We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Nordursild
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights mid Aug. No car for this part of trip but it was doable. Caught bus from Egilsstadir airport and drive was stunning. Asked guesthouse to fetch us from Seydisfjordur bus stop for small fee as we had luggage. After that we did loads of walking. The guesthouse is almost 2k from the centre so people with small kids or the infirm it is prob not for you. However for everyone else it is fine and the scenery is beautiful. The guesthouse is by far the cheapest except possibly youth hostel in Setdisfjordur. We had 3 bed room. Small but v clean. Shower rooms large and also spotless. Had breakfast first morning. Got there 5 mins after it started and since there were lots of people staying we had to make sure we bagged the good stuff! You can get breakfast at N1 petrol station plus there is a supermarket in town. We had access to a kitchen so heated up some soup in the evening. Staff were v helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again - a very funky fish factory.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank TimmyTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

The rooms either side of us liked to chat in between until about 11pm, then one of them started washing in their room that went until midnight and then they moved up and down the hall way until about 1am.
You can be unlucky but the walls seemed paper thin.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gingermegs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Because of a heavy rainy night (we were discovering Iceland with a tent), we booked a room for 2 persons with individual bathroom.
The room was perfect, clean and with comfortable mattress.
The lunch room was clean and nice, with beautiful decoration.
The owner was very nice, happy to had conversations with him.
The only "bad" point is that the building is not inside city center, but in the area wich is a little bit strange.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Damien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Saydisfjordur is a very nice place which worth to visit. The little town with its colorful painted houses is located at the end of the fjord with the same name.The Nord Marina guesthouse was transformed from an old fish warehouse in a guesthouse so it still looks, together of its surroundings, like a fish processing factory. Because we weren't satisfied with the room with shared bathroom and toilets we paid some extra euros (25% more) and got a room with private bathroom and a strong smell of sewage. The dining room and the kitchen didn't look good and clean. Our room view was not toward the fjord, but to a building with graffiti painted on it.
Maybe for young people is a good place, I was not satisfied.

Room Tip: rooms toward fjord are better and in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

Despite making a reservation 9 months in advance, on arrival we were assigned to the auxiliary building, meaning we had to lug our food to the main building where the kitchen is located, and were given a room with a "view" of the side the hill behind, not out the fjord side. Thanks for that.
The cooking appliance is an antiquated sort of toaster oven with two burners on top. Our room was the bare minimum,
Two twin beds, and towels. No water glasses, you would have to go back to the other building for those, so we just used our own water bottles. This place is a real come down after the friendly guest houses we have stayed in in Iceland. It is a. It of a hike out of town. I do not recommend this place unless you are stuck for accommodation.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank OttawaSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seydisfjordur hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
282 reviews
2 km away
Seydisfjordur Hostel Hafaldan
Seydisfjordur Hostel Hafaldan
#1 of 8 in Seydisfjordur
168 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Snaefell
Hotel Snaefell
#4 of 6 in Seydisfjordur
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Vid Lonid Guesthouse
Vid Lonid Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Seydisfjordur
33 reviews
1.2 km away
Langahlid Cottages
Langahlid Cottages
#4 of 8 in Seydisfjordur
72 reviews
1.3 km away
Post-Hostel
Post-Hostel
#3 of 8 in Seydisfjordur
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Nordursild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Nordursild

Address: Strandarvegur 21, Seydisfjordur 710, Iceland
Region: Iceland > East Region > Seydisfjordur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Seydisfjordur
Price Range: €84 - €117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Nordursild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing