We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stopped here for lunch - won't do it another time”
Review of Hotel Laxarbakki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Laxarbakki
Reviewed 10 June 2017

On our way from Keflavik to Stykkisholmur we stopped here to have lunch. The dining room very simple, and you could choose between 3 dishes - and we took Traditional cod stew for 2800 ISL. It was very ordinary - not in any ways good and to the price it was not good or nice enough. Find another place to have lunch when you are hungry in this area would be my advice.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roarmaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed there 2 nights. Everything was clean. Our apartment was adequately equipped with basic amenities which allowed us to do simple meals. We were there during Easter and 1 of only 3 occupied units in the 12 units so it was very quiet and relaxing. The apartments come with balcony and ours overlooked the river as well as the highway. I really love the hostess who was always happy and helpful although she could not communicate in English. Her body language makes you so comfortable. Internet was great, water pressure super. However the shower room had no hooks to hang your clothes. There's a friendly dog which does not bother you but will play with you if you like dogs. They have a restaurant which we did not use as we spent our time exploring Arkanes and the surrounding beautiful fjords. Great base if you are planning to do the same.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We stopped here on our drive back to Reykjavik, from Snaefellsness, partly because we couldn't find anywhere else to eat! There were three items on the menu, and we both chose the fish stew and a cup of tea. They were fine, but the 6,600 Krona bill we thought was too high. We can't comment on the rooms, as we only ate a meal here. A rather odd place in the middle of nowhere, it seemed to us.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Like many people, found this place by using trip advisor. We had a great stay, if only for one night. Very clean. We had a studio apt. But got to look at a standard room too. Location was really good actually. A family run place with a friendly dog.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

On our way up to the north of Iceland we had spent too much time in Reykjavik and were worried we would not make it to our next stop before nightfall.

Having left without eating the prospect of finding a great place for lunch seemed grim, imagined having to grab something at a gas station which was not sitting well.

So when we saw the sign we decided to stop. Wonderful lunch of Icelandic meat ( lamb ) soup.

The owner doesn't speak English, she just recently lost her husband... So a friend who was helping her out stayed to translate.

Anyways if a little salty, the soup was delicious and the restaurant empty. Except for a few of the owners friends who seemed to stop by and chat.

All in all a very nice and happy experience.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akranes
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
535 reviews
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
353 reviews
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Borgarnes
#3 of 3 in Borgarnes
151 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,765 reviews
Fossatun
#1 of 3 in Borgarbyggd
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxarbakki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxarbakki

Address: Hvalfjardarsveit | On road Nr. 1, Akranes 301, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Akranes
Price Range: €101 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Laxarbakki has studio apartments, fully equipped , for rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Laxarbakki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxarbakki Iceland/Akranes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing