We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite place to stay”
Review of Pension Katrin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Katrin
Ranked #9 of 63 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was one of the nicest places I've been recently.

Perfectly situated at a 10 minutes walk from the old center, this pension has something that all pensions should have (as opposed to hotels) - personality. It's warm, cozy and the personnel is great. Although it sits right on a main street there's not much noise to be heard at night, apart from one or two cars passing by. The comfy beds and tasty breakfast complete the whole experience, one that will make you remember Salzburg for more than the sights.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel_Platon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

We just stayed recently with our two children, and this was really the perfect spot. We had a family room, with had a room for the parents on one side, a sitting room with a large pullout couch for the kids, and a bathroom in between. The beds were comfortable, the blankets were cozy, and everyone slept well (an essential when traveling with a 7 & 9 YO). I was able to purchase the Salzburg Card right at the front desk, and when we didn't have the cash on us, she simply gave us the cards and we brought the money later, enabling us to get an early start on sightseeing. It's a short walk into the old part of the city (10-15 minutes at most), and just a few steps to the bus stop. If you get the Salzburg Card you are able to ride public transit for free, which is really easy. The breakfasts were substantial, with coffee, assorted breads, cheeses, meats, yogurts, cereal, and fruit. Wi-fi was free and quite good -- a pleasant change from so many places we've stayed. There was even free parking for the car. All in all, it was a wonderful stay. Salzburg is a nice city to visit, but this pension really made the difference. And there's an Italian Restaurant just down the street where we had a couple of good meals as well, when you're tired of brats and potatoes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmaMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Pension Katrin is clean, comfortable, and convenient to many parts of the city. Sandra is an excellent host - very helpful and friendly. We stayed for two nights in May and unfortunately it rained our entire stay. We were thankful to have a comfortable place to retreat from the weather in the afternoon. It is a short and easy bus ride from the train station and within walking distance to lots of good restaurants and sight seeing. Breakfast is simple but does the trick.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katemcmahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Sandra is a great Hostess.
I stayed about a week and had a very pleasant experience. The Pension was about a 10 minute walk to the Nonnberg Convent, but truly about a 20 minute walk to the true center (the Salzburg Cathedral). From the train station, it is a quick trip on bus # 5 to the stop near the Pension; from the bus stop, it’s about 200 yards/meters to the Pension on the same road. There is a supermarket (Spar?) about a 5 minute walk on the same street. There is also a Spar and a Billa supermarket between the Nonberg Convent and the Cathedral in the Old town. There is a Laundromat in town if needed - - it is right next to a bus stop so shouldn’t be difficult to find.

The room was rather small, but very clean. It was quiet and I had no trouble sleeping. Breakfast was adequate but not great; not having a lot of staff it is probably to be expected. Sandra is very helpful about giving information about sights and directions. Hotel Chesscom was about 2 blocks from the metro stop and a major shopping center (with a supermarket). I walked almost everywhere I went (with the exception of Hellbrunn Palace, Untersberg Mountain (sp?), and the Laudromat) including the Augustine Brewery. There is no air-conditioning, but when I stayed in August the temperatures were in the comfortable 70s so I didn’t need any.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james_tesol_teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband, two young children (11 and 8) and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at Pension Katrin, Salzburg. This lovely B and B is located on the edge of Salzburg and is just a 10/15 minute walk to the pedestrianized centre. The highlights of our visit to Salzburg included Hellbrunn Palace and the Trick Fountains, a cable car ride up the Untersberg mountain and a very busy day spent in the Museum of Natural History and Technology when it was raining. Our host at Pension Katrin, Sandra, made us feel very welcome and was always very happy to provide help with bus timetables, ideas for places to visit and suggestions for eating out. Our room was large and very clean and the children adored the breakfasts each morning. Thank you Sandra for a lovely family holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,070 reviews
1.4 km away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.9 km away
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
#15 of 63 in Salzburg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau
1.6 km away
HAUS ARENBERG
HAUS ARENBERG
#8 of 63 in Salzburg
147 reviews
1.5 km away
B&B Villaverde
B&B Villaverde
#3 of 63 in Salzburg
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Katrin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Katrin

Address: Nonntaler Hauptstrasse 49/B, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range: €116 - €146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Katrin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If relaxing in a familial atmosphere, genuine hospitality and a cosy setting are just as important to you as they are to us, then you have come to the right place! Our optimal location on the edge of Salzburg’s Old Town as well as the nearby greenbelt makes our B&B the ideal starting point, whether you’re off on a rambling city tour with cultural activities or you prefer excursions in the surrounding area. Our homey and family-run bed and breakfast is located on the southern edge of the Old Town in Nonntal, one of the most beautiful and greenest neighbourhoods in Salzburg. It’s just a 10-minute (1-km) walk from Pension Katrin to the pedestrian zone in the city centre. Enjoy the short stroll through historic Nonntal as you head toward the City of Mozart’s main attractions. We have ten rooms – all situated on the first and second floors (no elevator). They are tastefully decorated with high-quality fabrics and carpeting and handcrafted furniture to ensure a homely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Katrin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing