We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
104
65
20
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
65
20
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom bread the bus easy walk to downtown friendly hosts three rooms early departure minute walk boiled eggs room was clean and comfortable night's sleep breakfast is served fantastic location town centre the ground floor nice breakfast living room
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

I cannot say enough. Icelanders are lovely and kind, but the couple fro Brittany who run this place are just great. My flight from Nuuk arrived at a super early hour so I made arrangements to be let in early to nap with the owners. I was greeted, fed, sent up to bed and every experience was the same. Breakfast was great. The room cozy and warm. And the price was right. I have since returned to Iceland and will always see if Balbursbra has a room first before I look anywhere else. I highly recommend this place. Pets and warm showers, Duvets, Good coffee...really superb for a bargain price.

Room tip: all of them seemed tidy and warm - cannot go wrong!
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cubbyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We stayed here for our first night in Reykjavik. Run by an old lady. She was nice enough to accommodate our late entry. Gave us cutlery's we requested as did late check in. Amenities were basic but good, bathroom was quite clean. She served nice breakfast the next day. Has 2 lovely pet dogs, enjoyed playing with them. Good stay overall. Will recommend.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nehathukral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two night after arriving in Iceland. The guesthouse is conveniently located close to city center (10 min walk). If you take a bus or shuttle from the airport, please note that they cannot take you right to the door but nearest bus stop, which is fine. The hosts ( originally from France) were very nice and we got an interesting perspective about the economy and the country in general. Breakfast is very good. Facilities are a bit outdated but nice. Shared bathrooms are not a problem at all. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ap0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

This was our last stop. We stayed here for two nights, we travelled around Iceland for in total 13 days, we've definitely stayed in better guesthouses then this! I'll tell you why:

+ Really nice location near the Church. Everything is a walking distance from here. You may go to harpa, a restaurant and other beautiful spots!
+ Good breakfast with cereal, bread, herring, the stuff you get in an Icelandic Guesthouse!
+ Nice staff. The old lady greeted us with a smile every morning during breakfast. But we were unsure the first day whether we should take off our shoes at the front door or not.
+ Nice curtains, so enough darkness in the room during the light summer days!

- Not really a car park. It's right in front of the guesthouse, but quite tiny.
- Quite noisy in the morning as everybody coming down the stairs.
- Facilities are average. The quality all looks a bit more old and could renew a bit. This place could be more neat.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Splimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Our room was on the third floor so had to hike up several flights with our luggage but room was clean and comfortable. On our floor there were 2 other guest rooms, 1 toilet room and 1 shower room. The location was in a nice neighborhood in easy walking distance to main downtown area. We didn't have the breakfast but looked like standard continental fare.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews