We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Bell(Clare)
US$106
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nine Jars Hotel(Haverhill)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Bull Hotel(Halstead)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Crown Hotel(Long Melford)
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull(Long Melford)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Black Lion(Long Melford)
US$121
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan(Thaxted)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
39
18
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
18
5
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2015

stayed at the white horse for a stop over for family wedding at stumer . very nice motel and would recomend it . excellent breakfast and very friendly owner . will stay here again when traveling past .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tyja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015

My family stayed at the White Horse last week for 1 night in a family room. We were really delighted to find that the accommodation had a room (twin) within a large double/king room. the kids even had their own sofa and tv. Bed was very comfortable and room very clean. Looked to me as though it had been recently decorated. Bathroom was very spacious, but ideally would have a bath - especially as it is a family room and baths are much easier for kids. Breakfast was delicious and the staff very friendly. Unfortunately I managed to spill almost a whole bottle of dark red nail varnish on the beige carpet. The owner was so very very very nice about it - lending me her own bottle of varnish remover So that I could try and get it off the carpet and insisting that I shouldn't worry about it - "accidents happen". How many other hotels would be that nice about it?

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

We have visited this Motel several times. Some times for a lunch or evening dinner and another time for a celebratory evening. On entry to the building, the main bar is on the left, opposite comfortable tables and chairs are opposite. This area is used for starter drinks prior to eating in the main well equipt restaurant. The decor is modern and there are many tables to choose from. There are around 12+ tables seating x 4 persons, lots of space and an airey feel. The menu is well equipt with a good choice of dishes available. Prices vary from an excellent 'fish and chips' around £4 pp to £8 upwards and £11 pp for a full roast dinner. The food really is vey good. Drinks are average pub prices. The staff are very polite and helpful.
During the winter months, the other side of the bar offers a real, warm and cosy log fire, with adjoining table/chairs. There has been some additional additional work to the Motel which has just been completed. This is a nice place to eat (we haven't stayed here yet). and a walk around the fantastic village and green is well worth it.
There are many thatched and Farm type houses, a beautiful church and another public house offering delicious food and drink. Visit the village and Motel, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Adam Beryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015

Good food ,very friendly staff and owner.Excellent breakfast .
Stayed in room 1'
Cleaners please look in wardrobe and dust.also upwards for spider webs,
Mattress a bit springy for us BUT A GREAT PLACE

Room Tip: Stayed in room 1 ,double bed and twin beds in adjoining room .Great ensuite
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank simonmurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015

Myself and my family stay at the White Horse several times a year. We use it as a base to go shooting on a local farm.

I would thoroughly recommend The White Horse as a great place to stay to anyone who is considering a visit to Ridgewell. Value for money is exceptional. A great selection of guest ales, great food served in huge piping hot portions, and the accomodation is probably the best value for money I've stayed in. Each room is tastefully decorated, spacious and have a large bathroom. The bed is very comfortable and the room is warm and cosy in the winter months when we usually stay.

Robin and his staff must be congratulated for the service they provide and we will continue to come back as long as they are there,

Paul Norfolk

Room Tip: All rooms are at the back of the restaurant on a gravel drive. They are identical in fixtures and fittings apart from the obvious single or double beds and the family rooms and are very comfy indeed. So it doesn't matter which room number you get!
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PAUL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews