We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,535)
Filter reviews
1,535 results
Traveller rating
395
578
327
128
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
578
327
128
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view small kitchen rooftop restaurant la valletta the bus cleaning staff top floor late at night bars and restaurants restaurant staff public transport valletta ferry local buses cleaned every day harbour apartment balcony
Filter
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 1,535 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2015

Booked a long weekend break to visit family and we were very impressed with this hotel. Room was clean with all new bathroom and furniture
The breakfast was good value and had friendly and helpfull staff
Had a room with no outside window but was very cool and air conditioned .
Would book again

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nessy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your excellent review following your recent stay at The 115 The Strand.

It gives us great pleasure that you liked our Classic Rooms and that you have found the hotel very clean and friendly. We always make sure that we exceed clients' expectations and that clients enjoy their stay with us while in Malta.

We thank you for your recommendations and we look forward in hosting you again soon.

Wishing you a pleasant weekend.

Kind Regards,

Luke Sammut
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

We arrived at the Hotel to be informed that our booking had been cancelled. Not the Hotels fault but the only room they had left was an internal self catering when we had booked a sea view with half board. The Staff were fantastic in helping us to get a move and so this review is not about the staff It is about our experience with the room and what we saw and heard later. First of all the room was quite clean and tidy but the only windows looked out onto the centre of the Hotel block in other words a 20ft square drain shaft. There was a good air conditioner in the room but other than that it was airless and claustrophobic. Our room was on the floor below the dining area and therefore we had all the scraping of chairs and stamping of feet to put up with. We also had a multitude of school kids and students screaming around the place for half the night. We later found out that this hotel is known as the local youth Hostel which in effect it is. We never got to see a sea view room so therefore I cannot comment but I can't imagine it would be any quieter.
In short I would say don't go here unless you are 14 - 18 years old and you don't want a quiet holiday. The food also was not brilliant and we were infact moved from a table we had chosen to sit at in order to allow the school kids to sit down.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mitchlynda79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in reviewing 115 The Strand Apart hotel.

It seems that the problem started when the agency cancelled your booking, which neither the hotel nor yourself that had control over. Our Reservations Manager and her team did their very best and everything in their power to solve the issue and make sure that you will have a room. At the time we were solid booked but managed to allocate you in a studio apartment.

With regards to any disturbance from any young travellers I do apologise, we do not normally have such large groups, it was this one time, we made an exception for this group because they were teams of waterpolo that wanted to stay together since they had a tournament. We apologise that this caused an inconvenience for you. Having said that however our hotel, being in a central location attracts many travellers unlike the stereotype which you have heard. We have quite a number of business travellers who come at our hotel and leisure guests alike who stay here due to it;'s friendly atmosphere, great ambiance and central location.

We do hope that you will return back again in the near future so we will be able to exceed your expectations and change your perception about 115 The Strand.


Kind Regards,

Luke Sammut
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Arrived later than when booked due to rescheduled flights, luckily booked private taxi & after checking in just about made to Diner. Room booked was a side bay view?? yes you could see the bay but you had a better view of the hotel opposite which was closed for refurbishment, but looked derelict. Room was at rear of hotel & so cold even without any air conditioning on. We hardly slept as so cold & in morning both patio doors to balcony were covered in condensation. Found 2 thick blankets which made our stay a little better but unable to get any form of heat into the room. Tried air con unit to see if it heated as well as cooled but as soon as turned on came up with an error code & shut itself down. But after 30 mins or so sprang into life but only cooled which made the room even colder. On the third night the room next door was occupied by 2 women from the nation that likes to speak 1000 words where 20 would do & every male of that nation thought they would visit every minute between 10pm to 11:30pm, 3am to 3:45am & from 7am onwards. Very upset, asked to be moved which the hotel staff did at a cost of 40 euro's as room now had a bay view. All was ok, lovely big room, warm & sunny, road noise bearable. But on the third day in that room had a major water leak so we were offered a room on the next floor up at the rear of the hotel. Room was the size of a postage stamp, hot & had a background smell. We didn't take so were given a room in a separate part of the hotel, fantastic room (self catering) with everything you could wish for. Staff very helpful, food ok but Italian influence (at least 2 pasta dishes per night) We would only return to this hotel & area if we were assured of a room in the separate annex.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daydream569064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2015

Dear Client,


Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and identifying the areas where we could improve.


I would like to first of all apologise for the mishaps that you have encountered during your stay and I am sorry that we weren't able to resolve them on the spot. Some issues I am afraid that as much as we wish to, do not give us the chance to handle them immediately.

With regards to the air conditioning I am very surprised to hear because the airconditioning system is a centralised system and at the time you were here it was set on heating, I am sure that it was some fault that our maintenance department would have gladly sorted it out for you.

I am terribly sorry that above all you had to experience a leakage. We were very upset and disappointed with the plumbers who have installed our plumbing did not do the job very well done. We have done it all over again and is in perfectly working condition now.

The apartments which you have moved to are our Luxury annex apartments of Strand Suites, guests staying at the hotel can upgrade to these Luxury apartments but we felt that after what you have been through we had to give you the upgrade to them free of charge to make up for what has happened and make sure that you leave our islands happy.

We do hope that we will be able to again host you at 115 The Strand and offer you a great stay like we are accustomed to give.


Wishing you a pleasant week ahead.


Kind Regards,

Luke Sammut
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

We stayed for one week in April. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast was of a good standard with nice views. However, there were two large groups of students staying in the hotel. One group of teenager students (about 40-50) were extremely loud and continually disruptive and made noise all night on their first night, their teachers did not supervise them sufficiently. We were originally staying on the 7th floor but were moved to 2nd floor and told we would be away from the group, when in fact we had students on the second floor and directly above us who continued to make noise. It seemed the students had been placed all over the hotel so you were unable to escape them and made it harder for them to be kept under control. Had we known the hotel has large groups of students we would not have booked it.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mathew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2015

Dear Matthew R,


Thank you for staying at 115 The Strand and thank you for taking your time to review our apart hotel.


It has been a pleasure hosting you and we are glad that you found our apart hotel clean and with quality breakfast.

On the other hand we are terribly sorry to hear about the guests we had who were here on training for a sports event. We do not normally accept large groups such as the one we had but being a sports group we believed that they would be more disciplined and that they will not disturb our guests. We tried to accomodate them all since they wanted to stay together. Normally when we host such groups we do not have more than 10 rooms so rest assured that upon your next visit we will make up for this.

In final we do apologise still for your experience at the 115 The Strand, certainly it is not the way we are accustomed to deliver the service to the guest and we always make sure that our guest leaves the hotel with a pleasant experience.

In the mean time we look forward in hosting you once again and wish you safe travels.


Kind Regards,

Luke Sammut
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

This hotel is just lovely. I enjoyed all my time me and my wife has stayed there. It was extremely tidy and bed was very comfty. Staff was very polite, they ve helped us arrange small excursion around.
Also the sea view from our apartment was amazing.
Highly recomended as it was great value for the money.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kamil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2015

Dear Kamil,


Thank you for taking your time to review 115 The Strand. It is an honor to have hosted you and that we have contributed to a pleasant holiday.

Cleanliness is one of our main attributes that we often get complimented upon and we do invest highly on this aspect so as to make sure that the hotel is clean and in good quality standard.


We do trust that we will be seeing you once again very soon and wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards,

Luke Sammut
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews