We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Week”
Review of Pension Katrin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Katrin
Ranked #9 of 62 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Pension Katrin is a charming home close to Old Town but away from the center of town. Our room overlooking the front garden was spacious with a love seat and a small desk. The bed was excellent and the bathroom convenient. The owner, always greeted us with a smile, and was interested in learning about our adventures. She efficiently booked tours and arranged transportation.

The nearby Italian restaurant is excellent. When we ordered too much food at lunchtime, we brought the left-overs back and they were refrigerated and reheated for our dinner, making us feel like family. Pension Katrin was one of the high points of our month long rail trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra T, Inhaber at Pension Katrin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for your fabulous review - it is really nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our B&B. Would be a great pleasure to welcome you with us again during your next trip to Europe sometimes in the future! Best regards from Salzburg, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in 2012 and I'd book it again in a heartbeat. First off.... when we travel we look for clean and affordable. If you're looking for all the frills of a Hilton then you probably didn't sort from lowest priced to highest and aren't even reading this. So, for those of you looking for cheap, clean, great location, nice/helpful staff, and relatively quiet, then this is your place. I reviewed it 5-stars because of it's value. We all know what we're looking for when we search for something in this price range and this place supplies that and more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DustinLee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have not completed our stay at this delightful b&b yet but I want to let everyone know just how wonderful it is. We have two rooms, the bedroom and a sitting room with a small balcony overlooking a residential area, big bathroom even with a bathtub! We have paid more and gotten less in many places. This place is just beautiful and less than a minute from the bus stop for 5 minute trip into town. The hostess could not be nicer or more helpful. One of the reasons we prefer b&b's over hotels is the personal touch of the staff. This hostess definitely has the magic touch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was one of the nicest places I've been recently.

Perfectly situated at a 10 minutes walk from the old center, this pension has something that all pensions should have (as opposed to hotels) - personality. It's warm, cozy and the personnel is great. Although it sits right on a main street there's not much noise to be heard at night, apart from one or two cars passing by. The comfy beds and tasty breakfast complete the whole experience, one that will make you remember Salzburg for more than the sights.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel_Platon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We just stayed recently with our two children, and this was really the perfect spot. We had a family room, with had a room for the parents on one side, a sitting room with a large pullout couch for the kids, and a bathroom in between. The beds were comfortable, the blankets were cozy, and everyone slept well (an essential when traveling with a 7 & 9 YO). I was able to purchase the Salzburg Card right at the front desk, and when we didn't have the cash on us, she simply gave us the cards and we brought the money later, enabling us to get an early start on sightseeing. It's a short walk into the old part of the city (10-15 minutes at most), and just a few steps to the bus stop. If you get the Salzburg Card you are able to ride public transit for free, which is really easy. The breakfasts were substantial, with coffee, assorted breads, cheeses, meats, yogurts, cereal, and fruit. Wi-fi was free and quite good -- a pleasant change from so many places we've stayed. There was even free parking for the car. All in all, it was a wonderful stay. Salzburg is a nice city to visit, but this pension really made the difference. And there's an Italian Restaurant just down the street where we had a couple of good meals as well, when you're tired of brats and potatoes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmaMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,068 reviews
1.4 km away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
4.1 km away
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau
0.9 km away
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
#15 of 62 in Salzburg
89 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Weisse Taube
Hotel Weisse Taube
#5 of 62 in Salzburg
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Katrin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Katrin

Address: Nonntaler Hauptstrasse 49/B, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range: €115 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Katrin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If relaxing in a familial atmosphere, genuine hospitality and a cosy setting are just as important to you as they are to us, then you have come to the right place! Our optimal location on the edge of Salzburg’s Old Town as well as the nearby greenbelt makes our B&B the ideal starting point, whether you’re off on a rambling city tour with cultural activities or you prefer excursions in the surrounding area. Our homey and family-run bed and breakfast is located on the southern edge of the Old Town in Nonntal, one of the most beautiful and greenest neighbourhoods in Salzburg. It’s just a 10-minute (1-km) walk from Pension Katrin to the pedestrian zone in the city centre. Enjoy the short stroll through historic Nonntal as you head toward the City of Mozart’s main attractions. We have ten rooms – all situated on the first and second floors (no elevator). They are tastefully decorated with high-quality fabrics and carpeting and handcrafted furniture to ensure a homely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Katrin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing