We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,164)
Filter reviews
2,164 results
Traveller rating
1,070
798
196
63
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,070
798
196
63
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frosted glass loft suite the main street boutique hotel central location friday and saturday steam room center hotel breakfast was included mini bar happy hour bring earplugs standard room light sleeper early check street noise stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
668 - 673 of 2,164 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

First Impressions:
As there was a problem with our originally booked hotel (CenterHotel Plaza) we were transferred to CenterHotel Thingholt...So walking through the very busy street at 3am we found our hotel.... Right on top of a night club, and the outside isn't very inviting...
However, walking through the door, you are greeted with a calming, rather dark, reception with candle-lit seating area.

The Room:
We had a double room on the 3rd floor overlooking the street of the entrance... The nightclub music could be heard very well, but hopefully the earplugs we were given at reception would work!
It was extremely clean and very modern looking with greys and blacks.. (Personal opinion, we wasnt too keen on the 'effect' on most of the walls - looks likes they have been slapped in a smooth concrete and left to dry)
The shower room is very modern but this is seperated with a frosted glass window to the bedroom - So you can see the outline of someone brushing their teeth etc!!
We were extremely tiered after arriving in the early hours and the bed looked very inviting...Again, personal opinion, if you like a hard bed and hard pillows that squash to nothing once your head rests on them, then great. Needless to say, we didnt sleep that night.

Facilities:
The room is equipped with a flat screen TV - Which shows ITV channels (very impressed) an iron and ironing board, mini bar (charge applies), a safe - you do need to be about 7 foot tall to be able to see inside as it is on a top shelf), Tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer & little shampoos etc....The only thing we felt was missing for a spa hotel was dressing gowns.. We didnt ask, so maybe they would supply them?
We never used the spa so cant comment on that.

Restaurant:
We were going to have a 'lighter' bite, but almost half of the menu was unavailable - so we went elsewhere to eat.
We did have the buffet in the morning and this was lovely. A nice selection of cereals, pastries, fruits, waffle machine, scrambled eggs, mini sausages and mini bits of bacon & breads.
Again, very clean and very good service.

Overall:
The hotel is in an amazing spot, close to restaurants - and nightclubs, the old harbour - perfect if you have booked a northern lights cruise or whale watching and about an hour away from the airport.
The lounge / reception is a very relaxing place and you are greeted with a smile. The staff (especially Andrea on front desk) are very helpful, polite and seem to love their jobs which is refreshing to see.
If we could afford to go back (as meals out etc in Reykjavik are VERY expensive) we would stay here again. The staff are great, very clean - thats all that matters to us!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimKanDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I would give this hotel a 5 for the location and the staff. It is a great location for restaurants and shops. The staff was also extremely helpful. A nice breakfast is included. My one issue I had was with the size of the room. I have a feeling that it was the luck of the draw and what was available when we checked in but our room, while nicely decorated, was extremely small. We had a couple of feet of space around the bed and didn't even have room for our suitcases. We've traveled to Europe quite a bit and understand that rooms are small, but this was to an extreme.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We picked this hotel for the very central location. Very close to Grayline tour office and restaurants. We stayed in a Junior Suite. I think a regular room would be a little tight if you have luggage as we did. We stayed for 1 week. The weather was rainy mostly, so the hotel spa was a great option as we didn't want to be outdoors too much aside from the tours we had booked. Lots of UK channels on the TV was also very welcome! We had waffles for breakfast every day, but didn't eat or drink at the hotel other than that. There are lots of options for eating close by. Food is expensive, but there are some supermarkets, plus Subway and Dunkin Donuts very close too. The hotel has lots of fur and cow hide which was fine with us, but may not suit everyone. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldcardluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

My friend and I stayed here at the end of January for a long weekend. On arrival, we found we had been allocated a double room instead of a twin room, and when the lovely lady on reception couldn't find us a suitable twin room, the very friendly Manager came and allocated us an upgrade! We had a lovely Junior suite, which had a nice lounge area. We found this kind of attitude to be typical of all the hotel staff during our stay - they were all very friendly and helpful; a real pleasure. The hotel is really well located and our sleep was not affected by noise from the nightclub round the corner. Also round the corner is the 'cheapest supermarket in Reykjavik' (as advised by the tour guide on the 2hr free walking tour - something we would highly recommend) which we found useful given the high prices of food and drink in Iceland. Breakfast in the hotel was very good and we also ate in the restaurant and had a lovely meal (thanks for the recommendations Roberto!). The only thing we found disappointing in the hotel was the 'gym' which consisted of 2 exercise bikes and some weights (as shown in the photo on their website - that is all their is) and the pool which whilst lovely and warm, didn't bubble or anything. We had intended to use these facilities every day, but in the end only used the pool once and didn't bother with the gym at all. We had use of these facilities for free, as we had a suite (Thank you Mr Manager! :-) ) but others had to pay for them, which I certainly didn't think would have been worth the money.
We had a lovely time here and would certainly return to this hotel for any future visits; I just wouldn't bother packing my gym kit. I'd rather sit in the really nice lounge/reception area and make the most of happy hour instead, whilst chatting to the super staff.
Also would recommend the tours - we did 'the blue lagoon', 'the golden circle' and the 'northern lights' - they were all very well organised and reasonable value for money.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank ruthie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

We were lucky. Arrived at our original hotel to find it over booked. Very glad as this place was great.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location. Buffet breakfast was brilliant.
Our room was on the top floor, overlooking the harbour. Very nice design and facilities.
My only slight criticism would be that the glass panelled bathroom doesn't offer much privacy.
Would definitely go back.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank ShakaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews