We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
7
5
24
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
5
24
12
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2018

It might appear a good choice at first , but after a couple of days you might change your mind ! The breaksfat is not suitable for everyone.. forget scrambled eggs , omelette , bacon .. or toast .. it’s all about cheese , and olives and cucumbers and tomatoes .. in a great country that ahas wonderful oranges , you will not get a fresh one here ! Forget expresso o Italian coffe .. it’s all a long brew . For the rooms , ask for the new wing , the rates are great but this nice hotel needs maintenance . They have a swimming pool , Turkish baths and Sauna .they are not working ... it was a real disappointment for a 4 ⭐️.

Date of stay: January 2018
1  Thank chrissie_M2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

So…I had two nights in the Golden Tulip, and then had to move here due to lack of room availability on the Friday night. What a come down. This place is really a bit of a dive. I was most surprised that it was rated four stars on travel websites. BE WARNED: THIS IS NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL.

The staff are gruff and unhelpful, The place itself needs a complete overhaul as it is very dated and feels a bit like a car park at times. The rooms are pokey: dark, claustrophobic and crumbling. It clearly had a very cheap refurb done on the rooms but there was black mould in the shower and the taps were encrusted. One of the electric sockets in my room was a hole in the wall with wires hanging out and one had a nail stuck in one of the socket holes.

There is a stuffiness about the room which does not make it a place where you want to spend time. However, there are no other spaces on the hotel where you would want to spend time either! The lobby is monstrous and echoey and smoking is aloud there. (There also doesn't appear to be any distinction between smoking and non-smoking rooms btw), There are no outside areas at the hotel.

The restaurant on the top floor is like a local university canteen. In fact, having visited three universities on my trip, they are better provisioned. Atmosphere is depressing and staff sit around on mobile phones rather than serving. Menu is very limited and if vegetarian, I hope you like haloumi salad as that is all you will be able to order. There is one restaurant in the area. There you can get ravioli, so head for the old city for anything else.

I got into gym kit and ventured into the basement, past staff sitting on the stairs eating lunch, to explore the pool and ‘spa’ area. Both were closed for repairs. I suspect this has been the case for a while. The gym and changing room areas were so grotty that I took one look and turned around.

It is not that much cheaper than the Golden Tulip: Better go there if you can, This place sucks big time.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

The photos on their website are a lot nicer than it is in reality. The breakfast is very limited. The wall outside the room was filled with loud airconditioning devices. The area is not the best either. I recommend to pay bit more and stay in the golden tulip hotel.

Room tip: Wifi doesnt work, don't count it it. the reception is very very limited
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ackeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed there 3 nights my experience was not awesome the breakfast was very simple and rooms are not very clean and health club was very poor no machines empty and swimming pool was very cold i didn't feel of royalty not at all they should change the name of royal to normal city hotel

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed within the last ten years. I have being shown 4 rooms, they were all either untidy or dirty. The breakfast is the poorest ı experienced in Cyprus at all times. the equipment used in the bathroom are all rusty. even though they say it is a business otel , the internet connection is very very poor and sometimes it is down for a while also in some rooms it is not available. the climate systems are old and smelly, the only positive side is that the staff are kind ( which actually in fact must be a default)

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Turgut_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews