We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice surprise”
Review of Laxarbakki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laxarbakki
Reviewed 7 March 2015

When driving past Laxárbakki you wouldn´t expect that there were excellent, luxurious apartments for rent there. And to add to the experience, the restaurant offers really nice, home cooked style Icelandic food. You also get a nice view from the hot tub, very comfortable beds and the staff is super friendly and helpful. A lovely place and well worth the stay. And the price is also fair!

Room Tip: The apartments are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andvig2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2015

I'm going to be very honest here and say that I have not stopped at this hotel, but as a British person working in conjunction with the Icelanders to boost tourism in the quieter areas of Iceland, I can't see what the previous reviewer is talking about!!

I was being shown around Akranes by my partners in Iceland when we spotted the Hotel Laxarbakki from the road and just decided to drop in on spec for a bathroom break and coffee. Once my friends had told them what I was doing there, these owners really couldn't have been sweeter and kinder to us. They gave us all free coffee and and a light snack whilst we sat and chatted with them for 30 minutes.

They then proceeded to show me EVERY room ( that was available ) and I can only say that I was absolutely amazed and surprised by the quality and spotless cleanliness of the rooms. Each and every one of them were very well equipped with absolutely everything you could possibly need and was immaculate throughout. In fact, for a guy who represents a travel group with over 1000 members, I even commented that I wouldn't want my members staying anywhere else whilst exploring the Golden triangle.

Facts and figures don't lie, the overwhelming majority of reviews on here are extremely positive and complimentary, but ill informed and petty minded reviewers like the one I have highlighted, have NO IDEA what damage such foolish and unfounded comments such as theirs can do to a persons livelihood and business, it's not a fair unbiased review, it's just stupid and reckless.

Don't take my word for it, go there yourselves, if what I'm saying is rubbish I'd be the first to admit I was wrong, however I absolutely guarantee you, that you will just love this place.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hoppy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2014

We were driving in drizzling rain, with mild cold in air,
along the bay of Hvalfjorour, a well known Whale fjord,
on way to Hladir from Akranes in Iceland. Akranes is
located north west of Reykjavik. Bay of Hvalfjorour is a
place where Allied Forces had a naval base during WWII.
We, inadvertently, visited Laxarbakki restaurant.
Laxarbakki is a family run restaurant and guest house
also. Restaurant is specious and modestly decorated.
We enjoyed warm, delicious food at Laxarbakki. Dishes
of Asparagus soup and Cod fish with chips tasted
excellent. Service is good and portions are sumptuous
with reasonable price.
Do not miss this place for eating when in Akranes area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sudhir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Although the accommodations where comfortable and clean, it was frustrating that the host couldn't hold a basic conversation with us in English, like when does the Hot Tub open?

Wi-fi access was only available in the main area which closed at 10pm and we had anticipated having access in our room. The biggest disappointment was the breakfast for 1,600 ISK which consisted of toast, hard boiled egg and cold cereal. Really!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed one night in one of the self-catering studios. It was bright, clean, modern and generally well equipped, although perhaps a little short in the crockery department. The main drawback was that although wifi was advertised, which we wanted, the studio itself only contained wired internet, so our mobile devices were useless. There was also no cable or satellite tv, just local channels However, the restaurant and bar has wifi and staff were happy to give us the password when we went in for a couple of drinks. We didn't eat there in the evening but did pay extra for breakfast, which was pricy and basic but plentiful and served with a friendly smile - everyone was courteous, friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mnemosyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akranes hotels
12.3 km away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
544 reviews
0 km away
Laxarbakki Guesthouse
Laxarbakki Guesthouse
#6 of 7 in Akranes
4 reviews
13.5 km away
Apotek Hostel
Apotek Hostel
#2 of 7 in Akranes
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Teigur Guesthouse
Teigur Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Akranes
35 reviews
13 km away
Kirkjuhvoll Guesthouse
Kirkjuhvoll Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Akranes
13 reviews
12.9 km away
Akra Guesthouse
Akra Guesthouse
#2 of 6 in Akranes
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laxarbakki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laxarbakki

Address: Hvalfjardarsveit | On road Nr. 1, Akranes 301, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Akranes
Price Range: €130 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laxarbakki has 12 fully equipped studio apartments and one cottage for rent. Guesthouse with 8 rooms. Restaurant that takes 64 guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Laxarbakki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laxarbakki Iceland/Akranes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing