We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
139
24
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
24
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busminute walkwalking distance from the city centerconvenient place to stayold townsalzburg carddefinitely stay here againbreakfast was deliciousno elevatorcomfortable stayevery morningquiet at nightthe breakfast areamini baran easy walkjunior suitefortress
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We just stayed recently with our two children, and this was really the perfect spot. We had a family room, with had a room for the parents on one side, a sitting room with a large pullout couch for the kids, and a bathroom in between. The beds were comfortable, the blankets were cozy, and everyone slept well (an essential when traveling with a 7 & 9 YO). I was able to purchase the Salzburg Card right at the front desk, and when we didn't have the cash on us, she simply gave us the cards and we brought the money later, enabling us to get an early start on sightseeing. It's a short walk into the old part of the city (10-15 minutes at most), and just a few steps to the bus stop. If you get the Salzburg Card you are able to ride public transit for free, which is really easy. The breakfasts were substantial, with coffee, assorted breads, cheeses, meats, yogurts, cereal, and fruit. Wi-fi was free and quite good -- a pleasant change from so many places we've stayed. There was even free parking for the car. All in all, it was a wonderful stay. Salzburg is a nice city to visit, but this pension really made the difference. And there's an Italian Restaurant just down the street where we had a couple of good meals as well, when you're tired of brats and potatoes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmaMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Pension Katrin is clean, comfortable, and convenient to many parts of the city. Sandra is an excellent host - very helpful and friendly. We stayed for two nights in May and unfortunately it rained our entire stay. We were thankful to have a comfortable place to retreat from the weather in the afternoon. It is a short and easy bus ride from the train station and within walking distance to lots of good restaurants and sight seeing. Breakfast is simple but does the trick.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katemcmahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Sandra is a great Hostess.
I stayed about a week and had a very pleasant experience. The Pension was about a 10 minute walk to the Nonnberg Convent, but truly about a 20 minute walk to the true center (the Salzburg Cathedral). From the train station, it is a quick trip on bus # 5 to the stop near the Pension; from the bus stop, it’s about 200 yards/meters to the Pension on the same road. There is a supermarket (Spar?) about a 5 minute walk on the same street. There is also a Spar and a Billa supermarket between the Nonberg Convent and the Cathedral in the Old town. There is a Laundromat in town if needed - - it is right next to a bus stop so shouldn’t be difficult to find.

The room was rather small, but very clean. It was quiet and I had no trouble sleeping. Breakfast was adequate but not great; not having a lot of staff it is probably to be expected. Sandra is very helpful about giving information about sights and directions. Hotel Chesscom was about 2 blocks from the metro stop and a major shopping center (with a supermarket). I walked almost everywhere I went (with the exception of Hellbrunn Palace, Untersberg Mountain (sp?), and the Laudromat) including the Augustine Brewery. There is no air-conditioning, but when I stayed in August the temperatures were in the comfortable 70s so I didn’t need any.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james_tesol_teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband, two young children (11 and 8) and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at Pension Katrin, Salzburg. This lovely B and B is located on the edge of Salzburg and is just a 10/15 minute walk to the pedestrianized centre. The highlights of our visit to Salzburg included Hellbrunn Palace and the Trick Fountains, a cable car ride up the Untersberg mountain and a very busy day spent in the Museum of Natural History and Technology when it was raining. Our host at Pension Katrin, Sandra, made us feel very welcome and was always very happy to provide help with bus timetables, ideas for places to visit and suggestions for eating out. Our room was large and very clean and the children adored the breakfasts each morning. Thank you Sandra for a lovely family holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the Pension Katrin for two nights and thoroughly agree with all of the 5 star ratings given. Sandra was extremely friendly and helpful; she provided maps, directions, restaurant recommendations and booked a tour for us. The room was well- appointed, meticulously clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was great, with a good variety of food choices, including boiled eggs on request. Free parking was provided, which was greatly appreciated as this was not available at most places we stayed on our trip. The walk to the Old Town is about 15 minutes and Sandra provided information on bus service, which would be helpful for those with motility issues. We would definitely return to the Pension Katrin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews