We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening Meal in Reykjavik”
Review of Kaffivagninn

Kaffivagninn
Ranked #33 of 573 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$20
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Found this lovely restaurant near where we were staying in Reykjavik. They start serving at six and gets quite busy. Good value food and drink and the have a happy hour which lasts for three hours.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 113 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

On a snowy day in Reykjavik we happened upon this great little restaurant after visiting Whales of Iceland. It's right on the harbour side with a good view of all the harbour activity. The staff were very cheery and welcoming with a nice feel about the place itself. We had noticed several locals grabbing their lunch here and usually that's a good indication of local cuisine.
We ordered two children's portions of fish and chips for our young daughters and two regular portions for ourselves. The meals arrived only for us to be amazed at the size of the dishes, in retrospect perhaps four children's meals would have been sufficient. The batter was light and crispy, fries were crunchy with a fluffy middle and the accompanying salad/sauces were fresh and tasty. My wife, girls and I were delighted with our choice and they were probably the best fish and chips we've ever had. Followed up by an excellent Latte we were then ready to go whale watching in a blizzard!
Fantastic lunch and a great little restaurant away from the busiest tourist areas we would highly recommend stopping for a bite to eat.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Mungo887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Had dinner here and really enjoyed it. Located on the harbor in a quieter section of town. The place is very casual with a nice view of boats in the harbor. The entire menu is reasonably priced. Not a huge menu which isn't a bad thing. We enjoyed our meal. Had prosecco and beers for drinks. Fish and chips were outstanding and I had the arctic char which was very good. Great desserts and had the cheesecake which is very light compared to American Cheesecake. I would recommend.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J0hnPM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Kaffivagninn is was the best and most cost efficient meal we had in Iceland(I know Iceland and cost efficient are not often found in the same sentence).
The fish stew was very good. The fish and chips among the best I have ever tasted.
The waitress was super. She could have sold us nearly twice as much food for our family of 5 but suggested, due to portion sizes, that we could share some plates.
Everyone loved what they ordered. Looking out over the harbor during a rainy, windy, cool night while eating comforting Icelandic food was one of the highlights of our trip.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rcjayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

By far the best fish we had in Iceland, or even since we left Hong Kong last year. For the price (2000 to 3000 ISK, which is standard in Iceland) this is such a great value. They made a mistake on the order, I ordered the Cod Loin and got something else, but they apologized and offered us the delicious desert! We made another reservation before leaving Iceland

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank mebibou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaffivagninn also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Kaffivagninn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing