We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$176
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/21
Trip.com
US$174
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$176
eDreamsUS$176
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
83
165
95
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
165
95
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews centrally located hotel lovely room underground parking facility easy access breakfast buffet free wifi standard room sauna winter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2020

I stayed at Sokos hotel Vaakuna for one night during a business meeting in early August.

The hotel is centrally located, with an apparently fresh facelift, very attentive and pleasant staff, and also easy access through an underground parking facility (great during winter as well). I stayed in room 507 with a scenery overlooking the central market square.

Extra points for the surprisingly decent gym with basic exercise machines.

Otherwise, like most S-hotels, the rooms are very standard and somewhat boring. An issue that is difficult to avoid in normal business hotels. Extra points for easy access and free wifi.

The main question: Would I stay here the next time I come to Vaasa? Absolutely.

Room tip: The scenery to the market square is pleasant and lively.
Date of stay: August 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Totti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night in Feb 2020 everything from the check in, room were great and the breakfast very good the staff helpful with my questions also I will stay here again in the future, it is only a short walk from the train station.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henkku, Public Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

Hello! Thank you very much for your response, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Welcome again, kind regards, Henriette S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2019

I recommend this hotel. The staff was very helpful and the room was clean. My standard room wan not the biggest possible but spacious enough. The breakfast was very good with plenty of healthy options and it can be recommended also for vegetarians.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rebfri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019

This hotel is centrally located and is adjoined to an inside car park and indoor access to the shopping center. We had two dogs with us and the hotel reception staff were more than welcoming us and making sure that we had everything we needed. The room was suitably spacious for a standard twin, the sauna facilities fantastic and the breakfast plentiful and varied. Our only disappointment and surprise was the decor theme of the restaurant/breakfast room, that was equipped with school furniture??

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2019

Very nice reception staff that gave you a friendly welcome. Comfortable beds and good size of the room . The location in the city center is really good.
The service in the restaurant in the evening, and some maintenance issues in the bathroom, are the only thing that pulls down the overall experience.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henkku, Guest Relations Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Hello,

thank you very much for your review. We are very happy too hear that you liked our staff and got a good nights sleep.
Hopefully you told the receptionist about the issues you had with the bathroom so that we have a chance to fix them. We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Henriette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews