We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Cheap Way to Relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laugardalur Park

Laugardalur Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.94*
and up
Private Sightseeing Tour in Reykjavik
Ranked #37 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Staffs
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Cheap Way to Relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We visited Laugardalur Park after visiting the zoo (which is not very good) but this place more than made up for it. There are a number of different pools of varying sizes and depths. When we visited it was -9 but sitting in the smaller pools was still very warm and relaxing. As it was so cold some of the bigger pools were a bit cold to lounge around in but you could still do lengths. There is also a very good water slide although getting out of the pool was very cold.

This place is much cheaper than the blue lagoon but does not have the same wow factor and if you have time/money you should visit both. This place is nice to chill after being busy all day but it is a half hour walk out of town, although I doubt a taxi would cost much to get here.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Bilbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    68
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Passage, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hot water swimming pools!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We ate a delicious hot dog at the stand right outside the facilities before going in. Our welcome card covered the admission and my son and I split up to the change rooms. I tried to act like I had been there a million times and figured out where you leave your shoes etc by observing. Changing and showering naked, well, again I just tried to act like the locals and that this was no big deal. I finally made it out to the pool. It was so fun to be cold in the late Sept. weather and fall inot a hot pool. We stayed for a long time. The laydown shallow pool was really hot but so neat.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Kyla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A taste of real Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We visited the Laugardalur Pools during our recent trip and it was one of our favorite parts of the vacation-- it gave us the chance to participate in a cultural experience with the locals-- a weekend dip in the hotpots. Everyone was kind and friendly, and we found it incredibly relaxing.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank E-ETravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymru
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“best value experience in Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Excellent facility with very friendly staff,we casually mentioned to the attendant that we had missed the hot tubs as we were leaving and she gave us 2 compimentary tickets for the next day,it was only about £2 anyway but we were so impressed by the gesture.
Only about 7 minute walk from Cabin Hotel

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank organ254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Blue Lagoon-like experience for 1/10 of the cost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Iceland is known for its swimming holes. Naturally, the most famous one is the Blue Lagoon. Granted, it's a spa in the middle of a volcanic rock formation, so you can't beat the luxury. But for the actual swimming/hot tub experience, Laugardalur is just as good. In some ways, even better because you have several pools and Jacuzzis to choose from. My favorite is the shallow hot tub you can lie down in. This is the perfect way to decompress at the end of the day. For the full experience, you must go on a cold night and swim outside; it makes the warm water that much more rewarding. And for $4 admission, you can (and should) go every night.

It's a little confusing to navigate as a first timer, but you'll figure it out. There are lockers outside of the changing room; you don't need to use those unless you have something large to stow. When you're done, there's also a spinner that will dry your swimsuit (very practical, and the Blue Lagoon doesn't have it).

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laugardalur Park also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Laugardalur Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing