We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, shame about the management.”
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, shame about the management.”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here for one night only mainly because of the arrogance of the management, who believe their own internal processes are more important than the guests requirements. Ambience and staff were first class. Internet €5.00 per hour??

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,549
    452
    106
    40
    24
See reviews for
925
1,662
61
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (941)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was a holiday to remember! What a superb hotel indeed. Facilities were good, attention to detail was the order of the staff and we would certainly go back again in the future. The atmosphere generally was extremely relaxing and if you want to de-stress, then this is definately the place to be! Would recommend the food, very well cooked, presented and eaten! Could not fault anything about this hotel and will remain our favourite hotel in Paphos.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyWooW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed at the Elysium from 5th to 12th February 2012 room 3203.
On arrival we were met by an enthusiastic bell boy Marios who was extremely helpful and showed us to the room and explained everything.
The room itself was comfortable but the furniture was a little dated and unfortunately birds roosted in the roof of the balcony and deposited their 'waste' over the balcony floor and walls.
Very expensive mini bar. 2.50 euros for a small bottle of water that costs 50 cents in the kiosk on the nearby Tomb of the Kings road, but I guess this is what you expect for a five star hotel!
The indoor facilities are excellent. As the weather was bad during our stay we used the indoor pool and excellent steam room and jacuzzi. Wish they had a spin dryer for wet shorts in the changing room though!
The food is wonderful, excellent daily choice with fabulous theme nights. The best was the Indian night with fantastic food and decor.
Only down side on the food was the 'watery' soups!
Internet very expensive in the room, go to the 'Multimedia' room for free intenet access (3 terminals).
During our stay there was an exhibition of Russian art, we attended and spoke with the organiser about the logistsic of shipping an item back to the UK. During this conversation we were interrupted by the Food and Beverages Manager Charalambous and he informed us that the exhibition was a private function and that we must leave!
Very embarrasing and humiliating in front of the other people at the exhibition, so we left and the organiser of the exhibition lost a sale. At no point was there any indication that the exhibition was private, it was held in a public area and no signs or notices were in place.
I have since E-mailed the head office of the hotel group (Stademos) to express my views on this matter, but as yet have not had a reply despite sending the E-mails to Demos Deomsthenous the MD,
Perhaps this is the usual arrogant manner in which all the management of the hotel adopt leaving the other staff to treat their guests in the manner that you would expect from a five star hotel?
Despite this I would stay here again, but I would not attend any exhibitions!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GazFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecEly, Manager at Elysium Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member GazFB,
Thank you for taking some time to post your first review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

Constructive guest comments greatly assist us in constantly in evaluating the level and quality of our services and facilities and therefore all comments of both positive, as well as negative nature, are being thoroughly looked into.

In regards to the issues raised by GazFB, we would like to make a comment on the following:

There was indeed a private function in our Basilica Ballroom, which the guests attended without being invited. An “interruption” of conversation between the organizers and the guests, did certainly not occur, since the organizers themselves asked us to speak to the guests. The guests were discreetly asked if they were invited and when they replied that no, they were informed that it was a private function.

In our effort to provide the best possible solutions to issues that our guests may occasionally encounter we find it essential to reply to all emails and guest comments. Within this contect our records show that the guest email was answered to by the hotel management on the 15th February 2012 and the reply was copied to our central offices.

Thank you

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had a completely fabulous week, despite a little inclement weather. The hotel is stunning, superb lobby and communal areas. The buffet meals were varied, well cooked and tasty. Rooms were well appointed, the facilities such as the spa were nice and the beachfront walk of an evening was splendid.

Several reviews commented on the cost of drinks and room service. For the standard of the hotel, we thought the prices were appropriate. This is not a cheapo resort hotel, the charges are in line with hotels of a similar quality.

As this was our first holiday with a one year old we were a little worried but the staff were amazing with him. The only criticism was that the indoor pool could have been a little warmer for a baby but small beans really.

This is the first time in many years we have vowed to return to a hotel.Many thanks to the staff there, it was great.

Room Tip: Sea view is essential, some of the inland views aren't too great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Visiting Cyprus I chose Paphos as my first step, stayed at the Elysium with my son in a sea facing deluxe room for 4 nights. While the hotel is beautiful from outside and in the lobby area as well as in the swimming pool area its rooms require an uplift. Frankly the price we paid for a 5 star property holiday was way above the quality of rooms we got in that hotel. Maybe the suites are better but i feel the rooms could be improved upon. First the fridge hardly worked. The soft drinks we bought from outside were always slightly above room temperature when we'd keep them in the fridge. The rooms have no rug, its a bare floor except for one very thin, rug. The bathrooms were simply average.
The hotel breakfast was however great, a lot of choice in a perfect garden type setting with the seating area spilling over into the verandah. At the time of our holiday there were many tourists and vacationers so the place was often full. We only had two meals at the hotel besides breakfast, one room service, another a sandwich or so, it was nice but nothing wow.
The beach is sandy in some parts but was very full as was the pool area except in the evenings. A lot of topless sunbathers which is probably common in Cyprus but may cause some worries for more conservative travelers esp those with families.
The location of the hotel though a bit far from the port and town and town centre is close by the ruins of the monasteries and is also a few metres away from the bus stop so one can get a bus day pass and use this to go around. Lots of small restaurants and pubs close by so one can avoid eating at the hotel at 5 star prices. Our next stop was Le meridian Limassol which though much older had far better rooms and bathrooms. Paphos is great and offers some good tour options and shopping.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms offer good view but found them to be a bit too bare for my liking, fridge does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank faryal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.7 km away
The King Jason Paphos
2.6 km away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
3.3 km away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,521 reviews
2.3 km away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
4.5 km away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Property: Elysium Hotel
Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing