We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant”

Marsaxlokk Water Polo Club
Ranked #16 of 56 Restaurants in Marsaxlokk
Price range: US$12 - US$58
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: An idyllic restaurant right by the water's edge in the traditional fishing village of Marsaxlokk. We offer a variety of seafood and also meat dishes, fresh home made pasta, speciality pizza and more in our extensive menu. Our chef de cuisine also prepares specials based on the fresh local produce available. Ample parking is available.
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We ate here twice on our trip, a little pricey but a lovely waterside location with great food and service.
The waiting staff were extremely helpful and accommodating even when we turned up without a booking,
Really delicious food the pizzas were to die for.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simba3262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marsaxlokkwpc, Manager at Marsaxlokk Water Polo Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience Simba3262 and we’re glad that you enjoyed it. We thank you as well for your generous words about our delicious food, staff and service.

We look forward to serving you soon at Marsaxlokk Water Polo Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We went there for our parent's anniversary after seeing nearly 5 star reviews and amazing pictures of their food on social media. First impression was that the place looks far different than what the pictures show on social media. Spent 30 minutes waiting for a high chair, drinks did not come all at once, we had to stay calling waiters to remind them about our drinks. (BDW there were only 5 tables in the restaurant and it was during the week). While ordering, we were asked if we want fries or wedges, we ordered fries but after 1 hour and a half waiting for our food to come, all our dished had wedges and not fries!! Also, I ordered gnocchi di patata with pistachios and parmesan and instead I got gnocchi with butter and filled with ricotta where there is nowhere written in the menu that they are filled with ricotta! The meat combo was supposed to have rib eye and we did not get it neither. It was a very disappointing experience as the prices are quite expensive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marsaxlokkwpc, Manager at Marsaxlokk Water Polo Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Jessica B,

I regret you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant during your last visit. We take pride in what we do, the food we serve and how we treat our customers and hence take your feedback very seriously. We hope that you will come back again, and give us the opportunity to treat you to an experience that you will want to revisit again and again.

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

This restaurant has been under 3 different managements but I've got to say, this is one of the best! The octopus is great and the plates are full. We took the lemon sorbet as dessert and it was delicious! One time when there was a mix up with the orders, the service was a bit snow, but to make it up to us the dessert was on the house. This was the only time the service was slow, so I have nothing to complain about.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jassiespiteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marsaxlokkwpc, Manager at Marsaxlokk Water Polo Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience jassiespiteri and we’re glad that you enjoyed it. We thank you as well for your generous words about our delicious food and we regret to hear that the service was slow but appreciate your positive feedback.

We look forward to serving you soon at Marsaxlokk Water Polo Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Unfortunately, its impossible to see the restaurant from Marsaxlokk. But It is necessary to know where it is!

Because it was an amazing dinner for us!!!

A plate for two of calamari and other Mediterranean seafood and very-very tasty and delicate plate of fish as a main dish!!!
The owner of the restaurant helped me to choose a good white wine, attentive stuff was always next to our table and young and very talented chef who personally approached us to be sure that we liked everything! And it was nice and cute!

For those who want a delicious dinner - it is exactly right place: romantic or family atmosphere, view on the sea and nice music.

But in the morning you also will find good breakfast and possibility to stay for suntan and swimming right in the restaurant - a part of restaurant's territory is a special place for this. And while you're on this theritory you will find cocktails and delicious ice-cream in the bar also;)

And a couple of words of sweets yet: after our dinner the waitress bring a huge dish of different cakes and sweets ... It was looking amazing and it was absolutely impossible to resist! :)))
Well... Im in love with this place...
You have to check and try its all by own!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NorthStar412197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marsaxlokkwpc, Manager at Marsaxlokk Water Polo Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience Екатерина and we’re glad that you enjoyed it. We thank you as well for your generous words about our delicious food, service and staff.

We look forward to serving you soon at Marsaxlokk Water Polo Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Was not what we expected since we've seen reviews and photos before going..
Went there for a quiet & relaxing evening..

As the evening started and we gave our order, we heard the person reading the orders shouting out very loud in the kitchen, every single person in the restaurant could hear him and there goes our quiet evening bye bye..
Then I saw a staff member clearing plates from left over food with his hands which I found not very nice to do infront people who are eating there meals.

Thank bertamerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marsaxlokkwpc, Manager at Marsaxlokk Water Polo Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear bertamerc
 
I regret you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant during your last visit. We take pride in what we do, the food we serve and how we treat our customers and hence take your feedback very seriously. We hope that you will come back again, and give us the opportunity to treat you to an experience that you will want to revisit again and again.

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marsaxlokk Water Polo Club also viewed

Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 

Been to Marsaxlokk Water Polo Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing