We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
146
78
20
6
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
78
20
6
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air con the owner two floors cyprus night ceiling fan on arrival minute walk bedroom and bathroom story apartment upstairs balcony relaxing holiday quiet road bbq night kept spotless polis beach enjoyed our holiday friday evening
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Set roughly 45 minutes drive north 'of Paphos, Polis is a small,modern Greek town. It's reasonably flat and well paved and seems quite geared up for wheelchair users.

The Bougainvillea Apartments are just outside the town in a lovely quiet rural setting. It's a pleasant 10 minute stroll to the beach and likewise to the Old Town.
As regular users of Greek apartments we were gobsmacked by the quality of the accommodation - this is well above Typical Budget Greek!

For a start, its a little maisonette. The ground floor open-plan, spacious, with a large kitchen/diner , two fold-out sofabeds and a modern TV. Recently painted and no 'rustic furniture' in sight.

The kitchen had a small oven, the usual two -rings, microwave, kettle and toaster. Plenty of (matching) crockery and cutlery and quite decent utensils including the rarely-seen chopping-board! You may struggle with a Sunday roast, but it was more than adequate for simple meal preparation. The fridge looked a bit tired on the outside but it was clean and extremely efficient.

The sofas were a bit old-looking but actually quite comfortable to lie on once opened out. The TV was tuned to the usual Greek channels and BBC world-service. Fans of Poldark will be delighted to know that PIK are currently showing the last series in English :-) A large ceiling-fan kept the downstairs cool. A terrace at the front and balcony at the back for relaxing in the sun/shade depending on the hour.

We've never seen stairs in a Greek apartment, so it was a new experience to have an upstairs bedroom! This was a large room with the 2 singles pushed together. A big closet with plenty of hangers and a dressing table. There is an efficient hairdryer. The headboard housed one of those 70's style radio things which gave your reviewer quite a shock when it suddenly crackled into life whilst enjoying an afternoon snooze! The beds were probably the most comfortable we have ever had - free from lumps and bumps and with a reassuring mattress protector. There was a private upstairs balcony with a sturdy rail for the washing.
The aircon is 6E per day and gives a good wafting. The weather was unusually hot for the time of year so we did cave in and use it eventually.

Oh the joy of a proper bathroom! A large bath, powerful shower and a glass screen to protect the loo-roll! The water is boiler-fed, so was hot, hot,hot day and night!

The towels/bedding were changed frequently and the cheerful cleaners kept the place spotless.

Outside, scrubby fields to front and back. Ideal for watching the birds, sunsets and motley collection of cats- some in better condition than others. Be kind to the cats - without them there would be rodents! They did like to wander in univited and hide in the suitcases!

The pool and gardens are nice and clean. Plenty of comfy sunbeds and parasols. The bar /restaurant serves decent snacks. The reception has an extensive bookstore. Free wi-fi in the area , but we couldn't pick it up in our room (which was quite a distance away).

It's a short stroll through the campsite to the beach, which is not the best in the world. Nice sandy bits but rocky going into the sea so swimming shoes are recommended. The water is clean. 2 beds and parasol E7.50. The beds were absolutely horrible! They are chained together so difficult to move around and seriously uncomfortable for lying face-down. At the time of writing there are no tourist things going on, but the paragliding, boat trips ringos etc are available at Latchi, which is a lovley 30 minute walk alomg the promenade. A short walk either way from the main beach are some discreet areas for those wishing to get an all-over tan.

The town itself itself is pleasant.Theres a nice park offering a panoramic view of the bay, a big hypermarket on the main road, several banks and shops selling washng machines and computers! We didnt see any tourist-tat the whole fortnight.
The Old Town has a dozen or so restaurants and bars which are probably more lively in the summer. A warning to vegetarians. The usual 'stuffed staples' seem in the main to be stuffed with meat, so do check before ordering! The aforementioned hypermarket has a good range of Quorn products....at three times the UK price.

There is a bus service that alleges to service the local area on an hourly basis.However the drivers kept going on strike, so we didnt want to risk it. Hopefully they will receive their back-pay soon.

There are no sugar-cube houses a-la Lindos or vast strips of throbbing bars and restaurants. Instead it's a place where Greek people live, work and shop. In this respect, it is arguably 'Authentic Greece'. We absolutely loved this place and would 100% return.

Room Tip: All look good
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank Twonicemice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

The studio was outdated, not 100% clean, with stained furniture, cracked tiles/bathroom window frame and not as advertised by Jet2Holidays on their website. Not happy with our accommodation. The Jet2Holiday holiday Rep was no help whatsoever. And Jet2Holidays customer service didn’t want to know.

Room Tip: Not room number 21
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank thisisme2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOUGAINVILLEA_13, Manager at Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear customer, you have to be more careful when you book next time. You have booked and you paid for a normal studio and not the studio suite. About the cleanness my response is NO COMMENTS.
Anyway, Thank you for choosing to come to Bougainvillea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

The studio was outdated. The furniture was stained and sticky. Cracks in the tiles in bathroom and window frame. Not 100% clean. Studio felt grubby and old.
The settings are nice, but our room was awful and not the quality advertised on the Jet2Holidays website.

Room Tip: Not the studio, unmodernised and grubby
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank EJaynie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOUGAINVILLEA_13, Manager at Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear customer, you have to be more careful when you book next time. You have booked and you paid for a normal studio and not the studio suite. About the cleanness my response is NO COMMENTS.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

We have just returned after having a lovely week's holiday here. Stavros and his staff are so welcoming and are eager to help in any way they can. The apartments are beautifully positioned, with a little patio in front with it's own little garden. This was lovely to sit on in the evening, sipping a glass of something, watching the sun go down. The 2 story apartment had balconies on both levels, lovely for breakfast. Everywhere was kept very clean.
I have to say that we are not youngsters, and have been fortunate to have many holidays over the years, but this is one of the best places we have stayed in, and we had a wonderful time!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOUGAINVILLEA_13, Manager at Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you very much for booking with us and for your nice words. Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

We loved these apartments which are just a short walk from the small centre of Polis.
Stavros and co. gave us a warm, friendly welcome when we arrived and were always helpful and kind.
The apartment and grounds are bright, clean, spacious and comfortable. Because the apartments have the bedroom and bathroom upstairs there are 2 balcony's.
There was never a problem getting sunbeds and the pool area was quiet and very relaxing.
The flowers and orange trees add to this pretty, laid-back getaway.
There's a lovely walk from Polis beach to Latchi harbour which runs along the sea front.
Would definitely book another stay here if ever we go to Cyprus again.

Room Tip: All rooms have similar outlooks and face the same way. Only around 28 apartments which makes it lovely and quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOUGAINVILLEA_13, Manager at Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for choosing to come to our Hotel. It was a pleasure having you and we are glad to hear that
you had a good holiday.
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews