We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch!”
Review of Ousia

Ousia
Ranked #13 of 1,160 Restaurants in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Bar, Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Ousia Lounge Cafe, a stylish Cafe Restaurant that is set in an historic building, with a contemporary finish. Ousia delivers a complete culinary experience of traditional Mediterranean cuisine, with a modern twist. It prides its success with using ingredients & products that are of quality, fresh, natural, seasonal, and handcrafted. The philosphy behind Ousia's creativity is embracing the traditions of Cyprus, whilst also acknowledging the influences from cultures that have graced its shores. Each dish and drink is carefully prepared and presented in an environment that offers total satisfaction. It is true to say that Ousia Lounge Cafe, which is situated directly opposite the great medieval castle in the heart of the old city of Limassol, embodies a sense of royalty, pride and energy.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really tasty lunch in a nice, central spot. Great variety on the menu, reasonable prices and friendly staff.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 597katym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantine G, Manager at Ousia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Katym for your lovely review!
with love Team Ousia xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was excellent in a great location.
We got a salad with fresh ingredients and a chicken wrap.
Service was excellent

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank GilGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantine G, Manager at Ousia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Gilge,

Thank you for your lovely review!

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
team ousia xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

it's a cozy place, you can go any time but it's better during nights for dinner or for a drink. Excellent food and service. Sometimes people are smoking and this is not good. Exactly opposite the Limassol Castle.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BasketElias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantine G, Manager at Ousia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to reviewing us!

We agree with smoking not being good, and with Ousia we have designated the smoking area to outside only. There is no smoking inside.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
team ousia xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is just everything. The tastiest, healthiest cuisine, exquisite delivery and dining in service with the most professional of chefs and owners. Their delivery service especially has become a daily ritual for us, working near by. Fantastic food, with even more fantastic prices.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JOSEFIENHEICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantine G, Manager at Ousia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Josefien,

Received with love!

Thank you for your beautiful review :)

We love what we do and do what we do with passion and heart....

team ousia xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food is now quite basic, a glorified tavern that serves a lot of chips, although the oven-roasted vegetables were nice... and the vegetable moussaka was original. The zoutzoukakia tasted good, had good consistency (excluding several pieces of gristle), and the sauce was pleasant enough.

Having said all that, the menu does declare a lot of additives/ingredients which may be helpful to those that have food allergies or intolerances.

Unfortunately the service is either difficult to find... or exceedingly bothersome... such as pouring wine on top of wine twice when the customer hasn't even touched it.

I think that 1 inch of red wine in a glass is a good place to start - no need to keep adding 1/2 inch and another 1/2 inch so that the customer now has 2 inches of red wine. Of course, a token splash so that people don't feel left out is always welcome.

Anyway, we didn't feel incentivised to have desserts and coffee which would have added another 50% to the bill.

The manager pleasantly asked us if he could help with anything else which i felt was a subtle hint to vacate the table for paying guests.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sebastian_Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantine G, Manager at Ousia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sebastian,

You have been awarded a Master in Culinary reviews by Cyprus Taverna Association :)

The problem with ridiculous reviews such as Sebastian's, is that if TripAdvisor had the opportunity to actually visit friendly, professional establishments such as Ousia the actual picture would be entirely different. Instead, sadly, anyone can write anything whether relevant, honest or simply in order to earn another badge :(

Reviews, such as Sebastian's are simply insulting and deceitful based on the email that we had recently sent to TripAdvisor, of which we are still waiting for a reply back to us at Ousia.

You give us no other alternative other than to lower ourselves to the reviewers level and oppose what was written...

Sebastian,
1) Firstly, we are not a Tavern, all those that know Ousia will be laughing at your ridiculous statement... please refer to our menu on tripadvisor or from check out our web site
2) We are one of few restaurants, within the area that actually buys fresh Cyprus potatoes and handcut them to produce amazing chips, most other places in our area buy frozen
3) The vegetable moussaka is our own Ousia version, not traditional
4) Soutzakakia, contain the write quantity of fat (not gristle)
5) Your undecisiveness as to whether you want your wine poured, not poured, 1/2 /2 inches ... service, no service... what is wrong with you ... sounds as though you are better suited in a tavern or simply needed to be in a pub...

Conclusion: The manager and all of Ousia were happy that you did not order your dessert and decided to vacate your table to a lovely family who actually appreciated our environment and service. We would request that you show a little more respect and dignity at the next restaurant you visit. We hope that the message was clear by the manager that we would kindly ask that you do not visit us again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ousia also viewed

Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 

Been to Ousia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing