We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
19
29
26
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
29
26
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sofa bed hour supermarket room was clean city centre place to sleep grocery store main road no elevator the bus comfortable stay stayed here for nights nice hotel blue lagoon microwave towels wifi signal
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Absolute hell hole! Please save yourselfs and DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES BOOK THIS AWFUL VENUE!! Apart from being dirty, smelly and disgusting, the venue lied to us about the number of rooms in the “apartment”, the toilets looked as if they were never cleaned and the water was unfiltered and smelling of sulphur! I beg you do not stay here, you will regret it.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Maciej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Honestly picked the hotel because it was at the lower end of the price scale. We were planning on being out exploring most of the time and didn't want to spend money unnecessarily.

Half the rooms on each floor have their own bathrooms. The other half share a couple of of bathrooms. Only once had to wait a few minutes for the bathroom.

The room was clean and had the bare essentials. The best part of the room is the booklet with local shopping and restraint tips! This was amazingly helpful. Wifi was great. I had about average signal. But more than enough, my daughter was able to download programmes from Netflix to keep her entertained between adventures (Iceland is pretty, but a kid can't look at scenery constantly for days without driving me nuts).

The hotel is not in the town centre, but if you are driving it's great for parking. We didn't have a car, but walked in and out of town. 30 - 40 minutes to the bus terminal for trips. Some of the returns we got dropped closer, but in a short time we learnt quite a few ways around the city and saw buildings and parks we would have missed.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We just spent seven nights at the Atlantic, booked via booking.com for about $200usd a night. The apt was average size, with a queen size bed and a sofa bed. Bed was comfortable, the sofa bed not so much. Excellent down comforters and pillows. Small stove, dishes, microwave, and all needed for cooking for a family. Saved 100s of dollars by cooking in the apt, as Iceland is one of the most expensive countries in the world, #4 to be exact. Internet connection, no password, was excellent. Room was cleaned every two days, so, there needs to be a better protocol for trash, as there are no extra trash bins or unlocked dumpsters in the area. Black out shades worked pretty well, and are needed as it is never dark. Bring head blinds if you need dark. room temp was nice, never needed heaters.

24-7 store, Hagkaup, a 10 min walk away where you can buy everything. Dominos pizza, 24-7, five minute walk away where we would buy a pizza each morning for kids to eat on our long drives. The outside of the hotel is run down (no worries), and there is plenty of free street parking. Very safe area, with few bars across the street.

Super easy highway access if you are driving around Iceland. Also, as we did the Summer Solstice Midnight Run, the start/finish line is only 10min walk from hotel.

Highly recommend for families, the apartment, and, this is not a Sheraton or a Hilton so do not expect that. Also, it is always cold and wet in Iceland, bring warm clothes.

Room tip: Rooms on the street have some noise, but not bad.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaredites1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

We booked 2 nights here because we had trouble finding reasonably priced lodging in Reykjavik. You don’t get much for what you pay for-there is no one at a front desk when you arrive, the building and surrounding area looks run down, the door knob to our room kept breaking off, the water had a much stronger sulfur smell and taste than other areas we went to, it was right next to a busy street and very noisy at night, and there were only 2 bathrooms for each floor that were not separate from the showers so if someone was showering you could not use the toilet. During our first night there the fire alarm went off just after midnight; we waited for a while for a fireman to arrive, and the man who finally came asked us if we knew where the alarm had come from (no one knew), then shrugged and said that it was probably okay, and left! We would not stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jparker1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. It was comfy, cosy and very warm. We had a small kitchen, halogen hob, microwave, kettle, fridge. They left us clean tea towel and cleaning cloth. It was so handy as we were able to make breakfast and coffee. It was well equipped with dishes, cutlery and pans. No hairdryer but that was fine, we washed our hair at the Blue lagoon. We had our own bathroom.
On a main road so very easy to get bus into Reykjavik centre. We were just around the corner from a 24 hour supermarket which was reasonably priced. Lots of fast food places to eat. We will go back to Reykjavik and would like to stay here again as we now know our way around the town. Oh, beds were so comfortable, haven't slept so well in ages. We'll worth staying here.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank JennyWrenJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews