We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to have fish and chips in Limassol”
Review of The Happy Friar

The Happy Friar
Ranked #6 of 1,160 Restaurants in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Traditional British Fish and Chips Restaurant, Bar at pub prices & Take Away all 90 seconds walk from the beach and Marina. Relax in our cosy restaurant or on our terrace and enjoy a meal and or a drink or order a take away to eat the Traditinal way, at the best beach in Limassol, just 2 minutes walk away.
Restaurant details
Description: Traditional British Fish and Chips Restaurant, Bar at pub prices & Take Away all 90 seconds walk from the beach and Marina. Relax in our cosy restaurant or on our terrace and enjoy a meal and or a drink or order a take away to eat the Traditinal way, at the best beach in Limassol, just 2 minutes walk away.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great service, great food. Love the pickled onions, curry sauce. You can't go wrong. Will come back.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Andreas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I wish I could say this was better, as I've still not found decent Fish and Chips inside Limassol but unfortunately my recent take-away order was very disappointing.

While it had somewhat the look of 'genuine' Fish and Chips, in so far as the Cod was the right shape and the Chips chunky, the taste and texture was just not there.

For a start, the fish was seemingly not of a great quality and it didn't help that it was overcooked, to the point that the flesh was mushy and the batter Brown rather than Golden.
The Chips were nothing to write home about either - once again overcooked beyond Golden and with no crispness present (although being wrapped for take-away could be the culprit here).

Looking at the other reviews, it could well be that they were having a bad day, as if not, the comparison to decent (or even average) UK Chippies is well wide of the mark.

I will probably try again at some point, eating in, to find out whether this is the case or not.

For now, for me, this struggles to reach 3 stars, with 2.5 being more than fair.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely cosy restaurant. I had regular cod, small chips and mushy peas. Food exceptional and just right for my appetite. The pint bottle of Carlsberg helped wash it down!!
Super efficient and very friendly waitress....if you are visiting or live in Cyprus and want fish and chips that beats 9 out of 10 UK places, get yourselves down here!!!

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank SalwickGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great British Fish & Chips in Limassol.
Friendly Staff , great atmosphere. Excellent value.
Highly Recommended.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PafosInfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The whole 'fish and chips' experience was just exceptionally good. The fish was so well prepared and succulent and so were the chips and the mashed peas. If you like fish and chips you will be pleasantry surprised by the quality of the food offered by this establishment. Definitely worth visiting if you like this sort of food.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank REVIEWER_CY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Happy Friar also viewed

Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 

Been to The Happy Friar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing