We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

7 St. Georges Tavern
Ranked #17 of 633 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: It should be noticed that the establishment is a very traditional one, in more ways than appearance. It is an old building of stone and wood. The two dining rooms are decorated with antiques and items from the old household of rural Cyprus. The garden is very pleasant with flowers and herbs growing all around it. The food is traditional and seasonal. We cook everything that can grow in Cyprus, basing a lot of our food on traditional dishes, and wild vegetables, picked by ourselves. We serve Meze, which traditionally means delicate taste, and in Cyprus it is used to mean a variety of delicacies. A typical meze at the 7 St Georges will start with salad and between 6-10 appetizers, this will differ every night but may include, homegrown olives, cured meats, dips and pickles. The meze will continue with a variety of traditional and some times contemporary meat and vegetable dishes. We use only the best meats to provide mouthwatering roasts and succulent casseroles, you can expect to enjoy our now well known Kleftico (lamb or beef on the bone cooked in sealed ovens, succulent) and a vegetarians delight of vegetable dishes, depending on the season they will include, rice stuffed marrow flowers, bumyas (ochra) cooked in a tomato and mint sauce, black eyed beans with home grown marrow, tomato fritters, cheese and vegetable pies. The meze will be about 20 dishes, depending how much one can eat, expect to be surprised and delighted at the array of dishes that will be brought to you over the meal (expect to be eating for about 2 hours), at the 7 St Georges we serve quality food in an informal and comfortable setting, take your time and enjoy the experience.
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

A delightful place to visit in Paphos! Delicious food served in a leisurely way enabling you to savour the different taste -meze style, till you can't eat anymore! Good and vibrant ambience, pre-booking is a must though we were fortunate to have a table having arrived early. Enjoy..

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 107rene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 101 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018

This restaurant was recommended by our taxi driver.....he didn't let us down.

Family run by a father and his two sons, there are no menu's to choose from.....this is Cypriot-Greek mezze in its most basic, local, traditional, delicious and rustic form.

You are sat in a courtyard that is one the side of the family home, covered with swathes of vines and greenery overlooking the Pathos countryside. The crickets were so loud at one stage we could hardly hear ourselves think!!

For drinks 2 of us had the homemade white wine, which was very, very nice....and very, very strong in flavour, packing a heavy 13%+ alcohol punch content!

Small dishes of olives, fried aubergine, cheese, hummus, carrot slaw, homemade granary bread and Greek salad to start.

To follow; BBQ'd pork belly, oregano roast chicken, beef stew, braised beef slices and scrambled eggs with courgette.....it was great food, and we then had to ask them to stop the dishes coming.....we were full to the brim......

Great family atmosphere, great traditional local food, lovely location and great value for money.....let's not forget the great homemade wine also!!!!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RichardF38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Organic Meze that is absolutely delicious, my favourite place to go in Paphos. My daughter and I absolutely adore the homemade coleslaw but in fact every dish is delicious.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We left full to the brim and utterly glad we booked (we did try a walk in a few days before but defo need to book) it gets super busy.

When we arrived we were greeted by the chef. Lovely guy and explained how it all works. Essentially bring as much meze as possible until we tell them to stop.

We got to the point where we had to say stop or we would have all burst. All food was amazing. Cooked to perfection.

We will be back again when we visit cyprus. Has made it to the must have list!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Bee2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Visited tonight - fab food, amazing staff and lovely atmosphere! Meze absolutely stumped us but was incredible! Will definitely return xx

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Shooie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 7 St. Georges Tavern also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to 7 St. Georges Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing