We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very helpful staff!!!”
Review of Sport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sport Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2015

Great location. Good price. Very good food. Fantastic helpful staff. Clean rooms. Wonderful spa with mountain view.
We went to Andorra last year but stayed in other hotel and were disappointment. But this time, in Sport Hotel was fantastic. Hotel ski lockers are very close to ski lift. Hotel is just 3 minutes from ski lift.

Only thing we were missing was the fridge in the room.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GuskaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2015

The lobby of this hotel is beautiful.
The reception-staff is incompetent.
The rooms are spacious but ugly, defenately not worth 4 stars.
We paid €295 / night for a room with ski-slope view but you could only see a part of the slopes above the Hermitage sport hotel (of the same hotelgroup) which totally blocked the view from our room.
There is absolutely no wifi in the rooms!
The main positive feature of the hotel is that it has a wonderful spa, BUT :
1) Even as a hotel guest you have to pay €37 each time you enter this spa!
2) Not every stay but literraly each time you enter this spa and for each person
3) If you book a treatment in the spa like a massage, you still have to pay this extra €37 if you want to enjoy any other part of the spa.
4) This price is the same for guests of other hotels that want to use this SPA! So I do not see any advantage in stying in this hotel.
The hotel is close to the slopes but because it is on the other side of the road, it is not ski-in ski-out.
Positive things:
1) the restaurant is very good: friendly and competent staff, good food for breakfast and diner, halfboard is not expensive.
2) after my complaints about the spa, they invited my pregnant wife for an entire day of free spa!

In short:
I won't go to this hotel any more! I will book a hotel which is a lot cheaper next to this one and still use the SPA.

Room Tip: Book a room in another hotel close to this one so you can use the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tomBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Recently just been to Soldeu and stayed in the Sport Hotel, we have stayed a couple of times in the Sport Village but decided as New Year the extra £400 per week was not worth it and we were not disappointed, the Sport has a lovely rustic feel, great food, staff always helpful and polite, the rooms are just as comfortable, you have still get the use of the ski lockers to store your skis overnight. Staying over New Year there was a fabulous gala dinner with lots of canapes, bubbly and wine over dinner. Thoroughly recommend and it has a great location, just across from the main gondola up to the mountain, there is also a complimentary visit to the spa and if you ask for a robe you can avoid any blushes. Just one thought the Village has inner doors that open when the outer doors are shutting keeping the heat in, I know the gap between inner and outer doors not as big in the Sport perhaps you could put a spring on the door as on visitors seem unable to shut the door behind them! Fabulous stay definitely recommend and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed over the New Year 2014 and had an amazing time. The hotel is very nice but the rooms are quite basic.
Positives: great location next to the gondola, free ski lockers making life so much easier, plenty of lounge areas, friendly service, restaurant has been consistently good with a range of buffet style options, New Year's Eve buffet was very good

Needs improving: rooms are a little dated albeit very clean, don't expect hot water if you are on the 6th floor as the water can't reach apparently, free access to the spa was nice however time slots were very restrictive ( even though it was practically empty )

On the whole a very nice hotel and it felt very Christmassy with all the decorations. Would book again

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank welshmanBridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015

We've stayed in this hotel 6 times now as a family and enjoy the atmosphere, ease of access to the slopes and quiet location. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms spacious. There is good lift access (important after a long day on the slopes!) and it's a nice bonus to be able to use the adjoining spa during the week.

We found the food better this trip than the last, with more variety. Over the years we've found that the little qualms we have with it are actually just an Andorran thing - the food is sometimes warm rather than hot. The 'gala' dinner on Christmas Eve was better last year than this but we did enjoy the labels telling us what everything at the buffet was! Shame they don't do that every night.

There's wifi in the big lounge which is usually fast enough to deal with everyone. It would be great to see wifi in the rooms the next time we visit as I, certainly, missed that.

The ski lockers for the hotel have been much improved for this season, with good access, a change in layout which makes it less crowded and the usual friendly staff on hand.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the slopes! We've always had one before but this time happened to be given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soldeu hotels
0.1 km away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 16 in Soldeu
513 reviews
0.2 km away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.5 km away
Hotel Park Piolets MountainHotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 16 in Soldeu
534 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Piolets Soldeu Centre
0.8 km away
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
#4 of 16 in Soldeu
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport Hotel

Address: s/n Crta. General, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Region: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Soldeu
Price Range: €140 - €279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Pyrenees, the Sport Hotel is built and decorated in typical mountain style. The combination of local wood and stone make this hotel cosy and welcoming. 165 large bedrooms with bath and shower, hairdryer, telephone, satellite TV, safe deposit box and heating. Large comfortable lounges, bar-cafeteria, internet corner, wifi in the lobby, games room and restaurant.Breakfast and dinner are hot and cold buffet service with show cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing