We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
186
106
22
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
106
22
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing food main building michelin star loire valley before dinner food and wine foie gras young couple spent three nights here family run superb restaurant enjoyable stay easy parking rooms are small fresh fruit old building auberge de la
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We had been recommended this Auberge by a friend who described the food as fantastic. I need a ground floor room as can't do stairs and we had a spotless room on ground floor. Very clean and modern, if a bit basic. Car park large, private and safe (our car was full of wine). Dinner was completely outstanding, one of the best we have had for ages. Lovely dining room with quite grand decor, staff very helpful and friendly, sommeiller guided us to delicious wines but the VERY best was the absolutely stunning dinner. Then we slept badly because we'd eaten too much, but that was our fault, not theirs ! AND they serve dinner on Sunday nights, which is a rare and wonderful thing in France. We loved it and will be going back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Not sure, we had v easy-access room on ground floor.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unhappyfrenchowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

As the title says this is the third time we have stayed here and it is still excellent. We keep coming back for the restaurant which is just superb! The standard of the food and wine is just fantastic and this has become our go-to restaurant when in France, we even built in a detour so we could stay here. The rooms are fine and we always sleep well although the wine might have something to do with that!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

The place has a lot going for it, with close proximity to Blois etc. However, I thought our room was pretty ordinary and we had some severe problems with the WC which I will spare you the details! The receptionist handled the problem well and even refunded the charge for the breakfast. Apparently the dining room here is really good, but we chose to spend the only evening we had in Blois and missed out!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

My wife and I have just stayed at Auberge de la Calliere and what an excellent, good value and welcoming place to stay. Our standard room was very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was superb as were the Loire wines. The staff were attentive and friendly and the lady joint owner charming and extremely helpful. She also speaks excellent English! We shall definitely be returning to this lovely area and will be staying here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank danielrgowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We spent 1 night here as a stopover returning to get the ferry in Cherbourg. I had read Tripadvisor reviews, and was booking mainly for the restaurant - as we wanted to have a special meal for our last night on holidays. L'Auberge de la Cailliere certainly delivered in this respect! Food was absolutely outstanding in terms of quality, choice, presentation - everything! Staff also impressed us hugely, - seeming to manage very efficiently a full dining room effortlessly. there were no delays, and all staff were very knowledgeable, informative and helpful. It was a wonderful meal and experience - definitely worthy of michelin star in my opinion.

Now to my only difficulty!! Assuming you go here for a special meal/occasion, you will not be disappointed with the restaurant! However, - IF it is a special occasion, then I just feel the accommodation is somewhat inconsistent with the standard of the restaurant. It is very much a 2 -3 star logis -and in fairness is not advertised as anything more, and is clean and comfortable. But the option of a little overnight luxury after such a nice meal would be very welcome for those of us who like to be pampered!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaMIvory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews