We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel of the Algarve ”

Restaurante Solar Do Farelo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant "Solar do Farelo" is a typical space in the Algarve placed in the inner Portimão council, about 6 Km from the Meridien Penina Golf Hotel, 11 Km from Alvor, and about 5 minutes from the International Speedway of the Algarve. It is in an orange production area, with a view to the orange groves in a field with the beautiful Serra de Monchique as background. Our restaurant does not have available a fixed menu. Our gastronomic proposals are daily made, based in daily products, yet with much variety. Aged in our Wine-Cellar, we propose to our clients many of the best wines in the country at unbeatable prices to drink in the restaurant or to take home.
Reviewed 20 November 2022 via mobile

My wife and I have been coming here for 11 years and I can say with hand on heart that this is our favourite restaurant we have ever ate in....and we have travelled a lot. Fernando and his staff (especially Uri with his shared love of fishing) are always so warm and welcoming, which is an added bonus to the amazing food served. A must is the beef Stroganoff which is incredible, but you won't be disappointed with anything on the menu. Lunch is great value for money with wine from the barrel on tap for only a small amount extra. A must for all food lovers.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank Inspire61552917828
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2022 via mobile

Superb food and even better service - and self service wine from barrels - what more can one ask? Can’t wait to return during our next trip to The Algarve!

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank GeraldS1640
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 July 2022

What can I say....amazing as always, food, ambience and company, it keeps pulling me back a real gem ❤

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 July 2022

While staying in Lagos we were fortunate to be taken here by friends who are resident locally, otherwise we'd never have discovered it on our own. Tucked away in the countryside is this well established but recently renovated traditional Portuguese restaurant. We had a warm welcome from the owner Fernando and our table had a wonderful view over sweeping hills.

The food and service were top notch and also very reasonably priced. For a few Euros you can help yourself to as much as you want house red or white wine direct from two large barrels.

Highly recommended and well worth seeking out.

Date of visit: July 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bazza14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 June 2022 via mobile

A really good experience! From booking by telephone, to arriving, a great experience but once inside, a very warm welcome. Food was good, starter of prawns a little over-cooked but my lamb chops excellent, whilst my wife's sea bass was amazing! Attentive service and very quirky, help yourself from the wine barrel at no extra cost, a fabulous extra!! Quite good value at under €90 for a three course meal for two! Highly recommended!!

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Solar Do Farelo also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Solar Do Farelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.