We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
3
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
4
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Apartments spacious, clean, and in September we did not use air conditioning, even though it was still around 30 above zero, we often like other people leaving the door open to the gallery and it was enough to cool the room. We used a kitchen, but could be better equipped. Only 3 pots and a small pelvis, which are food burnt. We very much welcome the shops now fron of street outside the hotel. Should everything you need, good prices, cheap beer and fruit mainly open until evening to get to know.
We used the pool a lot, every day was tidy, clean and water nice .Some covers for chairs would like to replace, but otherwise we were happy.
The hotel is recommended for its convenient location. To the town of Polis with its shops, restaurants and a large and cheap store Papantoniou is a 10-minute walk. We rented a small motorbike for 18 euros per day and the beach we went way back to the camp, it took 4 minutes / walk about 15-20 minutes. On the bike we also went to the nearby hills where there are beautiful views of the countryside, sunsets, pubs, where time stands still. The couple from the Czech Republic
We stayed at the hotel from 5.9 - 19

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kleopatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2007

Booked this holiday a few weeks before we went, so wasn't really sure what to expect....

Arrived late at night, and it seemed as though we were the only ones there!

Saw more people the next morning - very quiet though the whole week we were there but loved it.

Very clean, spacious rooms.

Fantastic food - the mother does the cooking and its well worth going half board!

Pool was rather cold at the time of year, but we went in briefly! All clean though.

Met some great people - ended up going out as a gang all week and still in touch with them now.

Lovely village 5 min walk, nice restaurants, nice bars (COSTAS CORNER def the best!), nice locals and not too many brits! Few little shops and some watersports if you walk 15 mins or so butno sandy beaches here i'm afraid!

Recommend it - but not if youre looking for a beach holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nathalieb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2007

we stayed at the alkion nest hotel polis in april and had a lovely holiday.The hotel still goes under its previous name of lovers nest locally.The rooms are very basic, very clean and fairly large. We arrived late at night and it was a shock as to how basic the rooms were. Once we got over this and in fact we got used to the rooms ,we enjoyed our time at this hotel. The mother does all the cooking which is mainly greek and very good, especially the cooked breakfast which was first class and freshly cooked each morning for us.The hotel was very clean through outThe swimmimg pool area was attractive with plenty of beds but the water was freezing.Its main atraction was the fact that it was a small hotel and so every guest knew each other and in fact we all went out each night.The walk into polis was a death trap with the cars speeding by and there werent any paths(not far approx 10 mins).Polis was a lovely village with lots of restaurants and bars although it was too cold to sit out in april. The general area is very pretty and a car is required to make the most of it(theres a lovely fish restaurant in pomos overlooking the small fishing harbour).So if youre looking for a quiet friendly hotel with good cooking , arent too bothered about the rooms needing updating and you have a car you`ll be o.k. We had a brilliant holiday and met some great people.

Stayed: April 2007
3  Thank ShropshireCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2005

Be very careful which room you get. The front of the hotel is on a noisy, busy road. The back rooms of the hotel are better, although four caged dogs, apparently owned by the hotel were kept there... and barked through the night keeping us awake. Although clean, the rooms were very basic and dimly lit. Without heating, when the nights get cold in October, you feel it.The receptionist was frosty and tried to overcharge us. The hotel is NOT in Polis, but a 10 minute walk away, and a 15-20 minute walk away from the beach, which is not great. On the plus side, the pool is good.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Compass34892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2005

We have just come back from a weeks stay in the Lovers Nest. On the whole we had a very good holiday.
The accomodation was very clean beds and towels changed often. We found the place was exceptionally quiet, sometimes we were the only ones around the pool. The pool bar looked lovely but no-one ever served behind it. The restaurant was very smart but no-one ate in it and the bar was deserted every night. The only real negative comment I have is we had to pay for air-conditioning, and this was not mentioned on the hotel web site.
If you want a really quiet holiday then you can do a lot worse than the Lovers Nest.
Polis is very under rated the bars and restaurants are superb. Would especially reccomend the Arsinoe fish restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderer27755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews