based upon our experience, would definitely recommend this pension. For those who are not quite sure, a 'pension' is not a B&B but rather more like a small family run hotel.
Hope you found this helpful!

Room Tip: From the front of the hotel, we could see the castle.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy_Edit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra T, Inhaber at Pension Katrin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2015

Dear Andy_Edit, thank you for writing such a positive review about your overnight in Pension Katrin - nice to hear that you liked staying with us during your short trip. Whenever you return to Salzburg we would be delighted to host you again! Best regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

The actual experience at Pension Katrin actually far exceeded the glowing reviews we read prior to booking. Sandra is the perfect hostess and her facility is simply lovely. We were welcomed immediately with every need met at once. Our room was convenient, clean, and comfortable with a fully stocked mini-bar; the butter yellow leather chair quite accommodating. Breakfasts were delicious and enjoyed in the glass enclosed nook. My Kindle's wifi was not working and Sandra allowed me use of her IPad so that I could email home. Pension Katrin is a great value and perfect choice to stay in Salzburg. It is close to the old town and on a bus route. Sandra recommended a local restaurant for an authentic Austrian dinner that is memorable and we had a fantastic meal at the Italian restaurant next to the pension. We would book again at Pension Katrin when back in Salzburg. Thank you, Sandra, for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Imadrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra T, Inhaber at Pension Katrin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2015

Dear Imadrone, with big pleasure I read your great review and want to say "Thank you so much!".
I am satisfied that you liked the stay in our house and my way being a hostess as well as the restaurant recommodations I gave you. I enjoyed hosting you and your mother at Pension Katrin - see you next time in Salzburg! Kind regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Sandra was so sweet and helpful. The room was all we needed. Breakfast was terrific and location was plenty close to old town. Can't be the price. Will stay here again. Loved Salzburg and heavily used the Salzburg card for 48 hours. Made it easy to pop into things without worrying whether it was worth the money.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Willie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra T, Inhaber at Pension Katrin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

Dear Willie K, thanks a lot for your positive feedback - really appreciate that. We enjoyed hosting you and wish you a nice further journey in Austria! Kind regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Pension Katrin was the perfect spot to stay on our visit to Salzburg. It is a short walk to Salzburg Old Town and had parking for our car. Sandra was very friendly and helpful when we asked our many questions and helped us with driving directions to visit Eagles Nest. The breakfast had plenty of fresh bread, meats, cheeses, fruits, cereals coffee, tea, and freshly baked cake (I know because I could smell it baking). The room and bathroom was clean, quiet and comfortable with good wifi. We would definitely stay at Pension Katrin again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra T, Inhaber at Pension Katrin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Dear Carlie F, we very much enjoy reading that you spent a good time in Salzburg and Pension Katrin. We thank you for writing a review and we hope to welcome you again with us someday in the future! Kind regards, Sandra Terler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews