We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
37
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairswashing up liquidtoilet paperkeflavik airportbedroom apartmentplugsamenitiesaccommodationlaundrycentretowelsexcursionstvdryersupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Well located, close to the heart of the city, and with a spacious living area. Also well equipped and well maintained. The downside is a bedroom that is seriously undersized where the walls contact 3 sides of the bed. So if you like submarine style sleeping quarters, this is the place for you.
Finally, whilst the location is great, it also means there can be lot of noise from late night revellers and this can sometimes be a real nuisance.

Room Tip: Try for not on Laugavegur- that should be quieter
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hlemmur Apartments twice during 9 days, for a total of 3 nights; once in Apartment 2 and once in Apartment 3. Both apartments were clean and spacious, well furnished and stocked with the basic necessities such as toilet paper, salt and soaps. Self-check-in was easy and well explained by the owner in an advance message.
Traveling between the apartment and Keflavik airport is easy with the flybus. Once at the apartment, a short walk will get you to the busiest shopping and restaurant street of Reykjavik.
All in all a really good experience, and highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We recently stayed in Apartment 3 of Hemmer Apartments, and felt that it was an excellent choice for our family. The apartment had 2 bedrooms and a small living room/kitchenette area. It made a big difference for our family to have separate sleeping areas, as well as access to cooking facilities during our stay. We loved the location, which was just outside of the main downtown of Reykjavik, so many venues were within easy walking distance, and we found good restaurants nearby. At the same time, this area was less busy and more residential, so a bit quieter. As others have noted it is across from a big bus depot, so convenient for public transportation or pick up for excursions. We were able to find street parking in front of the apartment most days. The apartment was charming and well-kept, and had many amenities we were not expecting, including coffee maker and kettle, and materials to make coffee and tea, as well as supplies for laundry and dish cleaning, hair dryer (and a good one!) and even ear plugs. The back bedroom faced the courtyard so was quiet, but the smaller front bedroom and living room face the street, so there is a bit of traffic noise. The owner and her husband were wonderful to work with, and I felt they were available for help, but not intrusive. Something to consider in your trip planning is that the apartment is up 2 flights of stairs, and there are a few stairs at the entrance, so those who have issues with stairs should take this into account (there is no elevator). The bathroom is snug but well-designed. We liked the shower, but I could see that someone who is larger weight-wise might find it uncomfortable because it is a bit smaller than a typical US shower. We enjoyed our stay, and would definitely try to stay here again if we return to Reykjavik.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank hliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

We spent our first 3 nights in Iceland and couldn't have had a more convenient accommodation. Easy to find, Hlemmur Square is actually a very popular pick up location for many bus tours from Reykjavik. Accommodation is secure with a number combination lock. Had a 2-bedroom apartment and everything was very nicely furnished, comfy beds, fully equipped kitchenette, tv and comfy sofa. Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jacqueline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

The apartment was lovely, clean, well appointed and in a great location for getting into the centre of Reykjavik. It was excellent value for money, and we would definitely stay again if we went back to Reykjavik.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews