We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,508)
Filter reviews
2,508 results
Traveller rating
1,204
940
237
72
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,204
940
237
72
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quirky hotel dry dock paint factory attic room marina side working harbour sliding glass fun hotel whale watching rooms are small northern lights breakfast buffet old harbour happy hour busy road loved this hotel skyr
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 2,508 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our two week trip. Good location , fun rooms and very clean. Comfy beds and staff very helpful. We stayed at several Iceland air hotels all over Iceland. Very pleased with them all. Harbor view is quieter.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ellasacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare R, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Ellasacramento,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review in regards to your recent visit at our property. We also appreciate your kind review towards our location, room amenities, and our staff. I will make sure that they will receive your comment. We hope to welcome you again in our property in your next visit in Iceland.

Best regards
IH Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

An old converted paint factory, very convenient for the town. Clean rooms, helpful staff and relaxing place to stay. You should note that the marina is not a leisure marina, on the slipway was the local car ferry

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare R, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Kevin C,

We appreciate you for staying with us and for sharing you kind review towards our property. We are grateful for providing us a complimentary feedback towards our room tidiness, and our staff. We hope to see you again in your next visit in Iceland.

Best regards
IH Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We were reasonably satisfied with this hotel, but the bedroom and bathroom were very small. The double bed was in an alcove, so it was a struggle to get in and out of bed! Our room overlooked the harbour area, but it was right opposite a ship repair yard - which I suppose was interesting. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. Sleeping was difficult, as the blinds were white and, in June, it never really gets dark. However, the hotel did provide eye shades.

Breakfast was comprehensive but, surprisingly, you had to go to the bar and pay extra if you would like a croissant at breakfast! At the price of staying and having breakfast there, you would have thought they could provide the croissant instead of all the other choices that were there.

Hotel is well positioned - an easy walk round the harbour to boats and to the Concert Hall (which is excellent), and to the central part of the city.

Friendly staff, but I may not stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking harbour are quieter
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CalellaDePalafrugell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare R, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear CalelleDePalafrugell,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review in regards to your resent visit at our property. We valued all of our guests feedback as it will give us the privilege to improve our services; or to know if we accommodate our guests in their respective individual needs. Though, we apologize for any inconvenience you experience during your stay.
In regards to your comment regarding the breakfast, the thing is the breakfast is a buffet style and unfortunately there is not croissant in the menu but we will keep in mind your recommendation.
On the other hand, we are thankful for mentioning our property location and how convenient it is to the main street in Reykjavik. Also, we thank you for complimenting our staff. Above all we hope that you are going to choose or stay with us again in your next visit in Iceland.

Best regards
IH Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel was converted from an old paint factory and is right on the marina. Super cool artwork and quirky surprises like the woodman that sits next to the fireplace. Throughout the whole space is artwork, rooms and open spaces. The restaurant/bar in the lower floor was great as well. The marina was a perfect location with restaurants and shopping as well as a short walk to the downtown area. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. Even though the rooms were small they were nice and clean. We loved it and would highly recommend!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Cammas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare R, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Cammas F,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your kind review in regards to your recent visit at our property. We are thankful for the complimentary review towards our location, hotel amenities and decorations as well as towards our hotel staff. I will make sure to forward your kind words to them. Lastly, we appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again in your next visit in Iceland.

Best regards
IH Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Our first impressions on checking into the Icelandair Marina Hotel was “Have we made a big mistake?” The answer was, possibly.

We chose this hotel based on our travel agents recommendation. It is in the marina area, within easy walking distances of the landmarks we wanted to see in the city.

It is only ten minutes walk to the concert hall, sandwiched between a busy road and a ship repair yard. It is a converted paint factory, (they are very proud of this fact). It is trendy and interestingly re-designed with modern features throughout. The quality of the decor is immense, but petite is the byword I would use for the bedrooms.

We booked a king room, but when given our room, (which you would struggle to swing a cat in,) we were told that ‘king room’ just referred to their standard.

Unfortunately we began with a room facing inland, onto the road. The traffic noise was awful. The following morning after complaining, we moved to a room facing out across the shipyard towards the water. If you want a quieter night opt for an even numbered room, (they face away from the road). The ship building work began before 8am, but at least we had a better nights sleep (apart from late night revellers slipping out of the hotel for a cigarette). Remember that in summer the sun hardly sets and the light will keep you awake, (the simple blinds on the window won’t help).

The rooms are interesting, our first had a mural above the bed of a young boy gutting a fish. As vegetarians it was rather unsettling. I am sure that Icelanders are proud of their heritage, however for a bedrooms decoration it was in strange taste.

In each room there is a safe, fridge,  WiFi and TV, but no tea or coffee making facilities. They will supply a kettle and instant coffee and teabags if you ask.

Our bathroom was small. Inside there was large sign that said, ‘Yes this bathroom is tiny! so just hang with us at the bar…’ The bathroom was designed to enter through an opaque glass door next to the bed, which slid open, but didn’t seal the bathroom. So you would have to be comfortable with whom you were sharing the room, before using the toilet.

There is free parking, however it is in a nearby disused site of rough ground a few minutes walk from the hotel. When arriving, pull up near the entrance and unload, then move your car.

The hotel staff are really friendly and helpful. The Bar and restaurant are good and there are large areas downstairs where you can meet and chat with family and friends.

If you are considering a hotel in Reykjavik because of location, consider that the city will probably only be a day or two at most of your sight seeing. Stay elsewhere in the city (there are some nice guest houses up near the church), or on the outskirts, or even outside town and drive or taxi in. The best that Iceland has to offer will be seen by driving out and about, (on the golden circle).

This is a trendy, alternative hotel that will suit some, (but certainly not all).

Room Tip: Avoid a room looking over the road, opt for a water view, because of the noise
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PhotoGraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews